We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best short break ever!”
Review of Hall Hills

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hall Hills
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best short break ever!”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My boyfriend took me to Hall Hills to celebrate my 30th birthday this July. I was thrilled from the start. The surroundings were incredibly beautiful and we were close to all the places we wanted to visit- the lakes, Hadrian's Wall and Carlisle. We were met by Jude, who welcomed us and and showed us around The Folly. The apartment was furnished to a high standard and was spotlessly clean. The decor was modern, stylish and comfortable. Jude's recommendations for local sights/eateries were spot on and the meal we had in a local pub The Plough Inn was fantastic. The trip was made even more special on the last evening when my boyfriend and I sat on our balcony under a gorgeous sunset and he asked me to marry him. It couldn't have been more perfectly romantic. I just had to say yes!
I can't recommend Hall Hills enough. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emzy0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

My partner and I just had our daughter and needed somewhere to escape to without anyone knowing where we were. What a choice. Only 10 minutes from Carlisle, 5 minutes from the local village and exactly what we wanted. The welcome pack was ideal and we adored the local cheese that Jude had included in it. The properties themselves are beautiful and well equipped and the owner, Jude, was very friendly and helpful. It's our plan to go back with more of the family because of the variety of properties available. Thanks Jude.

Room Tip: Talk to Jude
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolAlfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badlands99
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

If you are looking for a relaxing, quiet place to stay in Cumbria ........ then look no further than Hall Hills!
I am always nervous of returning to a place that you have enjoyed so much on the first occasion, as normally the second time never lives up to expectations........ Not with Jude & Tim at Hall Hills. Having stayed for the first time last year, I returned in June this year looking for the same relaxing atmosphere that I had experienced a year ago. I was not to be disappointed ...... if possible, it was even better!
From the warm welcome from Jude, (despite the very late arrival due to bank holiday traffic on the M6), to the local goodies in the apartment on arrival and to the quiet and calm that this part of Cumbria generates, it really couldn't have been better in any way.
The apartment was first class, decorated to the highest standard and equiped with everything that you could possible need or want for a week's stay ......... some other places could learn a lot from this.
The location is just north of the National Park and this means that you are away from all the noise and traffic congestion and general hustle and bustle that the Southern Lakes brings. A short drive through the stunning Mungrisedale area will get you to the Northern Lakes of Ulswater and Haweswater which has some of the most stunning scenery possible and also the least crowded fells if enjoy walking. Keswick is also only a short drive away if you want shops.
Local shops are however plentiful, with the village of Dalston being just a short drive away for all the day to day provisions and various local pubs and resturaunts within an easy drive.
I really cannot praise Hall Hills highly enough ........ if it is a quiet, relaxing break, away from the usual Lakes crowds, but in a high quality enviroment where the owners are there if you need any help or advice but leave you to enjoy your holiday if you don't, then you cannot get any better than Hall Hills

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badlands99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Lovely place to stay. We were only at The Folly for a long weekend unfortunately...wish it was longer. Great views, warm welcome and extremely comfortable apartment. Easy drive into the Lakes and also up to Hadrians Wall. Definitely would reccommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katiew00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Stayed for 5 nights at beginning of May whilst visiting the Lakes.

Received a warm welcome from Jude & Tim and loved the countryside setting and views.

The accommodation 'tethera' was furnished to a high standard and equipped with everything you could wish for and more. The integrated sound system was a great feature.

Overall fantastic peaceful location and outstanding accommodation we cant wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Covlad26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We wanted to have a few days in a relaxing environment away from home. We are in our thirties and wished to find something other than a twee country cottage. The excellent website showed a contemporary studio in a converted barn and we were not disappointed. Our welcome by Jude was friendly and warm. The weather was not.

We were shown into the studio of the web image,The Folly. Wow...In a hotel or B+B, poor weather confines you but it was no hardship to be indoors. A beautifully converted and restored building with contemporary fittings and furnishing with a theme throughout. A sound system from the media centre that played throughout the flat or individual rooms from DVD or our own iPod. Views from the balcony of calm countryside in near seclusion. And what a shower. An extensive collection of DVDs and games prevented any cabin fever taking hold. Use of wi-fi broadband was invaluable to my husband.

A very clean and well equiped kitchen with a lovely welcome pack of essentials of which the flapjacks were only fleetingly present and the local cheese and chutney did not last much longer.

Quite telling for the stay you will have is the desire of the host to have feedback. When a service provider cares to such an extent it is clear that all the stops have been pulled out.
We had a truely lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tartan_toothfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maximusmay05
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We looked for self catering accommodation as we have a 3month old baby. While there are many self catering options in the Lake DIstrict, none was as well appointed nor inviting as Hall Hills.

The owners are particularly friendly and have produced some excellent accommodation. We were pleasantly surprised to find a selection of breakfast ingredients waiting for us and all from local producers.

A travel cot, changing mat, nappy bin and age appropriate toys were all provided for us in the room, without asking. In fact, my daughter was so excited by one of they toys, we had to go out and buy it for her!

While Hall Hills is not in the heart of the Lakes District, it is an easy drive to all the lakes tourist attractions and the seclusion is a nice aspect of the location. I suspect this is especially true during the hectic summer season.

I would highly recommend Hall Hills to a range of travellers from couples to family, a romantic getaway to a family holiday. And for those that can't do without internet access, that is provided free of charge too. The accommodation is perfect for a weekend away with friends as it has individual rooms or if you prefer individual apartments.

We have already recommended Hall Hills to all our friends. You really have to go to see just how beautiful and relaxing it is.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hall Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hall Hills

Property: Hall Hills
Address: Hall Hills Raughton Head, Dalston, Carlisle CA5 7AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Dalston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Dalston
Hotel Class:4 star — Hall Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hall Hills is a cluster of 5 4-star and 5-star self-catering cottages that have been given a gold award by Visit Britain. They offer luxurious self-catering in a lovely part of Cumbria close to the Lake District and not far from Carlisle. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing