We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“shore view indeed”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shore View

Entrance to house, with spectacular views across the beach.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to house, with spectacular views across the beach.
Solid oak wood, very well equipped kitchen with American fridge and an induction hob. Dining area of kitchen/diner with french doors to juliet balcony.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Entrance to house, with spectacular views across the beach.
Solid oak wood, very well equipped kitchen with American fridge and an induction hob.
Dining area of kitchen/diner with french doors to juliet balcony.
Lounge with views through french doors to a spacious balcony. The property has solid oak flooring.
Enjoy Al Fresco Dining on the Balcony with panoramic views from Rame Head to Looe Island.
Master bedroom with queen size bed and spectacular sea views.
Master bedroom window with solid oak settle.
Master bedroom dressing area with en- suite bathroom/wet-room beyond.
Second bedroom with private bathroom/ wet room and same sea aspect as the Master Bedroom.
View from second bedroom window.
Third bedroom. This is another spacious, airy room with a wet-room next door.
View towards Looe Island from the balcony.
Cream tea on the balcony?
Glorious sea views...
Beautiful elevated position with amazing uninterrupted sea views
Juliet balcony view from dining area.
Entrance hall; the house is lovingly furnished with many vintage touches.
View from bedroom window.
Contemporary travertine marble wet rooms throughout the property.
Family bathroom/wet-room. All three wet-rooms are in same travertine style.
A light oak stairwell connects the three floors of the property.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Downderry, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jackie T
1 review
“shore view indeed”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were blown away by the view as soon as we entered Shore View. Because it is a three storey home against a sloping hill, the sea was just there to be seen from every room. Spotlessy clean, well furnished with fantastic facilities, we wished it was ours. If we were to return to Cornwall, we would hope to rent it again 200%. Near to all places of interest, Downderry is a small coastal village, surprised as we were by the fact that Google Earth satellite map does not do justice to the place. The beach is good, a mix of sand and mixed sizes of gravel, and the sea breaks onto the rocky shore at low and high tide. Restaurants around the area were very good and we tried almost every one.
Many thanks to the owners of Shore View for sharing their home with us, for all the really helpful advice, and for making us feel so welcome!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful eco house and views
Liked least: no large saucepans for cooking pasta (our preference)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for giving the house a lovely review..we love the house and it has been great fun welcoming guests in need of relaxation and peace.. your comments made us :>) kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jatbatbow...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonder View at Shore View ”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just come back from Shore View in Downderry and we weren't disappointed what a wonderful house, amazing views and you can't beat going off to sleep and waking to the sounds of the sea especially when the wind was blowing. The house has everything, comfy beds, nice hot showers and all the amenities you require we especially enjoyed using the American Fridge for ice making and cold water. Having the kitchen upstairs was really handy after we came back from food shopping.
We would have liked the weather to have been warmer but we had nothing else to complain about.
Recommend the Blue Plate
Restaurant and the Finnygook Restaurant a few miles away.
If your looking for a home away from home but with great views then look no further than Shore View

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review. We have very much enjoyed our first 6 months of welcoming guests to *shore view* and will continue to make improvements for your comfort..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C
Maldon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a wonderful holiday!”
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Thank you so much to Kate for letting us stay in your amazing residence 'Shore View.' The view ans sound of the sea took our breath away. The house quickly became a home from home with everthing we possibly could have needed with an 18 month old to hand. The house was a great base for visiting lovely Looe and lots of other places within a 45 minute car ride. The only thing i would make people aware of is Waves Bar in Seaton. They told us there was free Wifi but when we went to use it they admitted it rarely works. Also the coffee they served us was stone cols so we were generally unimpressed with the place. We would definitly recommend the Blue Plate in Downderry for dinner and the Beach Cafe in Seaton for lunch on the beach. Generally a wonderful holiday.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie171
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The house is beautiful and very well equipped with the most wonderful views from Rame to Looe and therefore great for watching boats and wildlife.
The balcony is a bonus in the lovely weather and made a great extra dining space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: No garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing house, best holiday let we have stayed in - the views are breath taking!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at Shore View with our 9 month old. We were delighted to arrive to find a complimentary bucket and spade for our son - a lovely touch and much welcomed by a very excited baby! The views are stunning and it's so relaxing to sit and watch the waves coming into the beach and the fishermen hauling their nets. We explored the local area and loved the cafes and pubs who made us very welcome even with our pushchair! The house itself is very well equipped and we made good use of the toys and wellies. The beds are comfortable and I liked the fact we could put the travel cot in the dressing room in the main suite. Kate gave us excellent local information which made our holiday even better. Many happy memories were made at Shore View, we will definitely be returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house with it's fantastic views.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf P
Kiel, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Great stay for the whole family”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed at Shore View in the second week of October 2013. It was a magical holiday. Every day except one sunny and clear skies. Our two daughters aged 4 and 6 were smitten with the house and the area. We can wholeheartedly recommend the house. Everybody involved was very friendly and helpful.
Thank you for a wonderful holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: the way the dog next door was kept
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 11, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House/location
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing