We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and so welcoming”
Review of Glangrwyney Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glangrwyney Court
Ranked #2 of 2 Glangrwyney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This sumptuous home is a real treat. We were made to feel most welcome and enjoyed the fine surroundings of the house. The guest rooms are very well appointed and we had a fantastic nights sleep on the most comfortable beds imaginable. The breakfast was tasty and made with locally-sourced ingredients. The host and team are most welcoming to this beautiful family home.

Room Tip: We stayed in the master bedroom - very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterAndDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2012

Last minute decision to take a couple of nights away and we found this super place just by driving near the Brecon Beacons. We had our labrador with us and were offered the Garden Cottage as pets are not allowed in the bedrooms in the house. We had a brilliant stay! The garden cottage was really cosy and the bed was one of the comiest we have ever found in a hotel. Lovely views over the gardens and black mountains and a huge brekfast to send us on our day walking. Friendly staff and owners made our short break seem like a luxury holiday. We will return in the Summer to stay in the farm cottage with my parents we loved it so much.

Room Tip: fantastic cottages with option of self catering or b&b
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We booked this a an overnight break via another website. Please, if you do book via a third party website ensure that ring and check to see what room you are given. We were given a 'luxury self catering cottage' in the garden down the end of a very poorly lit path, we actually booked a kingsize double room (which lead us to believe that it was in the main house). Whilst the garden cottage would have cost us more, and could have been passed off as an upgrade, it did cause a bit of difficulty between us as a couple. We considered leaving as we rather felt that we had been pushed out of the main house into the garden. We did not challenge this as the lady who showed us to the garden cottage made it clear that there was nohing else available and that the manager was not present. The food at breakfast was OK, questionable bacon, but being pestered by an overweight fluffy cat jumping up at you whilst you were eating was unacceptable - especially from a venue that does not welcome pets. My husband and I will not be returning and I certainly wouldn't recommend this place to anyone - unless you are personal friends of the owners, in which case everything seems to be rosey.

Room Tip: Choose Somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1Bagpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

on my stay at glangrwney court, what a extremely pleasant break, wonderful people, very clean, comfortable, excellent food, and delightful hosts.Thank you chris and warwick. and see you again soon

Room Tip: what i seen all looked excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terence g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This is an OK place to stay, reasonably priced, our room was very large, breakfast good. However the whole experience was ruined by checkout. I paid cash, checked it out of my wallet, counted it out to the girl who marked our receipt paid and we were on our way. As we were driving out another girl came racing down the drive after us to say we had shortchanged them by £10. I told her that the other girl had counted it out but she just stood there saying it was £10 short. All rather embarrassing so I gave her the tenner. Spoke to owner on phone later, as I always do before I post a negative review, and she was dismissive, obviously I cannot count (This to the owner of a business that takes many £'000s per week cash who counts and banks it all). The moral of this story is 'Don't pay cash here' use a method that you can prove you have paid in full.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank winters_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed in the Toile room on the second floor of the house. It's a beautiful big property with lots of character and history. It was the perfect balance of homely B+B and hotel; we didn't feel like we were intruding in someone's home as you can feel in smaller B+Bs, the service was very personal and friendly but unobtrusive.

The property has a lovely living room with fire, and an honesty bar. The room itself was lovely, with great views of the countryside. It was warm, cosy and came with everything we needed. Very comfy and large beds. Breakfast (essential in reviewing a B+B!) was great, with ample choice and a taken in a beautiful breakfast room.

Great base from which to explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hfhtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed for a weekend in the Garden Cottage, which was incredibly peaceful and a lovely space for two people, separate from the main property and fully equipped for self-catering if required. (Breakfast in the house was also available if we wished, but we chose not to.) There's also a lounge and honesty bar in the main house, which is a nice touch. Everything is carefully furnished and well kept, although possibly slightly too fussy for some people's tastes. The owners were friendly and helpful and the whole place feels welcoming. We booked directly rather than online and found the rates were much more reasonable, maybe because it was quite last minute. Good walking and dining nearby (can recommend the Bear at Crickhowell) and we'd happily go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate24_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glangrwyney
4.1 km away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
620 reviews
3.6 km away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
6.2 km away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
985 reviews
7.9 km away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
534 reviews
0.3 km away
White Hall Bed & Breakfast
White Hall Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Glangrwyney
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glangrwyney Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glangrwyney Court

Address: Glangrwyney, Brecon Beacons National Park NP8 1ES, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Glangrwyney
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Glangrwyney
Price Range: $173 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glangrwyney Court 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Glangrwyney Court Hotel Glangrwyney
Glangrwyney Court Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing