We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Skerrols House(Bridgend)
US$218
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Port Charlotte Hotel(Port Charlotte)
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bridgend Hotel(Bridgend)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
74
7
2
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
7
2
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunity gardenlovely chinamanagement teamtalented chefnew ownersunforgettable experiencebar loungelots of varietydining roomslocal whiskiesalready planning our next visitbiggin hillfabulous afternoon teapublic roomsscallop starterlovely hotelstayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 88 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

We couldn't have been happier with Islay House. We stayed here for a few nights around our elopement in the spring and everything was absolutely perfect. The rooms are beautiful and our bathroom was majestic. Heated floors and beautifully decorated. The whole house is full of beauty and charm. It is set on a lovely piece of property with a great view! Breakfast was delicious, standard Scottish breakfasts for us every day. Dinner was so delicious and we felt like we practically had the place to ourselves. This is one of the few Scottish Malt Whisky Society partner bars so their bartenders know a lot about whisky and their stock is unparalleled.

Calum was amazing and took care of us for our short time with him. He made sure the groom was comfortable and relaxed while the bride was getting fussed over. He was always up for the challenge of finding us a whisky that we would enjoy, that we had never had before, that was difficult or impossible to find back home, and that paired well with whatever we were eating or doing at the time. He was so nice and welcoming with advice on things to do or see. He even was genuinely interested and excited about our elopement. We did some pictures there on the day of the ceremony and he was on hand to wish us well before we headed out for our big day. We couldn't have asked for a better person to take care of us during our stay! He will be the reason we recommend Islay House to others and the reason we stay here when we return.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2018

We loved our stay here - an extravagant treat to ourselves as we needed a break. It was not cheap, but it was well worth it. It didn't feel like a hotel, more like staying in someone's very nice house. Staff were friendly and helpful, and our room was lovely with a bed so comfy I have tried to source the same one since getting home. Islay House is still in the redevelopment stage, and I do hope there is no temptation to 'over develop' it. There was a lovely simplicity to the decor - calm elegance, with not a tartan carpet in sight. Local staff were lovely - informal and friendly.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Anna096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018

An exquisite place. You will feel like royalty. Very, beautifully preserved property. The bathroom was absolutely STUNNING! great shower, lots of water. Great breakfast, fresh food and lots of variety. The restaurant is exquisite, very quiet and classy.

Room Tip: Best views!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyMalbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2018

This property is truly stunning. It's recently remodeled from a 1677 building, and they have done a beautiful job. The rooms, common areas, and bar are well done. From the furnishings to the detailing, it's something to see. There is more remodeling/expansion going on (we couldn't see or hear it, but we learned about it from the staff), so expect more great things to come. The bedrooms and bathrooms are GORGEOUS! It wasn't very busy, and at times we didn't see any other guests or staff. The staff we interacted with were helpful and kind. We ate breakfast and dinner there and enjoyed the food, but service was very slow. The bartenders were a lot of fun and very knowledgeable. The ambiance here is not to be missed. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jessaccast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for two glorious sunny days in June 2018. Although Islay House is still in its soft open, and thus there are a few kinks to work out in terms of food service, This place has tremendous potential. The refurbishment has been exquisite, and the setting is tranquil and relaxing. The food was excellent, but as one reviewer noted, the staff is still learning the ropes.

Islay House is a great base for a scotch tour or a setting for a relaxing, romantic time in Scotland.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank CamboIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews