We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
If you love the countryside, walks and cycling trails then this is the gite for you
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
If you love the countryside, walks and cycling trails then this is the gite for you
Gite Martinet  - A luxurious and spacious gite for 2 Gite Martinet Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
If you love the countryside, walks and cycling trails then this is the gite for you
Gite Martinet  - A luxurious and spacious gite for 2
Gite Martinet Dining area
Gite Martinet has two living spaces - this is great for reading and your wifi connection
Gite Martinet - View from the mezzanine ensuite bedroom
Gite Martinet Ensuite Bedroom - King size bed with 100% Egyptian Cotton bedlinen
Gite Martinet Ensuite bedroom - Large double bedroom
Gite Martinet - all bedlinen, towels and robes are provided for you
Gite Martinet - shower room
Gite Martinet - shower room
Gite Martinet - one of many terraces for you to enjoy in the 7000sqm garden
Why not relax near the walnut tree?
Or maybe pick some peaches and bake a tarte tatin in the fully fitted kitchen?
Private drive leading to your gite
Watch the sunset
Only 5 kms away is the beautiful village of Lautrec famous for its pink garlic
Lautrec Village has amenities such as bank, restaurant, bakers, small supermarket, cafes, pizza, etc
Castres by night - 10 kms away
Carcassonne is a lovely day out just over an hour's drive away
Lac des Montagnes, near Mazamet is only 45 minutes away
Albi is home to the largest brick built cathedral and a collection of Toulouse Lautrec's art wo
Tom and Sheda your hosts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lautrec, Tarn, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Peggyalb
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed in Sheda and Tom's wonderful Gite in October. The location was ideal--out in the country, but with easy access to the town of Lautrec and other small towns. We thoroughly enjoyed wandering through the countryside as well as visiting Albi and the Toulouse de Lautrec Museum, which was well worth the time. Tom and Sheda's gite was beautifully furnished, extremely clean and very cozy. They had a fire going for us and a bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived. My husband also thoroughly enjoyed Sheda's great neck massage. Tom and Sheda are lovely people and we greatly enjoyed their company as well. I would HIGHLY recommend a stay in their lovely give.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gite was beautifully furnished and equipped, as well as convenient.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
877Michae...
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Peace & Comfort”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We rent the Gite for one week to relax and to get some distance from the big and stressful city Berlin. The peace and calmness was great and we very much enjoyed the sunset on the terrace. The Gite is well located between Lautrec and Castres with nice French markets and all the necessary shopping facilities around. On our arrival we found a nice starter package and the hospitality of Sheda and Tom during our stay was impressing without invading our privacy. We really can recommend this Gite for your vacation in South France!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the hospitality
Liked least: To leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schubbekutteveen
Reviewed August 12, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very relaxing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney
Reviewed July 9, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fire in the evening
Liked least: Could have used a bit more cutlery?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Houston, Texas
Reviewed July 1, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts made it a really lovely time for us
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sue64_13
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A delightful experience”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We had a delightful stay in this lovely gite in the South Tarn countryside. We found the owners Tom and Sheda to be very helpful and friendly, welcoming us with a ‘starter pack’, providing great advice about things to do and see in the area and showing us many other thoughtful kindnesses.
Gite Martinet is on 3 levels and is very spacious and comfortable, very well fitted out and tastefully furnished in an unfussy and authentic country style. The weather was quite varied during our stay and we were comfortable in all weathers. We really appreciated the extra facilities of free wi-fi that worked well and a washing machine. Gite Martinet opens to a courtyard for meals outside and residents also have access to Tom and Sheda’s beautiful garden, including any ripe fruit or nuts - for us this was delicious cherries.
From the property there are good country walks and birds, red squirrels, deer and hares to be observed. By car you can explore the delights of the nearby area - for us this included Lautrec, Castres, Albi and further afield, the Montagne Noire, Carcassonne and Toulouse. We found the the Toulouse Lautrec Museum at Albi to be exceptional.
Sheda is a qualified masseuse and we booked in for a massage - another delightful treat during our stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and comfortable gite with very helpful owners
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing