We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncle Peter's and Auntie Pepe's Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Cupids Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in San Sai
Reviewed 6 March 2007

Good Heaven's! What a memorable stay at a special place with Uncle Peter and Auntie Pepe!

Who said the Empire has lost its lustre? Peter Granville Stokes is certainly one of the great imperialists who has gleefully engineered his private reserve far away from the madding crowd. And, Pepe "Wonderful" Stokes, a living doll, has managed to capture the best of all of Northern Thailand and roll virtually every single ingredient into her hospitality and incomparable cuisine.

Staying with Uncle Peter and Auntie Pepe, along with their supportive and wonderful staff, is like spending a splendid evening in Southampton with a pint in one hand and a Cuban in the other.

Without a doubt, the evenings at the Imperialist's Reserve are the best part of any visit to Chang Mai. The quarters are for seasoned veterans who have traveled the world and stayed everywhere imaginable from the fluffy beds at the Four Seasons to the hammocks at Ernesto's Motor Hotel in Ensenada, Mexico. The property is exactly, precisely, most certainly directly in the middle. Charming, cheerful, economic, efficient, quiet and quaint. Breakfasts are perfect. Lunches available and supper is simply superb.

Perhaps the best part of staying with Uncle Peter and Auntie Pepe is the fact that you will meet some real travelers who have seen the world as well as every marketing scheme imaginable.

The Imperialist's Reserve is supremely well balanced. What Chang Mai lacks, Peter and Pepe provide. Tired of strolling city streets, supper is soon. Looking for great deals, wait until dinner.

Can't cook. Pepe will not only teach you, she will drag your bum to the local market and explain the difference between chicken and vegetables. You must ask for David's spring rolls. And, most importantly, if you are a kind and thoughtful soul, take Peter a decent bottle of Cabernet "as a gift on arrival!" The wine in Chang Mai has not left the vineyards in California or France, and certainly does not know the way to Northern Thailand.

The best advice possible: Buy your own Scotch at the "duty free" at the Bangkok Airport prior to arrival. Smoking at dinner is rightfully and strongly discouraged. Make sure your children are well behaved.

Make no mistake. If you are snooty, stay away. If you are uppity, stay away. If you are a real human being filled with love and warmth in your heart, you will get much more than you pay for and will be pleased with the reasonable accommodations.

For Uncle Peter and Auntie Pepe, the staff and all of the wonderful guests, including especially Keith, the Grand iIperialist, the people make the place. The property is not far out of town, close to the Mae Jo Golf Club, a challenging and worthy track.

All things considered, one heck of a deal! Say hi to "Jan" and "Noi," pronounced Noisy without the sy. And, please take Uncle Peter and yourself a decent bottle of red wine to complement the exquisite food, because it is that for which his spirit and yours will cry out in despair and utter silence to reach a state of near bliss just shy of perfection.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank dekenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Golden Cupids Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2007

Faultless hospitality and service and wonderful dinners. The cookery lessons are brilliant even if like me you don’t normally cook. Our room was very spacious with a very nice view although the room outlooks vary so enquiry when booking could be worthwhile. We booked the ten day package and the three days when we were accompanied by Peppe (KIng's Project / Hot Spring, Waterfall and Dam) were excellent and memorable. However on three other days we were taken round by taxi and otherwise unaccompanied which meant that we had no information on what we were seeing. On balance our advice would be not to book a package as such but to put together a programme in consultation with Peppe once you get there or in advance by email or phone. Whatever you decide you will certainly not be disappointed with the Golden Cupids experience, it proved to be a highlight of our five week trip to indochina.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank bobtale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2007

Our family planned a week of sightseeing/trekking/rafting in Chiang Mai and I discovered Golden Cupids on-line. I booked a room for our family of 4 (children ages 7 & 9) based on the great reviews. My husband was less trusting based on the price and the drive from the airport. We were all pleasently surprised!! Our family room was spacious and the meals were wonderful. No need to eat elsewhere. My youngest is a picky eater and Peppe went out of her way to make her a special dinner every night. Once even ordering pizza delivery! Peter and Peppe make sure everyone is comfortable and they are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank ShanghaiPabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2007

We had four rooms at Golden Cupids for eight adult family members, for five nights. If you are going to Chiang Mai, I highly recommend this hotel experience. We travel a lot and are used to staying at 5 star hotels. After reading the reviews of this hotel on Trip Advisor, I decided to try this. This was a MUCH better cultural experience than a big hotel.

The big plus here is the service. Peppe, Peter and her girls make you feel at home and pampered. You can order massages on short notice. Anyplace at you want to go, any tourist sites you want to visit can be arranged for you even the day before. Their cars and drivers are excellent and personable.

Peppe is a wonderful cook. Don't miss her pineapple pancakes for breakfast or her great dinners. I have never taken a cooking class in any other country I have visited, but three of us did this on our last day and the market trip alone was worth it.

All this, and the prices are so low. When we left, there were all the girls and Peppe, lined up for hugs goodbye. Ever had that at another hotel?

I found the hotel rooms roomy with OK furnishings. The open air dining room with kitchen right there in sight is delightful.
The only down note, and it was significant to some of us, is
the bathrooms. The showers are hand held, which is really
hard to use and wash your hair. And when you use the shower the whole bathroom floor floods, due to the design. Also, there is no electrical outlet next to a bathroom or bedroom mirror for hair styling appliances. But I was provided with an extension cord as soon as I asked.

A Traveler's Note: We wanted a two week sampling of Thailand.
Bangkok surprised us with the wonderful sites there, but the air pollution and traffic jams are hard to deal with. Phuket was no big deal, Caribbean beaches are a lot better. The Chiang Mai
area is really interesting and we could have spent our entire two weeks there.

12  Thank odonart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2007

My stay in Chiang Mai simply put, was MADE, b/c of our time at the Golden Cupid.
The hotel is intimate, with large, clean airy rooms, a restful swimming pool, and a delightful open air restaurant. The staff were so sweet and helpful. The owners, Peter and Pepe, are simply wonderful. They made us feel so at home. Pepe prepared the best Thai meals we had during our 3 week trip- to the point that we signed up for a morning's cooking class with her- complete with market visit. So much fun! Best Green Papaya salad I've ever had.
Ask Pepe to take you on a day trip to the very special King's Projects. We felt like we'd seen a part of Thailand and learned something of the area few others have.
We enjoyed hour long Thai massages by the pool, to the gentle sound of late afternoon crickets.
Can't say enough about our time. For those who value a unique experience (no cookie cutter chain here), Golden Cupids is, well, golden.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank kcftravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2007

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank YayoNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2006

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank BrisbaneBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Sai
2.5 km away
Mae Jo Golf Resort & Spa
9.8 km away
Lanna Saithong Resort
Lanna Saithong Resort
#2 of 7 in San Sai
56 reviews
10.5 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Fern Paradise
Fern Paradise
#1 of 7 in San Sai
352 reviews
12.2 km away
Howie's HomeStay
Howie's HomeStay
#3 of 19 in Mae Rim
88 reviews
22.1 km away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Cupids Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Cupids Hotel

Address: 21/2 Moo 7 Tumbol Norngchom, San Sai 50210, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > San Sai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in San Sai
Price Range: $44 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Cupids Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Cupids Luxury Hotel promises a friendly welcome to Thailand and an opportunity to experience the magic of the east. Whether you wish to simply soak up the perfumed sun of exotic tropical gardens, swim in the beautiful outdoor swimming pool, relax with our professional Thai massage therapy, take various tours and activities in Chiang Mai, or retire to an English managed winter haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Cupids Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Cupids Chiang Mai
Hotel Golden Cupids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing