We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$52
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
US$35
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fern Paradise(San Sai)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baansuwanburi(San Sai)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Banyen Villa(San Sai)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
134
17
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
17
5
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 158 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I was looking for something more personal than a clinical hotel and Golden Cupids exceeded my expectations.

From the minute I arrived, I was made to feel like one of the family - the hospitality is exceptional. Pepe is an amazing host and the rest of her family and staff are charming. Arrangements were made for various tours without blinking an eye and Pepe was only too willing to help ferry me around and collect me from various places. The flexibility was also incredible - we stumbled across a parade for the Festival of Lights and decided to stay and watch the whole procession which was amazing.

The rooms are enormous and an added bonus was being able to open windows to a beautiful view of the surrounding countryside and mountains in the distance.

The food is superb - the best I had in Thailand.

I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone and will be returning with friends next year.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigoni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I have lost count of how many times we have visited this wonderful small hotel, we stay every time we visit Chiang Mai and everytime we stay we experience something new. This time we took our son with us and he too thought it was fantastic. I would describe it as family homestay with the extra benefit of all mod cons, large comfortable rooms, fantastic food, the owners Peppe and Peter and his staff and family always go the extra mile to make your experience of Chiang Mai special. You truly feel like one of the family and yet you have the benefit of your own space, a nice pool and a wealth of information about everything available in Chiang Mai and surrounding areas. Choose this hotel if you want to experience true Thai hospitality and enjoy a village setting. It has so much more to offer than large impersonal chain hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2atravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We wanted to get out of the city to fresh air and a taste of the real Thailand, and Golden Cupids turned out to be an excellent choice.

This small, quiet, family-run resort is an excellent base for exploring Chiang Mai, and was (by far) the highlight of our trip to Thailand. The owner, Peppe, is a wonderful, kind, vivacious woman who treats her guests like family. That is the real secret to why people keep coming back to Golden Cupids. If you need more reasons: the food is good and inexpensive; laundry is inexpensive; there is a nice pool; there is free Wifi; and Peppe can advise you about and help arrange all the usual sightseeing stuff as well as car service to the city or airport.

We'll be back. Thank you again, Peppe and family.

Room Tip: Room 6 is nice.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeTravel999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2011

we had a wonderful time in mae jo at golden cupids the staff and our extremely gracious hostess peppe (sonkrit) are the most pleasant staff and people you would ever want to meet and share time with the smiles are always on the girls faces and they cannot do enough for you the food is equal to any you will find in thailand and served with the love of a homestay home. the owners are peter and peppe who treat their guests as family, we spent 14 wonderful days of this hospitality even though we were in the worst wet season in years and thailand was experiencing terrible flooding all the way to bangkok in the south there was always something to fill time exploring or just laying back and chilling out relaxing. travel to adventure trips is arranged with the minimum of fuss and always a pleasant experience. we thank our gracious hostess peppe for her love and company during our stay. gaye and allan from townsville australia.

Room Tip: all the rooms at golden cupids are very spacious designed by peter the owner in true english style with flair and comfort in mind
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We have just finished our 5 night stay at Golden Cupids Hotel whilst in Chiang Mai and we cannot wait to go back again. This place lives up to the reviews as an excellent hotel for those who want peace and quiet in a village atmosphere, rather than the hustle of the city.

If you want to be in the city then this hotel may not suit. It is 20mins out of town but this also makes it closer to many of the tourist attractions north of the city.

Peppe and her excellent team will ensure your stay is memorable and I doubt you will have any complaints. They will go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect for your stay and you are not just another customer but a valued guest.

The hotel is in a residential area which is very quiet and secluded but also safe to wander the streets if you wish. My daughter and I also managed to cycle around the local area with no concerns. The grounds are well maintained gardens with a lovely pool and nice relaxation areas under shady trees.

The rooms are large and immaculately clean. They are serviced daily. We stayed with our two children and there was more than enough room. The restaurant is open air and Peppe is very flexible with meal times according to the guests schedules. The food is superb, I do not think I have had better Thai food ever, and there is some great western/european dishes for those who prefer the non-spicy. The size of the dishes will never leave you wanting more and the value of the food is amazing.

So if you want a quiet, relaxing location for your stay in Chiang Mai, you really should consider staying at Golden Cupids. The warm welcome and excellent service from the staff
(who are always smiling) will make your stay more that satisfying.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pugs388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews