We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diving with Cocotinos Dec 2011”
Review of Cocotinos Manado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cocotinos Manado
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Me and my partner stayed at the resort together with a group of diver friends for 7 days 6 nights. Did a total of 16 dives including one dusk.night dive all on Nitrox. We had a wonderful stay at the resort. From the time we arrived at the airport, we were met wit h staff who has impeccable service standard. Always eager to help, they will get back to you as soon as possible and will never forget your request/query.
The resort is a short distance from Bunaken and a full day dive trip can end up you being back at the resort by 3pm.The dives at Bunaken were good and the guides were great, friendly and helpful. As an avid photographer, the guides were ever on the lookout to show me critters/fishes to photograph. We spent a day dive trip at Lembeh and had an unforgettable experience there. It is a form of an exploratory dives for me and would advise if anyone is interested in diving there should choose a resort at Lembeh as the distance from Cocotinos to Bintung took about one and a half hour by car ride.
After a day dive, one can laze at the restaurant listening to music and staff will pepare snacks (tea time by then). Occasionally me and my partner tried to request something that is not in the menu and the staff obliged. And since mine is a Muslim diet, they catered did their best to catered to that. On one occasion, before a full day dive trip, I requested for my favourite nasi kuning for lunch (usually meant for breakfast) and they managed to get it with additional for me.
We stayed at the Poolview room and the room was good and well taken care of. Cleanliness and hygiene were maintained of a good standard. However, it will be good if disposable slippers can be provided for the guests. There are WiFi but one must be ready to accept occasional service disruption but a very short one though. The room where I stayed due to the short distance from the restaurant can received Wifi!!!
I you asked me whether I will come back, the answer is a resounding yes.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Firdouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Dear reviewer,

What can we say about your great review it almost made us blush. As you and your friends found out during your stay, our staff are great ambassadors for the people of Manado and they treat guests like friends and family and their friendliness comes from the heart not from some artificial training, You will never get a “plastic smile” from any of our staff they just don’t know how to do it. Our chef had no problem in cooking Muslim food for you as he is a Muslim himself and sends his regards and looks forward to cooking for you again. Thank you and your friends for staying with us and don’t wait to long before visiting us again you know you are always welcome.
Kindest regards from all of us here at Cocotinos Manado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2011

From the first point of contact at the airport where we were met, the staff were helpful and very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and after a 20 minute drive through the countryside, we arrived at the resort. First impressions were very good and it got better from there. Again the staff were all eager to help and guided us through to the dining area where we had soft drinks waiting and we went through all the usual waivers associated with diving. As we were doing this, our luggage was being unloaded and taken to our rooms. When we got to the rooms they were very comfortable and better equipped than most dive resorts, with air con, LCD TV, large bathroom and comfortable beds. We were 3 sharing but never really felt cramped.
We loaded all our dive gear into the baskets provided and it was taken away to be prepped for our first dive. The resort has a couple of well maintained boats, large enough to walk around (and sunbathe). These are berthed at the end of a long jetty which protrudes from the resort eating area. when we got on board all our gear was neatly prepared, setup and clearly labelled with our names (a nice touch). Once diving, the guides were very familiar with the dive sites and gave clear briefings as to what we could expect. I was disappointed that they felt it necessary to handle some of the marine life in order to show us or to make it easier for people to take photos. I am a strong advocate of "look but don't touch" and we did let the resort management know our thoughts. Other than that small black mark, I can only give the Cocotinos team top marks for service and attention to detail.

Room Tip: The rooms nearest to the dining area would be best for those who are staying up late or like to unwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeldomHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review it was much appreciated by all of us here at Cocotinos, and that you enjoyed your stay and diving with us so much. We constantly try to improve our service at both the resort and on our diving operation. Unfortunately this sometimes leads to our dive guides being a little bit to over enthusiastic in ensuring that the divers taking photos get the best shot. We will try to ensure that our guides or guests do not handle the marine life in future, as it is in everyone’s best interest that they do not do so. Again thank you for your review it was most welcome. We look forward to seeing you and your friends at Cocotinos in the near future.
Warmest regards from all of us at Cocotinos Manado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

The whole trip I kept wondering how the service personnel could be trained so well that the smallest details were looked into with such perfect attitude. Any minor shortcomings of the resort were totally overshadowed by the efforts of these beautiful people. I would have preferred that the bathroom with the bathtub had a curtain to provide privacy and wasn't too happy about the kind of pictures in our family suite, but apart from these, everything was perfect.
While my daughter was the only diver from our family, the other three members of our family also had labelled towels and water glasses when we accompanied her on the dives. Every trip was perfectly planned and executed as clockwork and we were very impressed by their Odessey Dive Center. We all also had a great spa experience.
Simple, smiling, beautiful people of North Sulewasi. Came back totally refreshed.

Room Tip: We were given a family suite on the first floor with a wonderful view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeartinNature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thanks for your kind review of Cocotinos, our staff are naturally friendly and helpful and it did not take a lot of training from us to ensure that they treat the guests as they would their own friends and family. We will look in to the small items that you did not like such as the bath tub not having a shower curtain for privacy and the painting not being appropriate for a family room. But please don’t be so shy the next time you stay as we are always happy to change or remove things such as the paintings if the guests requests. As you noticed by the labeling of the cups and towels with your names on the dive boats, we try to always improve the small things that make your stay with us more comfortable. We look forward to you and your family and friends visiting us again.
Kindest regards from all of us here at Cocotinos Manado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed at this resort for a 5days dive trip and our overall experience was unforgettable. The staffs are friendly and the food is really really TOP NOTCH YUMMY!!! You probably can't get such good quality of food in any high end hotels or restaurants. The diving experience was awesome and we promise to be back. The service quality is beyond what I could rate here, 7 Stars if I could call it. It was a memorable dive trip and we got ourselves sooooooo pampered :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsmee173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you so much for your review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. We try to ensure that our guests are pampered to the maximum whether they are diving or just chilling out in the resort. Our chef also sends his thanks for your comments on his food you have made him one happy chef. We try to ensure that our guests feel like they are not just “hotel guests” but are treated as if they are guests in some ones home and can experience the natural warmth and friendliness of the Manado people. We look forward to you visiting us again soon, and bring some friends.
Warmest regards from all of us at Cocotinos Manado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed at the resort for a 5 day dive trip and overall it was great. The rooms are clean, modern and comfortable. The staff are friendly, accomodating and very helpful.

A sweet resort to wind down in after exploring the deep sea....

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us, a very good review! My staff and I are so happy you enjoyed your 5 days of diving with us. We make it a point to always maintain our resort so that every guest who stays with us will be comfortable. We are four years old and everything is working in our resort. Our guests are like family to us. Thank you for choosing Cocotinos. We look forward to seeing you again. Please bring your friends next time. Singapore is not too far away!

Warmest regards from Management, all staff and Crew of Cocotinos Manado

Martinus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My sister and I went to Cocotinos for our first vacation together. We took a 5 day package with Cocotinos and we were really impressed from the start. The airport pickup was punctual and Cocotinos was located only 20 mins away from the airport. The staff at the resort was efficient and they helped to carry our luggage to the room and settled us in within 30 mins.

The dive briefing was precise and concise. In fact, we started on our first dive within an hour of arriving at the resort. This included setting up of the gear and other necessary paper work. Impressive!

As my sister just passed her open water course, and this was her first diving trip, the crew looked out and took care of her. My sister felt more confident and comfortable diving with them with each dive. In fact, she came away so impressed by the dive guides' professionalism and patience towards her. She felt that the dive guides made her diving confidence grow tremendously.

The wifi connection was good and stable. The food at the restaurant was great and the menu varies each day. We never got sick of the food, in fact, we were pleasantly surprised at each meal. The BBQ fish and burgers are superb! The manager on duty (Djerky and James) even made sure that we were well and fully fed before allowing us to leave the table. Thanks!!!

We had a great time there. Clean rooms, friendly staff, great food and fantastic diving, what more can we ask for? Well done Cocotinos! We look forward to our next dive trip with you. Hopefully, very very soon!

Room Tip: The rooms near the pool are great if you like to soak out after a meal or in between dives.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for a great review of Cocotinos Manado. We look after each and everyone of our guests like they are our dear friends. You and your sister were such wonderful guests. We were indeed fortunate to have had you both stay and dive with us. We will have even better and more interesting food for you next time you come to Cocotinos. If you visit during your birthday you can be sure we will have a big surprise for you. We need you to help us spread the good word and bring more divers to experience our warm hospitality. Please tell your friends about your stay with us

Warmest regards from Management and all staff of Cocotinos Manado


Martinus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I had been to Manado and stayed in many different resorts. This time I book Cocotinos because we are traveling with our 1 yo infant. We wanted the journey from the resort to airport to be a comfortable 20-25mins drive. The food was different every day and very delicious. Even my mom who is a picky eater is impressed. We stayed in Posi Posi suite and we were surprise that a baby cot was prepared in the room upon our arrival even though we didn't request for it. They even have a baby chair for our boy in the Restuarant. My wife left her anklet in the Spa and we called the resort and the Resort said the GM will deliver it to us when he visit Singapore.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poh Chang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you, We enjoyed looking after you and your family and we are delighted you enjoyed your stayed thoroughly. My chef will be pleased to know that you found the food delicious. We welcome young couples who want to dive but need to bring their young kids along. The kids are the future. That is why we have baby cots and child seats in our resort. Please come again and tell your friends about your experience at Cocotinos Manado.

Warmest Regards From Management and all staff of Cocotinos Manado

Martinus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wori
7.1 km away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 45 in Manado
150 reviews
13.0 km away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 45 in Manado
547 reviews
20.7 km away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#4 of 45 in Manado
184 reviews
8.4 km away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Siladen Island
512 reviews
27.3 km away
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocotinos Manado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotinos Manado

Address: Desa Kima Bajo, Jaga 3 | Jaga 3, Kec., Wori 95000, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Wori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Price Range: $92 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocotinos Manado 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocotinos Manado is a boutique dive resort located within Wori Bay in the heart of Kima Bajo, a fishing village overlooking the Bunaken National Marine Park, world famous for its astounding wall and macro scuba diving. A mere 25-minute drive from Manado's Sam Ratulangi International Airport brings you to the resort, on the water's edge, in full view of Siladen Island and Manado Tua, a majestic dormant volcano across the Sulawesi Sea. Through the use of selected hardwoods, stone, and other ecologically friendly building materials sourced from the region, the resort blends seamlessly with the surrounding village and coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Cocotinos Manado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocotinos Manado Hotel Wori

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing