We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of villa javier

Vista al exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Vista al exterior
Vista al exterior Piscina exterior/comunitaria
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Vista al exterior
Vista al exterior
Piscina exterior/comunitaria
Cocina
Salón
Terraza
Salón
Vista al exterior
Vista al exterior
Dormitorio
Dormitorio
Dormitorio
Dormitorio
Dormitorio
Dormitorio
Dormitorio
Baño
Dormitorio
Pasillo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Sayalonga, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
chris p
hazelbrook
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Villa javea was our first villa stay and ten days here was a pleasure. Such a well appointed house with everything available. The children had a great time in the pool and everything in the house worked

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sianedhjo...
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dirt Bikes at the ready!”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Ok so the family set off in 3 hired vehicles with 'extra special insurance just in case' to a location described as 'hard to find'. It said; meet the owners at the village to pick up the keys and they will show you the way.
Cars and babies in tow slowly lost each other. We the first car, arrived some 7ks away at the foot of the mountain heading up to Sayalonga. After a swift beer at Algorrobo with the locals and a couple of stray dogs up the 5km mountain we went. In a hired bread bin on wheels scaling the mountain in a 1.0 nothing was an event. At one point, on the wrong side of the road hurtling towards a section with no barrier I thought about the stray dogs and wondered would I ever see my beloved english bull terrier Mary ever again? The kids were screaming that we were in the Valley of the Dead Cactus but up and up we climbed, round blind bends, steep climbs, single tracks at some points with no barriers at the side. Some 20 minutes later we sank a beer to recover at the first available pub in the village. Surely we were there? After the others had arrived, shaking and sweating we set off to the gargae opposite to ge the keys and kick off the holiday. When they arrived on dirt bikes, and headed up another mountain without any discernable road signs or even road, I began to cry. This climb is not for the faint hearted, and in a bread bin, it's downright deadly. Death by bread bin - I kid you not. Others in their hired estate lost the clutch, and another the right side of the vehicle. There is no road! It's a single dirt track awash with scree and sheer drops to one side. If you roll. You roll. Goodbye! It's a treacherous climb to say the least but the descent is worse. After getting there we then had to leave immediately to go to the nearby (yes as the crow flies!) Lidl (just by the A7 flyover). This shop took nearly 3 hours as we were in first gear both up and down the track to Sayalonga, and then never above 3rd going to the shops. Fill up BEFORE you get to the villa. The people you left behind with the one bottle of complimentary red, an onion and 5 kids will REALLY thank you!
Leaving the villa takes time and effort and you really need to consider this for shopping etc, and factor the time into your arrival and departure. We left at 7am when it was dark and I nearly passed out with fear on the way. Locals are reckless as they are fearless - used to it. I live in the mountains of north wales and this was beyond anything I have ever walked let alone driven.
The villa itself is lovely, clean and well maintained. Pool area is fab, views of mountains, and more cloud than at sea level so cooler.There are no english TV stations, you cannot plug in an X Box to the TV and there is no Air Con. All things that matter when you have small children and it's 40 degrees outside.
I would not hire again simply because you cannot leave the villa except in a car and the nearest place is Sayalonga, and then you have to travel again down the mountain to go any other place. We love popping to the bar or cafes but there is no way you could walk safely to the village. Also, when the owners arrived to get the keys at 10am they didn't have the 150E deposit on them and some of the others had to meet them later on to get it. Again, if you need to catch your plane not ideal.
On a postive note, we really did enjoy ourseves as we stocked up the car with enough supplies for a couple of days and the local restaurant does home delivery and the food was fantasitc!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pool, sunshine and
Liked least: The shoking drive to the property!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael F
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raschel19...
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Erweitertem Familienkreis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
957france
Deurne, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Dat alles er op en top verzorgd uitzag.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David
Reviewed April 28, 2008
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Davinia
Reviewed September 23, 2007
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing