We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent apartment - great location for...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Apartment Verde

Entrance to Apartment Verde.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to Apartment Verde.
Spacious living room Fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Entrance to Apartment Verde.
Spacious living room
Fully equipped kitchen
Enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner on your private terrace
Bedroom with large double bed
Private stairs to Apartment Verde (Private courtyard of Studio Violetta below)
Our nearest beach
Safe bathing at our nearest beach
Another view of beach
Beach a short drive away
Seasonal balcony plants
Welcome to Salento
Historic Centre of Sogliano Cavour
Porto Cesareo
Celebration night
Santa Maria di Leuca
Local San Lorenzo church at night
Spacious shower room
Gallipoli beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Sogliano Cavour, Province of Lecce, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
awadan
england
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment - great location for exploring The Salento region”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Ray and Kathie have thought of everything to make staying in their lovely apartment extremely comfortable. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blinky42
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great accommodation. Very relaxing. Ideal for touring the area.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for two weeks in the Apartment Verde which is upstairs from Studio Violetta. We had intended to book the studio as there was just the two of us but as there was no-one in Apartment Verde we were offered it at the same price. Apartment is very spacious and comfortable. All modern appliances put in from new (this is a complete renovation, brilliantly done by the host, who is a master-builder, and his wife, of a 300-400 year old house). Located in the very centre of Sogliano Cavour.
Although it was mid September to beginning of October the temperature was mainly 30-35 degs. Even so we didn’t need the air conditioning as the walls are so thick it keeps the temperature down. Nice little balcony outside – lots of pot-plants on low walls -with chairs/sunshade. Also foldaway dryer/airer.
Hosts live in adjoining house, interesting to talk to and are very helpful with any queries and can direct you to places to eat or places of interest to visit. Plenty of information in apartment also.
Very handily situated for visiting surrounding area : equi-distant from east and west coasts with good beaches – our favourite was Baia Verde which was very secluded (take your own drink and eats – no bars) and accessed by parking and walking a short distance (200 metres) though a pine forest.
Interesting old towns/ports abound. We visited Otranto (where the castle had an Andy Warhol exhibition), Gallipoli, Lecce and other smaller towns/villages. Corigliano was close by and has a fine castle, which became a private residence a long while back, where you can eat in a restaurant (although we didn’t). La Puteca restaurant near the castle does the most fantastic seafood risotto (must order the risotto for minimum two persons). They take credit cards, which is handy as lots of restaurants don’t, especially in smaller villages.
Traffic signage is a bit confusing if it’s your first time in Italy (at least in this area). Arrows indicating left or right often mean straight on (but not always!) Maybe it was just us being a bit dense….
Welcome pack of essentials food/drink wise. Also shampoo/soap provided.
All in all we couldn’t fault it and we’re sure you will find it agreeably surprising.
One point - although I have indicated it as suitable for older travellers (we're 70 and 64), there is a steep-ish flight of steps to access the property.
Bob and Chris September/October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome and the friendly locals
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed September 28, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty appartment and central village location
Liked least: Bigger fan needed in bedroom - weather was unseasonably hot 'tho.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay. Great location. Lovely apartment. Nice people.”
Reviewed June 27, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We stayed in Apartment Verde for 5 days or so having travelled over to Puglia from Croatia.

The apartment was excellent, an old restored building with all amenities. For us the location in Sogliano Cavour was perfect as Lecce, Otranto, Gallipoli, and most beaches are about a half-hour drive away. We didn't explore much of Sogliano Cavour itself mainly due to time but the locals that we met were very friendly and an operatic performance in the square was fun. I think it's fair to say that the town is pleasant but not picture postcard pretty.

The hosts Ray and Kathy could not have been more helpful- they are excellent hosts, eager to please and very enthusiastic about the area. They provided some basic provisions (including a bottle of Primotivo), lots of directions, some fruit from their country place, advice where to buy olive oil etc and generally were really friendly people who could not do enough to help.

As a final point, the beaches we liked best were Baia verde on the west coast and Spiaggia del Pescoluse on the south coast. Lecce is also a beautiful place with some excellent architecture.

In summary, I would highly recommend Apartment Verde as a base from which to explore southern Puglia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The service and the finish of the apartment- excellent.
Liked least: Genuinely nothing to add here.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamar1
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay in Sogliano Cavour”
Reviewed May 1, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely stay. Very clean and well equiped apartment, with helpful and friendly hosts Kathy and Ray. They advise well for restaurants, towns to visit, etc and Ray excells in map drawing. The town is small and VERY Italian, not touristy at all, so fun to see the rural Italy lifestyle. 30 miles either direction to the coast and Galipoli and Otranto are well worth a visit. We drove from Otranto to the bottom, or 'lands end', which was a fabulous drive and sights. The town of Galatina, 5 minutes away, was great for the churches, old part of town, food and people watching. The church of Santa Caterina d'Alessandria is a must, with the most amazing frescos I have ever seen. Going to a part of Italy I had never heard of before was worrying at first, but it made me come away wanting to go back to the same place. Would highly reccomend staying here. Worth noting though, a car is a must to make the most of the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the apartment, lovley patio (with sun) and seeing unspoilt Italy
Liked least: Liked all of it. Maybe a bit too much bell ringing, caling us all to church!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ptrcb
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique studio in unspoilt traditional Italian town”
Reviewed April 24, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

The studio is a unique conversion of an ancient Italian outbuilding. The facilities are of a high standard and spotlessly clean and well cared for. The location is ideal for a quiet relaxing holiday. The weather was not kind to us in April but the central heating kept the studio very cosy.
The hosts went out of their way to cater to our every need and were very welcoming without being intrusive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely unspopilt countryside
Liked least: The regional restaurant menus without translation
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2012
It was our pleasure to have you staying with us at our Studio Violetta and to meet you.

If you choose to visit us again we will offer you our usual discount as returning guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 20, 2012 for a stay in November 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fab condition of flat
Liked least: No sunbeds for terrace altho was Nov
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Mar 2012
We are very happy that you loved the area and enjoyed your stay in our Apartment Verde in October. We are sure your Top Tip about Siesta closing will be very handy for other guests. Thank you very much for taking the time to review our apartment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing