We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Value Right on the Ocean”
Reef protected 600 ft of sandy beach fronting building
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Reef protected 600 ft of sandy beach fronting building
Quite beach fronting building Sunrise from apartment 707
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Reef protected 600 ft of sandy beach fronting building
Quite beach fronting building
Sunrise from apartment 707
View from 707 of Ocean
Panoramic view of living area from entry
Panoramic view of living area from lanai
Double bed in alcove
Queen bed in living area
Remodeled bathroom with tub.
Bath vanity with washer/dryer in background
Kitchen with entry to right
Entrance to apartment
Koolau Mountain range  view from entry
Punaluu from Koolau Mountain Ridge
Pool
Fresh water pool
Fitness Room
Fitness Room
Punaluu Sunrise
Punaluu Moonrise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Punaluu, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Greg K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Value Right on the Ocean”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I enjoyed our stay in Apartment 707 and would come back again without hesitation. In my opinion, the accommodations were an excellent value for the price. The unit is on the 7th floor overlooking the ocean and with the sliding door open you can hear the soothing sound of the tide ebbing and flowing beneath your window and enjoy the trade winds blowing. During our stay last week of July, the Island was experiencing record heat and the Trade Winds did not blow the first 2 nights of the trip. This weather was unusual and not optimal for staying in a unit that does not include air conditioning. Having said that, ceiling fans are included in each room and stand up fans are also included. With the fans we still slept comfortably, in spite of the record heat and the trade winds taking a break! Therefore, I found this condo to be very comfortable and enjoyed a good night sleep on the queen bed the owner indicated was recently added to upgrade the futon; that was there previously.
Yes, much has been said in prior posts about the sewer smell in the parking lot but we did NOT experience it on the 7th floor in the condo ever during our stay. Only did we smell it briefly when we went downstairs to the parking area to pick up our car. No big deal.
The elevator only was out of service 1 time briefly during our week long stay. Easy access to the ocean, literally steps away from the Condo. We enjoyed evening and morning walks on the ocean with the easy access.
We did not hear the neighbors on either side the entire week we were there, and people were very friendly walking around the complex and on condo beach.
The owner provides very easy to understand instructions for obtaining the key, condo operation and the directions were very easy to follow.
I would refer unit 707 to my family and friends without hesitation and am looking forward to my next visit to beautiful Punalu'u and the North Shore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to the Ocean
Liked least: No air conditioning in the unit (however, it appeared that very few units had air)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2016
Aloha, We are so glad you enjpyed your stay at our special place Apartment 707 in the Pats at Punaluu Condo. I appreciate the great details you gave about the area and the friendly people at Pats. We hope you will visit us again....sorry about the heat spell we had when you were here...as a rule we have gentle tradewinds blowing all the time. Mahalo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeahG650
Redwood City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you could need for a vacation!”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great time at this place; the apartment was well-stocked with many conveniences that we appreciated- beach towels and toys, laundry, DVDs. Beautiful location convenient to the North Shore and other destinations. Other residents/guests were quiet. I'm so glad we opted to not stay in Waikiki and to enjoy this quieter part of the island. Jeannette is a great host who made sure that we had everything we needed. She was easy to work with, easy to get in touch with, and I would definitely stay here again if our travels brought us to Oahu.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
Aloha, We are so glad your family enjoyed our special place Apartment 707 in the Pats at Punaluu Condo. We try to have everything for our guests comfort, so they an enjoy the visit. We agreed it is nice being on the beach with the north shore nearby. We do hope you will visit us again. Mahalo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabriella...
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The Best View”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment is located right on a quiet beach. The view is spectacular. We love this part of the island because it's not as overrun by tourists. No air conditioning needed as there is always a breeze. The apartment is a little old and would definitely benefit from some sprucing up and new mattresses.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
Aloha, We are so glad you enjoyed your lengthy stay in our Apartment 707. I love that you verified no air-conditioning is needed with the gentle trade winds always blowing. I agreed the view is spectacular and the beach is quiet and enjoyable. We hope you will visit us again. Mahalo, Jeanette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachWiza...
California
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“All the Beauty Without the Crowds”
Reviewed April 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

If you want a great ocean view without the hassle of hundreds of people this place is for you. We chose to stay here because:
1. Price
2. Full kitchen
3. Fabulous view
4. Close to, but not in the busy tourist areas.
Those are the reasons we chose to stay here. But, we appreciated our choice more and more with each passing day. If we chose not to cook, we could walk to two food trucks. One serves shrimp. The other, Thai. There is also a very small market that has the basic necessities and also cooks up short order food to take out.

The major beaches and attractions of the North Shore are 20 to 30 minutes away, depending on traffic. The Mormon Polynesian Cultural Center is 5 miles away and a 10 minute drive.

One thing could be improved in this condo. That is the futon in the living area of the condo. This is where you want to sleep if you want to go to sleep listening to the surf and wake to sunrise over the ocean. The futon should be replaced with a real queen size bed with a comfortable mattress. The futon isn't real uncomfortable, but it's just so so for sleeping. There is a better bed in the tiny sleeping alcove. The bed may be better than the futon, but you have the noise of the busy highway and of course you don't have the ocean feel in that alcove.

Having said all of that, we would still stay here should we return to Punaluu.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: View and location to other beaches and attractions.
Liked least: Futon
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
Aloha, We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to our Apartment 707 with the awesome views. I liked the way you described the area and the people around you. I appreciate your suggestions. We do hope you will visit us in the future. Mahalo, Jeanette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cdream
Calistoga
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Keep the Country Country...”
Reviewed February 13, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

...yes, even if you're 7 floors up in Pat's at Punaluu, a resort built in the '70s and now condominiums, because it and the building next to it are the only buildings greater than 3 stories for at least 15 miles north or south on Kamehameha Hwy. Consider taking the city/county bus right from the airport instead of renting a car. The speed limit is mostly 35 mph on much of this coast and the bus runs fairly frequently. The residents will appreciate it and you'll be able to gawk at all the beauty without causing an accident. The Bus... http://www.thebus.org/default.asp?f=y&m=main A bus stop right in front of Pat's.

Okay, the basics: 707 was clean, tidy, stocked with kitchen stuff, plenty of linens including beach towels, most everything worked just fine (electronics can go haywire in all the salt air), plenty of hot water for bathing and washing, washing machine (so you don't need to pack many clothes), firm futon frame queen bed in the front/living room with the ocean view, firm double bed in the bedroom alcove, plenty of closet and drawer space, the elevator always worked, the unit is mostly quiet with masonry walls except that the weather is so darn nice we all had our sliding doors open to the lanai/ocean view side so we could hear each other if we weren't quiet...people were pretty quiet and respectful by 8 or 9 in the evening. Yep, it's true that you can smell sewage smells in the parking lot, but not at the 7th floor! There is a 200 ft long septic tank between the parking lot and the highway. My preference is a septic tank instead of sewage running into the ocean where I swim and snorkel. If the smell bothers you don't hang out in the parking lot!

What makes this place wonderful are the gorgeous mesmerizing view of the waves breaking on the reef 100 yds out, the simple quiet beach (in 5 days we didn't ever see more than 10 people on the beach at one time), the astounding view out the front door/balcony of the Koolau Mountains, sunrise and moonrise, the snorkeling gear (available in the unit) and the easy snorkeling right off the beach (my first time and it was not a problem -- water not too deep to get the hang of it), sightings of lots of tropical fish, sea turtles, monk seals, whales spouting and cavorting (bring your binoculars 'cause the whales are at least 200 yds away beyond the reef), Kaya's grocery, Two Bald Guys snack bar, and the Thai Food Express truck each about 100 yds from Pat's, Ching's grocery and the Shrimp Shack food truck about a mile down the road, walks along the beach. These all make for a wonderful peaceful easy country-style vacation.

If you're there long enough you might make friends with other visitors or residents and have a barbeque with them right on the grounds at Pat's. Or you can hop on the bus and head up to the Polynesian Cultural Center or on to the big wave action on the north north coast at Hale'iwa or just check this link: http://www.surf-oahu.com/ It'll show you where the big crowds are likely to be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting and low key style.
Liked least: We didn't stay long enough!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2015
Aloha, What a beautiful description of our special place Apartment 707 at the Pats at Punaluu Condo. We agreed the area has awesome views of both the ocean and mountains and the people are so friendly. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please return soon. Mahalo, Bob and Jeanette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location to the beach and other Oahu locations.
Liked least: No air conditioning! No dish washer!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Nov 2014
Aloha, We are so glad you enjoyed our little piece of paradise. We agreed the view and sounds from the lanai overlooking the ocean are unbeatable. So calming, especially at night. We do hope you will visit us again. Mahalo, Jeanette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Justmeglo...
Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Everything you need for a fantastic beach vacation!”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We travel to Oahu frequently because my daughter lives in Honolulu. She had a baby and I was there for over a month. For the first three weeks, I stayed with my daughter, but when my husband joined me, we wanted to stay away from the hustle and bustle of Honolulu. Being that my daughter used to live in Kaaawa, we were very familiar with Punaluu and knew it is where we wanted to stay. In our opinion, the windward side is the most beautiful side of the island and the preferred side, although it is difficult to find good accommodations. Well, not anymore! We loved staying in 707. Jeanette was so easy to work with. I sent her the full amount, because I booked at short notice, and she immediately emailed me with everything I needed to know. I was a little uneasy at first about not having a contract, but after speaking with her on the phone, she put me completely at ease. Checkin was a breeze and her instructions were thorough and complete. The condo was clean and exactly as pictured on the site and described in other reviews. Although the furnishings are a little outdated, it is very comfortable, has anything and everything you would need, and is all you need for a beach vacation. I especially liked having a washer and dryer for suits and towels. The bathroom is updated with wonderful water pressure and a great shower and the whole place has great storage space for clothes, etc. There are beach chairs, towels, snorkel gear, beach toys, etc. There are plenty of utensils, pots, pans, etc. in the kitchen. We did not want for anything. It was all there. They have really thought of everything and it is like home away from home, as far as all the essentials. Falling asleep to the sound of the waves and waking up to that beautiful sunrise was so relaxing. If you have never been to Oahu, this is not near Waikiki, but it IS close to the North Shore, Polynesian Center, Kualoa Ranch, the Macademia Nut Farm and LOTS of beautiful beaches, including the one the condo sits on. It is quiet and serene on this side of the island. A few other reviews noted a sewage smell. You can smell it every once in a while when you walk up to the condos, but vary rarely inside and frankly, for someone to complain about something so small, when you have a view like that, well, they would probably complain about anything. We loved our stay and would recommend it to anyone. Thank you to Jeanette for making our booking so enjoyable. Mahalo!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
Mahalo for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your time in our Apartment 707 with the awesome views of the ocean. I agree it is so relaxing and rejuvinating. We hope you will visit us again. Aloha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing