We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE TO JAN, PEPPE, PETER & ALL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Cupids Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in San Sai
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Just purely by searching the internet for our Chiang Mai short experience, we happened to stumble across the Golden Cupids Hotel. As we drove down the road towards our destination (8 of us travelling from Melbourne Australia) we were a tad timid wondering what was in store for us.
But surprise surprise, this was the BEST STAY OF OUR ENTIRE HOLIDAY. Jan was great at keeping me informed on the computer before we arrived but when we did arrive, we were made to feel like part of their family. The hospitality was UNREAL....
We only stayed two nights and wished we had stayed much much more - we even shed a tear or two as we said goodbye (but we will be back).
The rooms were huge, the facilities were great, the food.......what can I say but SUPERB!!!! And all the staff were so friendly and helpful.
If you are looking for central city hype etc, you won't get it here. Instead you are in a country hotel surrounded by people who you just want to know forever. You can easily catch transport to the tourist attractions etc and come home to peace and quiet.
Thankyou so much to our new family away from home - we will be back hopefully within the next 12 months. I will also send some pictures via email for you to put on your board!

Room Tip: Just let Jan know what you want and they will accommodate. Rooms are huge with two queen beds as we...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Golden Cupids Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

I was looking for something more personal than a clinical hotel and Golden Cupids exceeded my expectations.

From the minute I arrived, I was made to feel like one of the family - the hospitality is exceptional. Pepe is an amazing host and the rest of her family and staff are charming. Arrangements were made for various tours without blinking an eye and Pepe was only too willing to help ferry me around and collect me from various places. The flexibility was also incredible - we stumbled across a parade for the Festival of Lights and decided to stay and watch the whole procession which was amazing.

The rooms are enormous and an added bonus was being able to open windows to a beautiful view of the surrounding countryside and mountains in the distance.

The food is superb - the best I had in Thailand.

I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone and will be returning with friends next year.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigoni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I have lost count of how many times we have visited this wonderful small hotel, we stay every time we visit Chiang Mai and everytime we stay we experience something new. This time we took our son with us and he too thought it was fantastic. I would describe it as family homestay with the extra benefit of all mod cons, large comfortable rooms, fantastic food, the owners Peppe and Peter and his staff and family always go the extra mile to make your experience of Chiang Mai special. You truly feel like one of the family and yet you have the benefit of your own space, a nice pool and a wealth of information about everything available in Chiang Mai and surrounding areas. Choose this hotel if you want to experience true Thai hospitality and enjoy a village setting. It has so much more to offer than large impersonal chain hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2atravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We wanted to get out of the city to fresh air and a taste of the real Thailand, and Golden Cupids turned out to be an excellent choice.

This small, quiet, family-run resort is an excellent base for exploring Chiang Mai, and was (by far) the highlight of our trip to Thailand. The owner, Peppe, is a wonderful, kind, vivacious woman who treats her guests like family. That is the real secret to why people keep coming back to Golden Cupids. If you need more reasons: the food is good and inexpensive; laundry is inexpensive; there is a nice pool; there is free Wifi; and Peppe can advise you about and help arrange all the usual sightseeing stuff as well as car service to the city or airport.

We'll be back. Thank you again, Peppe and family.

Room Tip: Room 6 is nice.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeTravel999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

we had a wonderful time in mae jo at golden cupids the staff and our extremely gracious hostess peppe (sonkrit) are the most pleasant staff and people you would ever want to meet and share time with the smiles are always on the girls faces and they cannot do enough for you the food is equal to any you will find in thailand and served with the love of a homestay home. the owners are peter and peppe who treat their guests as family, we spent 14 wonderful days of this hospitality even though we were in the worst wet season in years and thailand was experiencing terrible flooding all the way to bangkok in the south there was always something to fill time exploring or just laying back and chilling out relaxing. travel to adventure trips is arranged with the minimum of fuss and always a pleasant experience. we thank our gracious hostess peppe for her love and company during our stay. gaye and allan from townsville australia.

Room Tip: all the rooms at golden cupids are very spacious designed by peter the owner in true english style w...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We have just finished our 5 night stay at Golden Cupids Hotel whilst in Chiang Mai and we cannot wait to go back again. This place lives up to the reviews as an excellent hotel for those who want peace and quiet in a village atmosphere, rather than the hustle of the city.

If you want to be in the city then this hotel may not suit. It is 20mins out of town but this also makes it closer to many of the tourist attractions north of the city.

Peppe and her excellent team will ensure your stay is memorable and I doubt you will have any complaints. They will go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect for your stay and you are not just another customer but a valued guest.

The hotel is in a residential area which is very quiet and secluded but also safe to wander the streets if you wish. My daughter and I also managed to cycle around the local area with no concerns. The grounds are well maintained gardens with a lovely pool and nice relaxation areas under shady trees.

The rooms are large and immaculately clean. They are serviced daily. We stayed with our two children and there was more than enough room. The restaurant is open air and Peppe is very flexible with meal times according to the guests schedules. The food is superb, I do not think I have had better Thai food ever, and there is some great western/european dishes for those who prefer the non-spicy. The size of the dishes will never leave you wanting more and the value of the food is amazing.

So if you want a quiet, relaxing location for your stay in Chiang Mai, you really should consider staying at Golden Cupids. The warm welcome and excellent service from the staff
(who are always smiling) will make your stay more that satisfying.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pugs388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The owner's name is Pepe, and she is on top of things 100%. Pepe, her daughthers and staff, will ensure that your stay is the best thing since sliced bread. The hotel is out of the city, a 10 minute commute... Pepe pays for your trip in... you pay for your trip out... about $10 US. This gets you into a wonderfully idylic setting that is super quiet and calm. The other reviews will tell you all about the wonderful rooms and food... but it is Pepe that makes it all work.

Don't expect a bar and shows... it's just not that kind of place. Years ago Pepe and her hubby Peter bought a huge expanse of land, and built a big home on it... and some time later added the hotel, so you have a hotel on a large tract of land that you may walk around on and just plain enjoy. Sit by the pool, or in the outdoor restaurant and just enjoy yourself.

Pepe and the girls will help you arrange any tours that you might want to take, and give you good advice on what to do and where to go.

Additionally, should you want a wonderful venue for a small conference or "retreat"... this is the place.

Room Tip: There's probably not a bad room in the house... we liked being on the second floor for the view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank czkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Sai
2.5 km away
Mae Jo Golf Resort & Spa
9.8 km away
Lanna Saithong Resort
Lanna Saithong Resort
#2 of 7 in San Sai
56 reviews
10.5 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Fern Paradise
Fern Paradise
#1 of 7 in San Sai
352 reviews
12.2 km away
Howie's HomeStay
Howie's HomeStay
#3 of 19 in Mae Rim
88 reviews
22.1 km away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Cupids Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Cupids Hotel

Address: 21/2 Moo 7 Tumbol Norngchom, San Sai 50210, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > San Sai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in San Sai
Price Range: $44 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Cupids Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Cupids Luxury Hotel promises a friendly welcome to Thailand and an opportunity to experience the magic of the east. Whether you wish to simply soak up the perfumed sun of exotic tropical gardens, swim in the beautiful outdoor swimming pool, relax with our professional Thai massage therapy, take various tours and activities in Chiang Mai, or retire to an English managed winter haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Cupids Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Cupids Chiang Mai
Hotel Golden Cupids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing