We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cocotinos Manado
Nearby Hotels
Bahowo Lodge(Manado)
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Onong Resort(Manado)
US$91
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$53
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$36
US$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$39/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Genio Hotel Manado(Manado)(Great Value!)
US$28
US$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$19
US$16
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$59
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$44
US$39
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
212
109
17
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
109
17
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdive resortfishdive mastergreat divingwater dispenserrecommend this resortdiving crewboat ridethe reefsa la cartehighlands tourperfect servicemakes you feelfirst stopminute drivebunaken marine parkmanado city
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 340 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We were there for 5 days, and we enjoyed every moment.

Room: very spacious and clean.
Staff: everyone were very friendly and helpful, the service from both the resort and dive centre crews were excellent.
Food: 3 course meals, very nice Indonesian and western style to choose from.

Diving: Visibility was really good. the dives here are mainly macro, we saw squids, flamboyant cuttlefish, wonderpus, sting-rays, frog fishes, sea horses, a few turtles, sea slugs, sea moth, flat heads, pygmy seahorses and electric clams man!

Service: Over here every 2 divers gets assigned to 1 experienced dive guide, hence we get full attention under water. Also, on the boat there will be helpers to help with everything u need, change gears, clean ur things, pour us coffee and chilled fruits after we come up from diving. After returning to the dock, they will hand us cold face towels! We just need to dive here, everything else is taken care of.

Don't forget to request their most amazing home made sambal when having Indonesian dishes.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for giving us such a nice review we really appreciate it and the electric clams and the rest of the critters send their regards also. We think that we have something special in the way we run our dive operation and hotel .Whether it is the way our hotel staff and dive guides interact with the guests or simple things like a hot drink on the dive boat or a cold towel on arriving back on the dock we try our best to please and make your holiday a good one. Again thanks for your review and we look forward to having you stay with us again at Cocotinos, the homemade Sambal awaits.

with warmest regards from all staff, crew & management of Cocotinos Manado

Martinus Wawanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Service is excellent and the do staff do go the extra mile for u eg remembering your names, hot towers after disembark frn dive boat, dive gear arrangement and cleaning etc. little things that count.

Rooms are spot on clean and comfy with access to pool.

However food can be quite salty and oily and could do well if toned down a little. Also no where else to go outside of resort other than sitting around chatting with fellow villagers, many of whom work in the resort.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review your kind comments were much appreciated by all of our Cocotinos staff. We will take your comments on the food being a bit salty and oily for your taste to heart. If you stay with us again, please do not be shy in asking our restaurant staff to cook the food to your liking as we frequently have guests who have different dietary requirements and if you like your food a bit more lightly cooked our chef will be delighted to cook to your requirements.
We are glad that you liked the rest of the service and dive operations , which we justifiably feel is one of the best in Manado if not the region. We look forward to having you stay with us again at Cocotinos. By the way on your next stay please ask our staff for the local tours, while it is true we are located in a village with not much to do apart from the diving. We are located quite close to Tangkoko NAture Reserve National Park where you can see some of the unique animals such as the Tarsier which are only found in Sulawesi . We can also arrange trips to the spice farms in the mountains around an hour’s drive from the resort. we loof forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

with warmest regards from all staff, crew & management of Cocotinos Manado

Martinus Wawanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2012

It was simply an amazing experience to stay and dive there. Reservation was responsive and flexible, people were friendly and helpful, and diving there was just over the top.
The place is rather small and located quite far from city center. But this can be an advantage if you are looking for calmness and relaxing cozy atmosphere.
The rooms are nice, very clean, fully equipped, exceeded our expectations.
The diving equipments are well maintained and have generally good quality.
The divemasters are very helpful and friendly.
I would confidently recommend it to anyone and would be more than happy to stay there again.
For the price, they are giving us more than what we would ever expect.

Room Tip: Any room that would suit the # of people you share the room with.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molamola17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for the nice review of our resort, our staff always appreciate a happy customer. Our owner who designed the resort had a relaxing and cozy atmosphere in mind, with quality at an affordable price, when he did the original design of Cocotinos. And being someone who dives himself wanted to make sure that we would not be one of the rather grotty dive hotels that divers unfortunately have to put up with in most of Asia. From your comments I think he has succeeded .We hope to have you come back to stay with us again soon. And thank you once again from the Cocotinos staff and management for your kind review.

With warmest regards from All Staff, Crew & management Of Cocotinos Manado

Martinus Wawanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a fantastic establishment, about 30ish rooms. But kept up with the international standards for food and safety. Fantastic for Divers, the staff are friendly, they understand and speak good English. The food is always the freshest catch. Fantastic Crew. I was with my friend for 4 days and I there after I was on my own for about another 3 days. I felt safe even when I forgot to lock my room door. This counts for the honesty of the staff. Cudos to Cocotinos for my wonderful trip up there.

Room Tip: The rooms are located within walking distance to the restaurant, although it is a small establishment, it is very well kept . The toilet and bath facilities are HUGE. The beds are comfy. If you dont wanna sleep in Airc-onditioning, there is a fan. Good for divers who don't wanna have blocked nose prior to a dive.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngeNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your kind review of our Cocotinos Resort. We always try to please and the dive crew and resort staff all send their regards. We look forward to having you visit us again here in Manado soon for some more great diving.

With Warmest Regards from all Staff, Crew & Management Cocotinos Manado

Martinus Wawanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We had a great one night stay here after a week on Bunaken Island before flying out the following morning.

The staffs here are great, always friendly and always trying to help out.

We arrived by boat and staff met us on the dock to carry our luggage to a waterfront room. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed having a drink or two just sitting out on the front patio overlooking the water. Although there is no beach here, there is a pool and most folks that stay here appear to be divers.

We did have some trouble with dinner. We had ordered appetizers a steak and a chicken dish. We waited almost an hour before the food was brought out only to find our steak was raw. It was actually still cold in the middle. We would then wait another twenty minutes and the steak still came back bloody and raw inside. After a third try and still the steak was raw we gave up and shared our chicken meal and appetizers which were all good and satisfying. They did try to still charge us for the steak meal; however once we pointed it out it was removed from the bill.

At 5:00 AM the next morning security was at our door to collect our bags and security would also be the ones to drive us to the airport. At check-out they had prepared coffee and a breakfast box which we did not even think about pre-ordering but was very much appreciated.

Our impressions is this is a small boutique property which is very well run. Cooking steak may not be their specialty so we will not hold that against them and our stay although short was pretty much perfect and suited our needs.

We highly recommend Coconino’s and should we find ourselves back in the area we would surely love to spend a few days enjoying the property and getting to know the staff.

Room Tip: Go for a waterfront room
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy.karla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review. Sorry for the fact that our kitchen staff we having an off day when you stayed with us. Believe me in saying that their faces were as red as the centre of your steak in not being able to serve it to you properly cooked. And if you visit us again we promise to give you a properly cooked steak and have our chef properly engage his brain before coming in to work. But as the rest of your review mentioned the best part of our resort is our staff who always are great ambassadors for the local Manado people and are always naturally friendly unlike the “ painted on smiles” that you tend to get with so many hotels nowadays . And we always try to sweat the small things that make a resort stay memorable such as providing you with coffee and a packed breakfast at 5 am in the morning. We maybe small but that makes us try harder.We look forward to having you come back to stay with us in the future. Thank you again for your review it was much appreciated.

With Warmest Regards from all staff, crew & management of Cocotinos Manado

Martinus Wawanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews