We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mark G

VBL Lodge Great Resort and Great Fishing!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 16, 2022
We have been coming to VBL since 2004. Fishing and accommodations are first class. We have been traveling for 40 years to various lodges in Ontario and have not found better hosts than Susanne and Gord. Their personal touch is everywhere you go from the impeccable detail in the cabins to the generous directions for catching various species of fish. There are not many places that you can go and catch 5 or 6 different species in one day. We have already booked for 2023!!!!!
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Andy Myers Lodge Marina
Booking.com
    4.7 km from Vermilion Bay Lodge
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Vio.com
      952.3 km from Vermilion Bay Lodge
      Expedia.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • Comfort Inn
        C$208
      • Hotels.com
      41.9 km from Vermilion Bay Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        C$211
      • Expedia.com
        C$227
      77.8 km from Vermilion Bay Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Exterior
      Wyndham
      C$234
      C$203
      Join Wyndham Rewards Free
      • Tripadvisor
        C$203
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      78.1 km from Vermilion Bay Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Feet in sheets
      Tripadvisor
      C$179
      Fully refundable
      No prepayment needed
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Expedia.com
        C$179
      78.2 km from Vermilion Bay Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Tripadvisor
      C$270
      Fully refundable
      No prepayment needed
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Expedia.com
        C$270
      79.0 km from Vermilion Bay Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Lodge Dining Room
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      79.1 km from Vermilion Bay Lodge
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      75.1 km from Vermilion Bay Lodge
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Vermilion Bay
      Reviews (20)
      Filter reviews
      20 results
      Traveller rating
      18
      2
      0
      0
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      18
      2
      0
      0
      0
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews many places fish fry first class great fishing suzanne hosts walleyes towels species lodge ontario dock accommodations trip boats
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      1 - 6 of 20 reviews
      Reviewed August 8, 2022

      Our cabin and the entire grounds are very well maintained. The setting is absolutely beautiful. Eagle lake is very large, clean, and offers amazing fishing. Our fish were cleaned for us and we brought home our limit of walleyes. And most importantly, this resort has a comfortable and friendly environment.

      Room tip: I think they are all great cabins.
      Date of stay: August 2022
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      Thank 754lynnh
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed July 4, 2022

      We were treated great from the time we arrived until we departed. The accommodations and hospitality were perfect. The cabins are well equipped, very clean and comfortable. The small details like paper towel, hand soap and dish soap were very thoughtful.

      Gord personally processed our fish for us quickly and professionally every time we came in. The docking area is nice and the electrical connections and fuel at the dock are very convenient.

      I certainly plan to return and would recommend this lodge to anyone that is looking for a well maintained and well run fishing camp. Gord and Susanne make your stay very comfortable and relaxing.

      Date of stay: June 2022
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      Thank Mark D
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed June 25, 2022 via mobile

      I’ve been going to VBL for almost 15 years. The summer each one of my boys turned 9, they went with me. This year? We were all able to go and my wife joined us for her first Canadian fishing trip. The boys are 19, 17, 15, 13.

      We had a great week. The camp in the lodge is perfect. The cabin we stayed and looked almost completely brand new and had everything we needed.

      The boats were great and we caught plenty of fish everyday.

      As always, Gord and Suzanne were great hosts…and I’ve already booked my spot for 2023!

      Date of stay: June 2022
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank dustink976
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed June 25, 2022 via mobile

      All I can say is that Vermilion Bay Lodge is a great place to spend a week! Susanne and Gord are great hosts and they really want you to have a great time. Super clean
      and comfortable real log cabins. Sunday night fish fry
      and of course beautifully Eagle lake. I bring my 3 daughters here every year and they love coming back.
      You will not be disappointed!

      Bob Swanson

      Date of stay: June 2022
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank X1829ZDbobs
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed June 22, 2022

      I’ve been going to Vermilion Bay Lodge for more than 20 years. Gord and Suzanne run a first class operation that provide modern clean cabins and world class fishing. This year’s trip was our first time there since 2019 due to COVID. Fishing was AMAZING and VBL was as beautiful as ever. I’ve stayed in many Ontario finishing lodges but Vermilion Bay Lodge is the only one I keep returning to year after year. You won’t be disappointed!

      Date of stay: June 2022
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank Irishs041
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews