We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
215
110
17
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
110
17
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdive resortfishgreat divingdiving crewgroup of friendsfirst stopnon diversevery mealequipmentboatturtlestripsmainlanddishreefboutiquewarmth
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 344 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a fantastic establishment, about 30ish rooms. But kept up with the international standards for food and safety. Fantastic for Divers, the staff are friendly, they understand and speak good English. The food is always the freshest catch. Fantastic Crew. I was with my friend for 4 days and I there after I was on my own for about another 3 days. I felt safe even when I forgot to lock my room door. This counts for the honesty of the staff. Cudos to Cocotinos for my wonderful trip up there.

Room Tip: The rooms are located within walking distance to the restaurant, although it is a small establishment, it is very well kept . The toilet and bath facilities are HUGE. The beds are comfy. If you dont wanna sleep in Airc-onditioning, there is a fan. Good for divers who don't wanna have blocked nose prior to a dive.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngeNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your kind review of our Cocotinos Resort. We always try to please and the dive crew and resort staff all send their regards. We look forward to having you visit us again here in Manado soon for some more great diving.

With Warmest Regards from all Staff, Crew & Management Cocotinos Manado

Martinus Wawanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We had a great one night stay here after a week on Bunaken Island before flying out the following morning.

The staffs here are great, always friendly and always trying to help out.

We arrived by boat and staff met us on the dock to carry our luggage to a waterfront room. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed having a drink or two just sitting out on the front patio overlooking the water. Although there is no beach here, there is a pool and most folks that stay here appear to be divers.

We did have some trouble with dinner. We had ordered appetizers a steak and a chicken dish. We waited almost an hour before the food was brought out only to find our steak was raw. It was actually still cold in the middle. We would then wait another twenty minutes and the steak still came back bloody and raw inside. After a third try and still the steak was raw we gave up and shared our chicken meal and appetizers which were all good and satisfying. They did try to still charge us for the steak meal; however once we pointed it out it was removed from the bill.

At 5:00 AM the next morning security was at our door to collect our bags and security would also be the ones to drive us to the airport. At check-out they had prepared coffee and a breakfast box which we did not even think about pre-ordering but was very much appreciated.

Our impressions is this is a small boutique property which is very well run. Cooking steak may not be their specialty so we will not hold that against them and our stay although short was pretty much perfect and suited our needs.

We highly recommend Coconino’s and should we find ourselves back in the area we would surely love to spend a few days enjoying the property and getting to know the staff.

Room Tip: Go for a waterfront room
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roam802810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review. Sorry for the fact that our kitchen staff we having an off day when you stayed with us. Believe me in saying that their faces were as red as the centre of your steak in not being able to serve it to you properly cooked. And if you visit us again we promise to give you a properly cooked steak and have our chef properly engage his brain before coming in to work. But as the rest of your review mentioned the best part of our resort is our staff who always are great ambassadors for the local Manado people and are always naturally friendly unlike the “ painted on smiles” that you tend to get with so many hotels nowadays . And we always try to sweat the small things that make a resort stay memorable such as providing you with coffee and a packed breakfast at 5 am in the morning. We maybe small but that makes us try harder.We look forward to having you come back to stay with us in the future. Thank you again for your review it was much appreciated.

With Warmest Regards from all staff, crew & management of Cocotinos Manado

Martinus Wawanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Planning a dive trip, Cocotinos is a "no-brainer". We'd been when the resort was newly-opened 3 years ago and knew it was almost certainly going to be a pleasure to be back. Our only worry that it wouldn't live up to the memories of our first stay. Although the weather was bloody awful, we still enjoyed our stay and our dives immensely. Oddysea Divers, the dive service provider attached to the resort is awesome and the guides take great pride in showing guest divers the best sites in the Bunaken Marine park. No need to worry - it'll all be taken care of. They've got a great spa too - Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explrdvr37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear reviewer,
thank you for your review of Cocotinos Manado. We are so glad that you visited us again after 3 years and that you found our service and resort as well as the diving still up to your expectations from your earlier visit. We always appreciate return guests as we always feel that our guests are friends not just guests and should be treated as such. Please do not wait so long to pay us a visit again, as we are always finding new dive spots close to the resort, that other dive operators do not know about. Please visit our web site as well as our facebook page where we regularly post photos of new critters found on the new sites. All of the dive guides James/Jackie/Henky and the boat crews send you their best regards.

With Warmest regards from all staff, crew & Management of Cocotinos Manado

Martinus Wawanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We had two visits here (primarily as a stop over to a longer holiday) but enjoyed our stay immensely. The staff were brilliant and James the dive-guy and u/w photographer was a real pleasure. Although there is no beach, the resort has excellent access to the Bunaken and Siladen dive sites (soem of the world's best) and there is excellent muck-diving in the bay - James' pictyures well attest to that! Food and drinks were pleasing - and teh happy hour was always fun for our whole group! Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: The only benefit to the sea-facing rooms is that you can sleep through the 4:30 am call-to-prayers each morning a little more easily!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreqTravW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for you kind review of our Cocotinos Resort. We are so glad that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us. Maybe next time you can have a longer stay rather than just a short stop over but either way you know that you are always welcome at Cocotinos. James sends you his regards and hopes he will have a chance to dive with you and show you the muck diving in the bay, rather than just his photos. Actually while the diving at Bunaken and Siladen is so good, not a lot of people realise that the diving along the coast line next to our resort is also very good and we are always finding new spots. But of course you need to dive with us as we don’t show others where the good places are. So thanks again for your review it was much appreciated. And we hope to see you all at Cocotinos you again soon .

With kind regards
Martinus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2012

On my last visit, I stayed at 4 different hotels.. sounds crazy but it was a good experience to see the hotels in Manado..Work and Pleasure.
Cocotinos Manado is a pretty hideaway resort tuck away about an hour drive from the city. Its closer the airport. The resort is surrounded by a village. Its a small cozy resort and the service is very good. The rooms are clean and comfortable and surprisingly fairly large. The toilets were excellent, clean and comfortable size. There is no internet in the room and its available free of charge at the restaurant area. There is only one restaurant. Food quality is of a good standard and so is the breakfast in the morning. The resort has a good dive centre and its very professionally runned and its owned by the resort.

The sad part about the resort is that there is no beach at this resort but one can go for a walk around the village which is quite nice. The service is attentive and good at this resort. I will want to go back and stay at this resort

Room Tip: There is not much difference in whether you take a sea view room or a pool view room. The rooms I like is the suite rooms which is on the 2nd floor and gives you a great view of the sea.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

We are so glad that you found our resort so clean and well run, especially since you had stayed at 4 other hotels in Manado. We always try to make our guests stay a friendly and comfortable experience and this is always made easier by the natural friendliness of our staff.
You commented on the size and comfort of our rooms especially the toilets. When Mr Wong the owner was designing the resort, he wanted not to make the same mistakes that he had experienced when staying at other, sometimes quite expensive hotels in Asia, i.e. Small and stinky toilets so he was determined not to repeat the same mistake when building Cocotinos. As you have seen by the layout of our rooms I think he succeeded. Thank you again for your review, sorry we did not have a beach but it comes and goes depending on the weather and the currents.

Warmest regards from all staff of Cocotinos Manado

Martinus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews