We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
163
130
54
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
130
54
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver viewseafoodbarrel barsri lankarelaxed holidaymini barnice swimming poolhope to visit againsea bathingbooked roomsstayed two nightsmain bareast coasta lovely staythank you very muchrooms are spacioushouse keeping
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 375 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2018

We recommend this hotel. The main reason is absolute peace, the beach only with a minimum of persons and the hotel staff very willing.There is nothing we can complain about. Especially Sanjan Pilapitiya, a hotel staff, was very helpful to us.The hotel has a huge clean swimming pool and a very friendly atmosphere. Those who long for peace and quiet can find it here. The beach is the most beautiful on Sri Lanka. We were so pleased that we would choose this hotel again when visiting Sri Lanka in next time.

Room Tip: We recommend room with sea view, on the right side
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank dagmarsedlackova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipuni S, Manager at Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and that you were fully satisfied with our services.

It is very encouraging for me and my team to receive positive feedback like these from our valued guests.

We will be delighted to welcome you back in our hotel, shall your plans bring you to Passikudah again in the future.

Yours Sincerely, Roshanth Relvaraj, General Manager, Amethyst Resort, Passikudah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2018

Came to Amethyst Resort to celebrate my daughter's 5th birthday. A very memorable experience, the staff are very friendly and helpful, food is good, rooms are awesome, and the beach and sea is wonderful.
The kids really enjoyed their stay, especially the sea bathing and the pool.
There weren't many guests while we were there, but still for all the meals were very good. A lot of seafood :)
Will definitely love to go there again.
Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: If possible get a sea view room, although the Lake view ones are not too bad either
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A-SriLankan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipuni S, Manager at Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property on TripAdvisor and please note that your comments are very much valued.

It is our pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the stay especially the friendly service.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to us!

Yours Sincerely, Roshanth Selvaraj, Resident Manager, Amethyst Resort, Passikudah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

Simply the best resort . Food was nice , staff were friendly and courteous. Enjoyed the stay . Worth it
Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.
Thank you very much for Mr. Sanjan for excellent service offered at the restaurant.

Stayed: February 2018
2  Thank Thushara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipuni S, Manager at Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property on TripAdvisor and please note that your comments are very much valued.

It is our pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the stay especially the friendly service.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to us!

Yours Sincerely, Roshanth Selvaraj, Resident Manager, Amethyst Resort, Passikudah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2018

The resort gave a feeling of a low budget hotel, did'nt give a class feel. The F&B Manager at the dining hall was discourteous in the way we were conveyed about their timings. At the front desk at the time of our checking out we were shocked to know that our credit card details shared at the time of booking was already swiped & charged on the day of our arrival without our consent.Usually the credit card swipe is for security purpose & is used at the checkout time with the visitors consent.Bad experience. We have travelled across the globe but this checkout shock was difficult to digest & their manager was of no help.Very Unprofessional attitude

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms looked good
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vandana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipuni S, Manager at Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

We really appreciate your valuable feedback followed by your visit to Amethyst Resort.

We are saddened to see that you have faced inconveniences due to the payment procedure with a third party booking engine. We wish to kindly inform you that all the booking.com payments are being collected 7 days prior to the arrival, adhering to the contract with them. We truly appreciate your understanding on the same.

Upon check-in, the meal times are being informed to our guests by the front desk staff and our breakfast time is from 07:30 to 10:00 am. Please note that we are not in a position to accommodate breakfast in the main restaurant after 10.30 am due to the fact that the restaurant has to be prepared for lunch. We truly appreciate your kind understanding on this international norm and regret for any inconvenience you had to face.

We are sure that you will pay another visit to us with your family and friends for another relaxing getaway and we are eager to get to know your holiday plans too.

Yours Sincerely, Roshanth Selvaraj, Resident Manager, Amethyst Resort, Passikudah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2017

Located very near to Passikudah beach swimming area. So very easy to get a sea bath and get back to resort. Large swimming pool with two kids pool with two different sizes. Specially, meals are excellent. Good variety to choose. Very tasty. All among the pros, there is one con, in River view rooms, we can hear what happening in neighbor bathroom. Very clearly. Imagine how disgust is that. It is to be rectify.

Room Tip: Go for a beach room, Room 123 AC not good
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nilusha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipuni S, Manager at Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay at our hotel and that you were fully satisfied with our services.

It is very encouraging for me and my team to receive positive feedback like these from our valued guests. We have taken your constructive criticism very positively and will work on that at our earliest.

We will be delighted to welcome you back in our hotel, shall your plans bring you to Passikudah again in the future.

Yours Sincerely, Roshanth Relvaraj, General Manager, Amethyst Resort, Passikudah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews