We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
478
57
14
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
478
57
14
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gardens are beautiful this wonderful hotel wonderful wedding overlooking the river warm welcome split level crows nest four poster bed feel very welcome north devon perfect hosts full english lovely room bed linen high standard breakfast was delicious coastal path
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 559 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2018

We selected this hotel to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary after seeing it on The Hotel Inspector. We were not disappointed, from check in to check out everything was perfect. The proprietors , John and Ilona were very friendly and couldnt do enough for us. The hotel is spotlessly clean all the way through. The rooms are very comfortable with every amenity, the tea/coffee tray was the best i have seen in any hotel. The bathroom was a little too “cosy” for us but served its purpose well. Breakfasts were ample and the waitress and waiter were friendly and efficient asking if we wanted more of anything. The gardens are beautiful even if Ilona said they were not at their best at this time and the view over the river is lovely. A more pleasanter stay we couldnt have wished for.

Stayed: August 2018
3  Thank Ira J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from a lovely stay at the Hotel Yeolden. We stayed 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend. We received a very warm welcome from John when we arrived from a 6 hour drive. He offered us all complimentary drinks while he carried our cases to our rooms. The rooms were bright, spacious and impeccably clean, we all had lovely sleeps, made better by waking up to that picturesque view! The breakfast in the morning was a small selection of cereals and fruit accompanied by a cooked breakfast (although some cooked vegetarian options would have been welcomed). The staff were always so pleasant and could not have done any more. I would highly recommend this beautiful little hotel!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Hbutler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2018

Although we had the smallest room it was more than adequate . Lovely fluffy towels,a view of the gardens and river estuary and extremely friendly staff and owners. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was good and there was plenty of information about the surrounding area both in the form of leaflets and owner knowledge. We would definitely stay again and would recommend to others.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

If you're looking for a hotel in the area don't go anywhere else. Charming building, lots of stained glass & stone with character rooms. Close to the coastal path & beautiful Westward Ho! Beach. Nothing was too much trouble, they deserve every success.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

Alerted owners that I would be bringing a therapy dog..chose hotel from Expedia as listed as pets allowed. Just. Good job I had a kennel, and that it was cool enough to leave him in the car for breakfast. Beautiful gardens tho. Ugly decor, as described previously.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank ktplondon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews