We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magical historic hacienda” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
ajijic, Jalisco
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A magical historic hacienda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

The room, food and service are excellent.
It is refreshing to find a hotel where some wines on the list were very reasonably priced.
The room was 1340 pesos and dinner about 400
But we thought breakfast expensive at 300 pesos.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobajijic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    19
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
37
61
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridderkerk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

It is hard to describe the atmosphere of originality and romance. The staff is amazingly polite and helpful. The gardens and patio's, full with peacocks and colorful butterflies, that seem to be there to pleasure the guests. I have never seen so much beauty in one place. The spa is overwhelming. The rooms are so atmospheric; you'll feel like you entered an old Mexican movie.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PeterVersnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2009

This hotel is well worth the money you pay. It has everything you could possibly need and the place is extraordinary upon arriving there just like out of those old mexican movies you see. My only, one drawback is that it is far. From Guadalajara it took us about an 1hr and 30 mins to get there.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — the location
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TXtravelerHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

I spent a week at the Hacienda for a workshop, and have never been more impressed or pleased with a hotel. The staff was amazing, very attentive and despite the language barriers at time, went above and beyond for us. The grounds and rooms are beautifully kept, very clean, and the atmosphere is amazing. The food was fantastic! Very creative and unique while still being very edible. Nothing beats fresh-squeezed orange juice in the mornings! The only downside is that it is located about an hour and a half from Guadalajara, but it is worth every moment to get there! My favorite part of all? The beautiful peacocks that wander the grounds - beautiful!
(all images copyright by the poster and may not be reproduced without permission)

  • Liked — Beautifully kept, amazing staff
  • Disliked — Distance from Guadalajara, about 1.5 hours
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank inspiredimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2007

We spent a perfect two days here, to celebrate a friend’s birthday. The hacienda has been attractively restored and the spa is beautifully appointed. Treatments are quite expensive (for Mexico): we both had a facial at around $40 US. But it was nice to be pampered. The gym is disappointing, with just a few not very well serviced exercise bikes and a poor selection of free weights. There is also a small outdoor swimming pool.
We had a lovely big room, with superb brass bedsteads and lace counterpanes. Every room is different of course and some are in outlying buildings. We spent a lot of time lounging on the comfy sofas on the rear portico, even during a spectacular rain storm on our second evening. There are computers and a WiFi, as well as plenty of magazines and books to read. Only one TV though, hidden away in a closet in the main salon: for that much thanks!
Service was in all respects excellent and the all-in package was superb value. Since we were the only overnight guests (we stayed mid-week), the chef asked what we’d like to eat and we were able to choose between seafood, chicken and various meats and to suggest how they should be prepared. Chilean wine was served with meals and there was also a help-yourself bar, with beers, spirits (great local tequila!) and soft drinks.
I went horse riding one morning, but since I was alone I stayed within the hacienda grounds so it was not so interesting. However, we also took a walk into the next-door village and out into the countryside and this would be do-able on horseback too. The countryside is pretty, with fields of sugar cane and maize and a distant view of mountains.
The hacienda is reachable by public transport: we took a bus from the old terminal in Guadalajara to Teuchitlan, visited the unusual ruins of Guachimontones: well worth it for the view, but visit the little museum in Teuchitlan first to get an idea of what it’s all about. From Teuchitlan there are inexpensive local taxis ($5-6) for the 7km ride to the hacienda.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Londinense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2006

If you are looking for a peaceful retreat in a charming historical place where cleanness is a priority along with customer service...then this is it. There is so much history in every corner of this hacienda. The food is excellent. I can't say enough about the service to give it justice. You can't go wrong with this one. Enjoy it!!!! It's almost December and I'm still writing about this great place.

  • Liked — The ability to enter amd experience old world culture and history in today's new world.
  • Disliked — Can't get there sooner than the hour drive from the airport in Guadalajara
  • Tips/Secrets — Be open to enjoy and be pampered like royalty!!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank almin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Carmen
26.3 km away
Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila
26.6 km away
Hotel Solar de Las Animas
26.1 km away
Hotel Plaza Rubio
Hotel Plaza Rubio
#5 of 6 in Tequila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 km away
Hotel La Rienda Mision Tequillan
4.1 km away
Hacienda Labor de Rivera Hotel Boutique
25.6 km away
Hotel Boutique la Cofradia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa

Property: Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa
Address: 58th km-highway Guadalajara-Tala-Etzatlan, El Carmen 45090, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > El Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda El Carmen is more than just a five star resort and spa, it is the beginning of your adventures in the land of tequila! Gourmet cuisine, cultural tours, horseback riding, adventure sports, archaeological excursions, we offer whatever your heart's desire! Our spa is the largest of any hacienda in Mexico with unique and extensive menu of servivces. We offer a la carte or all inclusive packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda El Carmen Hotel And Spa
Hacienda El Carmen Hotel El Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing