We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very relaxing stay in beautiful accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cuckoo Croft Barn

Living Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Area
Large lawn area, patio and outdoor furniture. Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Living Area
Large lawn area, patio and outdoor furniture.
Kitchen
Front Entrance
Living Area
Double Bedroom
En Suite
View from garden and living area
Triple Bedrooom
Bathroom
Spacious Annexe Shower Room
Quality Accommodation
Contemporary Design
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Condover, Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laylarevi...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very relaxing stay in beautiful accomodation”
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I stayed at the Cuckoo Croft barn on a recent business trip.

The barn is wonderful, very high spec and equipped with everything you need for a relaxing and comfortable stay. The open plan space is great for cooking and relaxing, and every detail has been considered here.

The location is very beautiful and serene, and the hosts were great, even bringing over some freshly grown vegetables one evening which were absolutely delicious!

Perfect for a business trip if you want a break from chain hotels! I highly recommend a stay here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2015
Thank you Layla for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to do this, and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardingP...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a treat for a 40th birthday weekend!!”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This place is fantastic! It looks amazing in the photographs and it's just as good, if not better in real life. Very stylish decor, really well equipped, beautiful location. We were a group of 8 adults and 4 children and stayed here for a 40th birthday celebration weekend. It was the perfect venue and felt like a real treat to stay here..The open plan living area is ideal to socialise in, plenty of space for kids and adults to all hang out together.. Tracy and Nigel are great and even welcomed us with a yummy chocolate tray bake! Highly recommend it and will be coming back again next year.. Fingers crossed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2015
A shame we didn't know it was a 40th birthday - we'd have bought you a balloon :) Hopefully see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
743beth
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect!”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

High spec, great location, wonderful owners, fabulous space, great sound system, fabulous rural setting, fully equipped with everything you'll ever need, the most comfortable beds you'll ever experience and loads of bathrooms and toilets...Perfect for a larger party get together! Once you're there you'll never want to leave! I would recommend a stay here... And can't wait to return! Totally brilliant!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2015
We're pleased you enjoyed the sound system. We find that it doesn't play anything other than Sprigsteen :):)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C E
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just left and already want to go back! ”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I can't recommend this place enough! Stunning architecture, incredible views...its it's hard not to feel at home and relaxed at Cuckoo Croft! A group of 12 of us rented it out for a hen do and it had the perfect amount of space! Tracy was so lovely and event brought us a tea set and cake for the afternoon tea we had organised! Thank you for providing the perfect space and hospitality for an amazing hen weekend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind comments, we enjoyed your company too.
Next time we will make sure Milo is here to greet you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
Thank you - We are so pleased we that you were so satisfied with your stay, thank you for taking the time to write this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hazel M
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow!!”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I'm normally the person who complains when something goes wrong, I am an extremely harsh critic and it takes a lot to blow my socks off... but with this place, it has that shiny halo that beams bright light.

Everything about this place is wow, from the drive up to it, through to the high spec finishing touches like under floor heating & smart TV. This was genuinely 5* and the rest. I organised this for my friends hen do and it was worth every penny. All the hens were blown away by it. The large open space makes it extremely comfortable for any sized group. I cooked the entire weekend and there was all the kitchen equipment (including sharp knives) we required. The beds were that comfortable it felt like a steam roller had gone across you in the night and you had to peal yourself from the mattress. And the view... well you have to see it to believe it!

The owners could not have been more accommodating - even when we told them (last minute) that we were expecting a stretched hummer to pick us up - Nigel helped the driver manoeuvre the vehicle into his drive way and direct him so he could turn around (=153 point turn) - it was those touches that made our experience extremely enjoyable.

The only thing I would say is that there was hardly any signal, but this only added to the relaxing/fun filled weekend as we didn't get any pressures/interruptions from the outside world :)

Another thing (but nothing to do with this accommodation!) is EXPENSIVE taxi's - make sure you book ahead and ask for the price, otherwise you'll get stung like we did as the cars have to come from Shrewsbury. Go Cars are pretty good, but DO NOT use Commet Cars - it cost us £25 per car (3 cars) to go 15 mins up the road.

Also, for those looking to do things in the local area we did a Zip Wire activity at The Edge Adventure in Much Wenlock. They have so many activities to do there and the staff are extremely lovely. Also, you must take a visit to the local Persian Restaurant "Old Hall" - the food is to die for and Dr Lal (a Surgeon by day and a Restaurateur by night) is a character.

If your considering booking this place, don't consider, just book it. I will 100% be going back with friends and my family next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open space
Liked least: Expensive Taxi's
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
Wow- what a wonderful review. Your hen group were truly delightful and friendly and it was great to have a Hummer parked on the drive!
Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful review we are so pleased that everything was so much to your liking.
Until very recently you held the record for leaving the barn the tidiest which for 12 men on a stag weekend is very impressive indeed. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing