We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Vacation Spot .. For the Price, I was surprise with what I got”
Review of Cocotinos Manado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cocotinos Manado
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a fantastic establishment, about 30ish rooms. But kept up with the international standards for food and safety. Fantastic for Divers, the staff are friendly, they understand and speak good English. The food is always the freshest catch. Fantastic Crew. I was with my friend for 4 days and I there after I was on my own for about another 3 days. I felt safe even when I forgot to lock my room door. This counts for the honesty of the staff. Cudos to Cocotinos for my wonderful trip up there.

Room Tip: The rooms are located within walking distance to the restaurant, although it is a small establishmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngeNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your kind review of our Cocotinos Resort. We always try to please and the dive crew and resort staff all send their regards. We look forward to having you visit us again here in Manado soon for some more great diving.

With Warmest Regards from all Staff, Crew & Management Cocotinos Manado

Martinus Wawanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

We had a great one night stay here after a week on Bunaken Island before flying out the following morning.

The staffs here are great, always friendly and always trying to help out.

We arrived by boat and staff met us on the dock to carry our luggage to a waterfront room. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed having a drink or two just sitting out on the front patio overlooking the water. Although there is no beach here, there is a pool and most folks that stay here appear to be divers.

We did have some trouble with dinner. We had ordered appetizers a steak and a chicken dish. We waited almost an hour before the food was brought out only to find our steak was raw. It was actually still cold in the middle. We would then wait another twenty minutes and the steak still came back bloody and raw inside. After a third try and still the steak was raw we gave up and shared our chicken meal and appetizers which were all good and satisfying. They did try to still charge us for the steak meal; however once we pointed it out it was removed from the bill.

At 5:00 AM the next morning security was at our door to collect our bags and security would also be the ones to drive us to the airport. At check-out they had prepared coffee and a breakfast box which we did not even think about pre-ordering but was very much appreciated.

Our impressions is this is a small boutique property which is very well run. Cooking steak may not be their specialty so we will not hold that against them and our stay although short was pretty much perfect and suited our needs.

We highly recommend Coconino’s and should we find ourselves back in the area we would surely love to spend a few days enjoying the property and getting to know the staff.

Room Tip: Go for a waterfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy.karla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review. Sorry for the fact that our kitchen staff we having an off day when you stayed with us. Believe me in saying that their faces were as red as the centre of your steak in not being able to serve it to you properly cooked. And if you visit us again we promise to give you a properly cooked steak and have our chef properly engage his brain before coming in to work. But as the rest of your review mentioned the best part of our resort is our staff who always are great ambassadors for the local Manado people and are always naturally friendly unlike the “ painted on smiles” that you tend to get with so many hotels nowadays . And we always try to sweat the small things that make a resort stay memorable such as providing you with coffee and a packed breakfast at 5 am in the morning. We maybe small but that makes us try harder.We look forward to having you come back to stay with us in the future. Thank you again for your review it was much appreciated.

With Warmest Regards from all staff, crew & management of Cocotinos Manado

Martinus Wawanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Planning a dive trip, Cocotinos is a "no-brainer". We'd been when the resort was newly-opened 3 years ago and knew it was almost certainly going to be a pleasure to be back. Our only worry that it wouldn't live up to the memories of our first stay. Although the weather was bloody awful, we still enjoyed our stay and our dives immensely. Oddysea Divers, the dive service provider attached to the resort is awesome and the guides take great pride in showing guest divers the best sites in the Bunaken Marine park. No need to worry - it'll all be taken care of. They've got a great spa too - Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explrdvr37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear reviewer,
thank you for your review of Cocotinos Manado. We are so glad that you visited us again after 3 years and that you found our service and resort as well as the diving still up to your expectations from your earlier visit. We always appreciate return guests as we always feel that our guests are friends not just guests and should be treated as such. Please do not wait so long to pay us a visit again, as we are always finding new dive spots close to the resort, that other dive operators do not know about. Please visit our web site as well as our facebook page where we regularly post photos of new critters found on the new sites. All of the dive guides James/Jackie/Henky and the boat crews send you their best regards.

With Warmest regards from all staff, crew & Management of Cocotinos Manado

Martinus Wawanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We had two visits here (primarily as a stop over to a longer holiday) but enjoyed our stay immensely. The staff were brilliant and James the dive-guy and u/w photographer was a real pleasure. Although there is no beach, the resort has excellent access to the Bunaken and Siladen dive sites (soem of the world's best) and there is excellent muck-diving in the bay - James' pictyures well attest to that! Food and drinks were pleasing - and teh happy hour was always fun for our whole group! Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: The only benefit to the sea-facing rooms is that you can sleep through the 4:30 am call-to-prayers e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreqTravW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for you kind review of our Cocotinos Resort. We are so glad that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us. Maybe next time you can have a longer stay rather than just a short stop over but either way you know that you are always welcome at Cocotinos. James sends you his regards and hopes he will have a chance to dive with you and show you the muck diving in the bay, rather than just his photos. Actually while the diving at Bunaken and Siladen is so good, not a lot of people realise that the diving along the coast line next to our resort is also very good and we are always finding new spots. But of course you need to dive with us as we don’t show others where the good places are. So thanks again for your review it was much appreciated. And we hope to see you all at Cocotinos you again soon .

With kind regards
Martinus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

On my last visit, I stayed at 4 different hotels.. sounds crazy but it was a good experience to see the hotels in Manado..Work and Pleasure.
Cocotinos Manado is a pretty hideaway resort tuck away about an hour drive from the city. Its closer the airport. The resort is surrounded by a village. Its a small cozy resort and the service is very good. The rooms are clean and comfortable and surprisingly fairly large. The toilets were excellent, clean and comfortable size. There is no internet in the room and its available free of charge at the restaurant area. There is only one restaurant. Food quality is of a good standard and so is the breakfast in the morning. The resort has a good dive centre and its very professionally runned and its owned by the resort.

The sad part about the resort is that there is no beach at this resort but one can go for a walk around the village which is quite nice. The service is attentive and good at this resort. I will want to go back and stay at this resort

Room Tip: There is not much difference in whether you take a sea view room or a pool view room. The rooms I li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Reviewer,

We are so glad that you found our resort so clean and well run, especially since you had stayed at 4 other hotels in Manado. We always try to make our guests stay a friendly and comfortable experience and this is always made easier by the natural friendliness of our staff.
You commented on the size and comfort of our rooms especially the toilets. When Mr Wong the owner was designing the resort, he wanted not to make the same mistakes that he had experienced when staying at other, sometimes quite expensive hotels in Asia, i.e. Small and stinky toilets so he was determined not to repeat the same mistake when building Cocotinos. As you have seen by the layout of our rooms I think he succeeded. Thank you again for your review, sorry we did not have a beach but it comes and goes depending on the weather and the currents.

Warmest regards from all staff of Cocotinos Manado

Martinus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I was impressed with the location. This is good for divers who like to experience the area and the diving. The property has 22 rooms and they are certainly well kept and faces the ocean. The staff are friendly and always ready to assist.
The meals are simple but tasty . They have a very nice spa and wellness area. Highly recommend this place. It is about 45 minutes out of Manado City.

Room Tip: The Chalet room or suite is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kseow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind review of our resort. Your comments were very much appreciated especially by our spa staff. We look forward to having you stay, as a guest at Cocotinos in the near future. So once again, you can experience what true Indonesian hospitality can be. Thank you again for your review.

With kind regards
Martinus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We spent the last December week at the Cocotinos Hotel. Although it was rainy season and it did rain a lot we felt very comfortable and enjoyed our time there.
It was our fifth visit to Manado/Bunaken/Lembeh and we know a lot of hotels there such as Mapia, Minahasa, Living Colours, Onong, Bastianos and Lembeh Resort. We must say that Cocotinos offers an outstanding value for money! The rooms are spacious, very nicely furnished, bathrooms clean and spacious as well and the food is execellent. For the first time in five years in Manado area we could even enjoy TV with various english channels - which we have never missed before but if you are there during the wet season it is a nice feature when it is pouring rain in the evening.

The diving was very well organised. The dive team labels your gear and takes it onboard for you. Two tank dive trips started at 8:00 am to Bunaken and returned at 1:00pm with lunch at the resort. Alternatively, there were days with three dive trips and a lunch box on board, returning to the resort at 4:00pm. But not only Bunaken is there to be discovered but also the dive spots near the resort on the mainland are worth to be seen. Staff is very friendly and helpful , the dive crew is well organised and punctual.

The Cocotinos Resort is conviniently located. It only takes 25 minutes to the Airport what makes it a nice stop if you plan to go somewhere else ( we traveled to Sorong , Raja Ampat ) and take a break from the long journey. Don´t expect any tourism around the hotel. There are two villages surrounding the hotel, one christian and one muslim (in some rooms you will here the muezzin calling if you have a light sleep) but there are no shops and pepople stare at you if you want to buy some cookies or coke there at one of the small kiosks. So don´t forget anything and bring all medicine with you!
We can recommend this resort and it will definitly be our first choice for our next stay in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kokukan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Many, many thanks for your review. That you have stayed at some of the other dive resorts in Manado over the years and found us one of the best, if not the best you have stayed at, has made both our resort and dive staff very happy, We always try very hard to make Cocotinos Resort the best that it can be, and to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible. We hope that you will stay with us again soon and look forward to meeting you again soon.

with kind regards
Martinus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wori
7.1 km away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 44 in Manado
153 reviews
13 km away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 44 in Manado
548 reviews
20.7 km away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.5 km away
Janji Laut Resort
Janji Laut Resort
#1 of 1 in Ranowangko
79 reviews
7.7 km away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#5 of 44 in Manado
185 reviews
8.4 km away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Siladen Island
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocotinos Manado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotinos Manado

Address: Desa Kima Bajo, Jaga 3 | Jaga 3, Kec., Wori 95000, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Wori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Price Range: $91 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocotinos Manado 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocotinos Manado is a boutique dive resort located within Wori Bay in the heart of Kima Bajo, a fishing village overlooking the Bunaken National Marine Park, world famous for its astounding wall and macro scuba diving. A mere 25-minute drive from Manado's Sam Ratulangi International Airport brings you to the resort, on the water's edge, in full view of Siladen Island and Manado Tua, a majestic dormant volcano across the Sulawesi Sea. Through the use of selected hardwoods, stone, and other ecologically friendly building materials sourced from the region, the resort blends seamlessly with the surrounding village and coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cocotinos Manado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocotinos Manado Hotel Wori

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing