We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Cabezas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Museo Judith Kain
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Super cosy place with lovely rooms and comfortable beds. Friendly staff, shower in my room had screens all around so it felt as though you were outside. Informative museum all around the hotel. Traditional Nicaraguan food. Only downsides were the doors were hard to unlock and the wifi didn't work but those things are insignificant compared to the positives. Love this place and hope to return!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2016

We stayed here for almost five weeks as part of a research/study program, and I cannot say enough about how kind the people who work here are, and how much I appreciated their help throughout our trip. There's a very cool library in the back part of the property as well - this place is committed to conserving culture as well as providing a comfortable place to stay, which I appreciate. Also, I got used to having nice, big breakfasts every day - it's going to be an adjustment now that I'm back fending for myself in the US. I would definitely stay here again (making sure to get a room with A/C).

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

casa museo has come a long way throughout the years. it started as a small hotel created in a historical house of a prominent local family. Now it has numerous out buildings with nice rooms overlooking the beautiful tropical gardens. Recently the main lobby was renovated to bring the open air dining area to the front of the establishment. The museum fill the house with cultural artifacts from the coast and pacific Nicaragua. It is definitely worth a look.They have a gift shop with a variety of nice items that you can't find anywhere else such as Caribbean Coast tshirts and better examples of local crafts such as Tunu. Sometimes the high wall and location in a residential neighborhood make it so the air is very still Which means that it can be hot and at times have have bugs. Because of this reason I feel that a room overlooking the ocean at Liwa Mairin is oftentimes a better choice

Room Tip: Get air conditioning because the hotel often times lacks a breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventurenica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

Considering the general low quality of hotels in this region, Cash Museo offers good comfort at very reasonable rate. Rooms are spacious and clean. Shower has heater for those not needing to chill down. WiFi works well. Breakfast is included and was ok with egg and fruit. All in all we h enjoyed the stay. My favorit place was a rocking chair on the terrace.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank PerAxell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2014

a great place filled of history and art, great rooms embedded in a tropical garden… do not miss the opportunity of sleeping in a Museum, in the capital of the north caribbean coast. The service is outstanding and do not miss the opportunity to talk to the manager about the recent history of the city.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugenio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Unusual lodgings, unusual place. This was a large family home, now a museum / storage space for memorabilia and guest house. Rooms are large, as are bathrooms; both TV and Internet are fine. There are tables and chairs to sit at out of doors, on porches. Breakfast and other meals can be ordered, likely a good idea in order to avoid food poisoning (which I experienced, briefly). It's a fine place for receiving visitors, for learning about RAAN, for use as a home base. I'd have loved to meet the owner!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laurie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This is a very interesting, convenient and comfortable hotel. Do not expect modern. Had an ensuite shower - there's no hot water, not even plumbing for hot water – but you don't really need it.
Lovely garden atmosphere to make up for the lack of views. Meals available al fresco. But it's very convenient to the airport. It's an old wooden building with lots of character and artefacts. Well worth the visit and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indianajol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Casa Museo Judith Kain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Museo Judith Kain

Address: Barrio Aeropuerto | de Radio Caribe 1 1/2 cuadras al oeste - Bilwi, Puerto Cabezas, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Northern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Puerto Cabezas
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Cabezas
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing