We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved this cottage, will definitely be back!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
North Lodge View of Sound of Jura from Ardoune
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
North Lodge
View of Sound of Jura from Ardoune
North Lodge Summerhouse in the bluebells
The stream and our bankside
Kitchen
Bathroom
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Bedroom
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ford, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lorraine...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved this cottage, will definitely be back!”
Reviewed April 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a very well cared-for and well provisioned cottage in a beautiful, private setting. The owners clearly spend time here themselves and the cottage has a comfortable, homely feel. Very clean, warm and decorated in a style to suit the building. The cottage is close to lots of sites of historic interest (standing stones, a castle, etc.) and is out of the way but still very accessible. My partner and I were sorry to leave and will definitely go back - we didn't have the best weather so spent more time indoors than planned but it's such a peaceful place to be it was still time well spent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and location by the river.
Liked least: It was difficult to keep the fire going in the wood burner but this is likely lack of practice as neither of us had used one before.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
We are always pleased to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay in North Lodge. We stay regularly in the cottage ourselves and after 20 years still find new points of interest in this historic and beautiful area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn C
North Wales, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A cute little cottage”
Reviewed March 3, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely little cottage situated on the banks of a small river. Great little space to return home from a tiring walk or long drive. Approx 50 mins to Oban, and add another hour or so to Fort William (we stopped a couple of times). I loved the kitchen and my husband seemed to love sleeping in front of the cosy log fire...The electric blanket in the cosy bedroom was a lovely touch in the extremely cold weather. I loved the garden area and we did spend some time out there despite the bitter cold. This property stands on the side of a little river and is definitely somewhere which is not child friendly, but that's not a problem if you don't bring a child! My only suggestions for improvement would be to insulate it a little better as one could feel the cold coming through the front door (it was Feb/March after all), and as it was a little dark in the kitchen a glazed door would massively improve the light entering that room. However, despite these little niggles I would certainly return to this lovely place. We were enjoying our stay so much that we extended it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of property. Kitchen.
Liked least: The cottage was quite cold.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
We are pleased Carolyn enjoyed her stay despite one of the coldest spells this winter! We will certainly look at draught proofing the front door. The cottage has walls are a metre thick and all dry lined and insulated. I agree that natural light in the kitchen on a winters day is challenged by the thick walls and small windows. We will look at the suggested glazed door, perhaps inside the original door to preserve the traditional appearance. Thanks for your helpful comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pyramido...
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
“Perfect home from home cottage in lovely little village”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at North Lodge for 5 nights and LOVED every minute of it. Cottage was a home from home and much more than just a self catering accommodation. It had everything we could possibly need for our stay. Lovingly restored with many old artifacts, and a wonderful cosy log fire for the evenings. It's small and compact and perfect for a couple looking for a break away from the beaten track in a lovely little village with great walks and the Loch Awe on the doorstep. Crinan, Kilmartin, Cairbaan, Lochgilphead, Dunaad and Carnasserie Castle all within 5-20 minutes of a car drive. Beautiful forestry walks in Knapdale and the Beaver Trial all close enough to get to easily by a short car journey. We stocked up on coal and firelighters in Glasgow on the way but no need as the shop in Kilmartin had these. Breathtaking scenery and what a lovely cottage to come home to after a long day out sightseeing. Would definitely book it again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the fact it was so well equipped. A home from home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
We get a great deal of pleasure when people enjoy our cottage and the beautiful area nearby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William B
Shrewsbury
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy wee cottage”
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at North Lodge for three nights - a key advantage as most self-catering accept only 7 night bookings. Located in the tiny hamlet of Ford, the cottage is well-placed for exploring the rich archaeological sites around Kilmartin Glen and the beautiful nature reserves of Knapdale, Taynish and Moine Mhor.

The useable space within the cottage consists of only the ground floor as the upper two rooms are devoted to storage and a children's bedroom. Therefore the accommodation is only suitable for a maximum of 2 people or an individual. Despite the small size and low levels of natural light (due to dense surrounding tree cover) the cottage is very comfortable and well appointed with a decent kitchen, wood burning stove and TV/DVD/Wi Fi. A babbling stream flows past the garden with a seating area, and the cottage has a private and tranquil aspect. Thoroughly recommend this spot as a quiet getaway.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing