We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
156
40
18
18
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
40
18
18
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open fire the pub fish pie local produce apple juice fantastic food copper bath friends wedding full english breakfast was included cooked to perfection classic fm beautiful room kent countryside pudding cooked breakfast member of staff
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 236 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

A gem in the heart of the Kentish countryside !
I have met friends here for supper on several occasions and never been disappointed !
The food is fantastic and the service brilliant. Am considering staying over next time - the accommodation looks great !

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank 288jools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

In the countryside. Very cozy atmosphere. Nice hospitable waiters. The food made of local produce was simply magic. We were three and had spring lamb. Wine was excellent. Will certainly stop there at the earliest opportunity.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Lucgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2018

We are a couple who live only a few miles away from the Five Bells - we have been to stay overnight several times and have never been disappointed - the rooms are amazing, quirky, beautifully furnished and immaculately cleaned - great big baths in the middle of the room, toiletries, fire place that is always lit no matter what time of year. We looked outside to the gorgeous view of the downs in sunlight, from our window and a fire at the same time. The difference this time, is the service. Of late, we have been for dinner and been very disappointed. So we have not been for a while. However 'Elio,) who seems to run everything, is amazing - his service on a very busy Saturday night was incredible, as was his service at breakfast. Scrambled eggs were not on the menu but he organised. Big thank to you Elio for changing our minds . Good service should always be acknowledged.

On a last note - there are no tea and coffee making facilities which is unusual but important to most discerning travellers. We were told it was because of 'Health and Safety' _ don't understand as you can have an open fire but not a kettle.Come on Five Bells- get a pod machine - first class accommodation warrants it

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 770sueg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2018

Stayed here overnight as we had visited the Secret Gardens close by. Our friends knew the owner who popped in and had a long chat. The venue is used for classic car meets. The rooms are slightly quirky but perfectly ok. The food in the pub and breakfast were also very good.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank karenandkevin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Stayed here for a couple of nights with a friends wedding party and it was really very good start to finish. Large party catered for on night one with no issues or pre ordering and the service was just excellent and put everyone at ease. Got to the room and something really different, spacious, really comfortable bed, copper bath and great touches like books and an old school radio. My only one criticism is I would have preferred my breakfast severed on a plate and not in a cast iron saucepan which I thought was all a bit style over substance, but really clutching at straws! The whole place is something different done really well.

Room Tip: It's all good!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lanson1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews