We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Five Gals in Tuscany”
other travellers have booked this property
The Villa Rosa Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Villa Rosa Garden
The Cottage Bedroom with attached Bath The Rose Garden and Birdbath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
The Villa Rosa Garden
The Cottage Bedroom with attached Bath
The Rose Garden and Birdbath
The Cottage Kitchen
The Serenity Path
The Cottage Dining area and Loft Stairs
The Cottage Sitting Area and Patio Entrance
A view of Sant'Andrea di CompitoVillage
Spring in the Garden
Part of the Villa Gardens
Cottage Cutting Garden
Summer Flower Display
Springtime on the dining patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sant'Andrea di Compito, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NMLady_De...
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Five Gals in Tuscany”
Reviewed 11 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Il Rifugio is an Italian experience in a country house with lovely gardens within a world of its own. Four of my "Gal Pals" and I arrived with great expectations and were not to be disappointed. Everything positive written here is the way we found it to be. We occupied the whole main house and the owners Bill & John were located in the nearby guest house. They treated us to a fresh breakfast each morning and offered suggestions and an opinion on that days activity. Not only is it a lovely spot but a great central location for area sightseeing. We visited Lucca and biked the wall twice, Cinque Terre, Pisa, local wine tasting and a visit to a lovely historic villa. That was in just four days. Our wish was that we could have stayed at least one more day to just enjoy the villa and village. For dining, we enjoyed the two local spots in the village that we were able to walk. Our thanks go out to Bill and John for making this a special holiday and sharing their beautiful spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The experience
Liked least: Can't think of a thing.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: being british - no tea pot!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The village and its surroundings which were quiet and unspoilt
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TimFairhu...
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Practically perfect - unwind relax explore”
Reviewed 24 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a week at Il Rifugio which was one of the most relaxing breaks ever. Staying in the little cottage was a real treat and allowed us to have a taste of "real Italy" we described it like going back in time. The village is so pretty and peaceful and the cottage perfect for 2. We enjoyed our breakfasts on the enclosed patio which offerred complete privacy. This was the perfect base for exploring by car ( essential) and Lucca train station was no more than a 20 min drive. We visited Lucca, Florence and South Tuscany easily. Returning to our little haven was a joy at the end of the day. There are basic cooking facilities but mostly we enjoyed walking 5 minutes up the gentle hill to "Tre Tigli" restaraunt to eat amongst the locals. The food was fantastic, very reasonably priced and the views magnificent. What really made this break special was the hospitality offerred by our hosts Bill and John who were happy to share their beautiful gardens to relax in and even home grown produce! Bill offerred lots of tips of places to visit and if needed he supplied train times or directions. It really felt like being welcomed home at the end of they day. Our lasting impressions include beautiful views, smells of roses and jasmine, the sound of silence broken only by the church bell or chatter of occassional locals wandering by and our first experience of fireflys lighting up the garden at night - quite magical.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, freedom and privacy offerred by the cottage
Liked least: The only thing missing were a couple of loungers to relax in the garden
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
And0rran
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
1 review
“wow!!”
Reviewed 13 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

This is the perfect retreat for anyone wanting peace and quiet or as an ideal base from which to explore the surrounding area of Lucca. Our host, Bill, was a font of local knowledge, able to answer all of our questions and offer excellent advice. Always helpful, charming and welcoming but never imposing.
The self contained accommodation was exceptional; well equipped to the highest specification and spotlessly clean. The bed alone was one of the most comfortable I have slept in anywhere in the world! For those unable to leave the outside world behind them, the cottage is equipped with wi-fi and satellite tv. The whole village is peaceful and picturesque and the gardens in front of the accommodation are spectacular. There is also a wonderful little pizza restaurant in the village if you don't feel like cooking after a hard day's sight seeing.
I have no hesitation in recommending this cottage to anyone. My only proviso would be: book for as long as you can because you won't want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Could not find fault
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Reviewed 6 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and in the countryside,
Liked least: Can't think of anything...
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. Private terrace. Style of property
Liked least: Nothing negative
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$117
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing