We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
447
35
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
447
35
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beans irish setter marian sheedy hake the owner aran islands wonderful food walking distance top class her husband traditional irish music smoked salmon county clare live music self catering stayed longer highly recommend this b b
Filter
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 491 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Booked in for the night here on our mini tour of the west of Ireland. Unfortunately we arrived too late for dinner but the breakfast was by far the best I had on the trip, I had the pancakes which were perfect and my partner had the full Irish, both were top notch. fresh baked scones looked amazing too.
The room was spotless, bed comfortable, shower great and we couldn't here a noise from other rooms. Slept like a log.
Left early the next day for our ferry to the Aran Islands but we would both love to go back and spend a few days.
Would highly recommend this B&B to anyone.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank April22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Roadford House. The room was great and the owner was very helpful and kind. Even though we arrived late at night, the owner greeted us and had someone immediately take our bags to our room. The room was accessible from the outside which made it easy to come and go, and carry things in and out of the room.

When showing us our accommodations, the owner, Marian, highly recommended some musicians that we should hear. We were tired from the late hour, but she knew just where the group was playing and encouraged us to try it. I am so thankful! We had heard that Doolin was the place to hear traditional Irish music and it's true. These two gentlemen (Foolin in Doolin) were amazing! That night became a highlight of our trip to Ireland.

The breakfast was delicious and the presentation was beautiful. We understand why this is the top rated restaurant in the area. I am sure dinner there is just as wonderful. After breakfast, the owner helped us map out our day, giving us some highlights to see, roads to take, and a map for our trip. She was very friendly!

The hotel is close to everything in Doolin, the Cliffs of Moher, and many other sites. You will be glad you booked the Roadford House for your stay in Ireland. Marian will take great care of you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryalice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had really wanted to stay at Roadford House on our recent trip to Doolin and were so disappointed to realise that we could have if only I had clicked on the web site link above for availability and not on the bookings.com link. The owners only show availability for the coming week on bookings.com but on their own web site availability for the entire year is shown.
We did enjoy a superb dinner at Roadford House! We return to Ireland every year so next time we will most certainly be staying and dining at Roadford!
Patricia Connelly

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BridieVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Please take time to read the other reviews that rated the Roadford house a well deserved "10". Our family of 4 (my wife, daughter, grandson and I) occupied 2 totally pristine rooms on the 25th and 26th of May, 2014. Dining and accommodations are easily a 10. Frank and Marian are priceless. Peter and Marcia McElroy, Monroe, North Carolina

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Our first trip to Ireland was in 1993 to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, and we have returned 6 or 7 times since. Our most recent visit was in May, 2014, and we were able to get a next-day booking at the Roadford House in Doolin on May 27th. The proprietress, Marian, is an extremely refined and gracious hostess, with a quick Irish wit and a great sense of humor. We had met her on several previous trips where she managed her family's nearby manor house/hotel. From that first experience with her we knew that any accommodation she owned or managed would be first class. And we were correct! Marian and her husband, Frank, are providing exceptional hospitality, food, and accommodations at their gem of an establishment, the Roadford House. The artistically presented breakfast and dinner were among the best, not only in Ireland, but in any of the places we have visited in Europe or the USA over the years. The modern room was large and comfortable, spotlessly clean, quiet, with beautiful views of the countryside, and a short walk down the steps to the beautiful dining room. This dining area was wonderfully adorned in modern paintings of the local area, and the room was bright and sunny. The exterior of the premises is warm and inviting, colorfully painted, and landscaped with beautiful local shrubs. Marian directed us to the two nearby pubs, to which we walked to hear some of the traditional Irish music for which Doolin is known. And because we could walk back from those pubs we did not have be concerned about driving after imbibing. We would give this establishment and the owners a "10+" out of a possible 10. We will be sure to return there on our next trip to County Clare. Thank you, Marian and Frank, for helping to make our visit to your country so wonderful!

Richard & Mary Beth Byrnes
Sellersville, PA
USA.

Room Tip: We are sure that any room in this establishment would be the best.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews