We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We remarked as we drove home, we have to come back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Idabel Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Idabel Lake Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Idabel Lake
kelowna
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“We remarked as we drove home, we have to come back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

My partner and I arrived at the resort on a Friday early evening. We met Len and he gave us a tour of the suite (Owl's Nest) and showed us the games room, life jackets, oars for boats, etc. The photos of the suite really did not do it justice and it was way nicer. Huge bedroom (17 x 20?) with windows with vertical blinds on three sides, looking out on the lake. We left the front one open as you could see the lake without people looking in and awoke to the beautiful view in the morning. There were two bedrooms and two bathrooms. But room for more people and I think they had mattresses.
The kitchen was big with linen, new stove and fridge, plenty of cupboard space, dishes, utensils, foil, plastic wrap and tuppleware containers.
Always boats available. We went out fishing three or four times and caught fish every time - brookies. Mostly small fish - caught and released. Great for kids but we did land a big one too and altogether had three for eating. Worms are the trick and use a smaller hook.
This area is great for familes with kids - lots of area for them to play with badminton net and racquets, boche ball, etc.
Plenty of walking trails.
Saw a huge beaver, deer, bunny, chipmunks, many species of birds.
Hot tub on the deck after a day of fishing was the best part but don't expect too many people in there - about three max.
We loved this suite, the area, the fishing and the kindness of our host, Len. Definitely will be back.
We didn't miss the internet and my partner is a web designer!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get the Owl's Nest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkswithafriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    6
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

Idabel is a wonderful, quiet resort. The setting is peaceful and the lake is gorgeous. Rooms are comfortable, kitchen had all sorts of utensils and dishes so we could cook in instead of having to eat out every day. Its like camping without the hardships :)

The resort also has a game room with different activities available, such as air hockey. They have maintained trails as well, which are great to go out for a walk. Staff was great. They provided tips on taking the best paths for a nice walk.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

My husband and I stayed at Idabel Lake Resort for our 4th wedding anniversary & had the most amazing time! We arrived on a Thursday night after a long day of driving from Edson, AB (almost 9 hours!) Upon arrival we met Len - the resort manager. He was very welcoming and very excited to make our stay a memorable one. When he took us to our cabin we found a "Happy Anniversary" banner across our front door! It was very thoughtful!

The cabin was perfect. The pictures online do not do it justice - it was incredibly clean and was stocked with everything we could have asked for & more! All you need to bring is food and you won't ever have to leave! The view of the lake was gorgeous - we stayed in cabin # 5, but the views everywhere on this property were stunning. Len was able to show us a couple of the suites on the property and they were beautiful - cozy, quaint, well stocked and private hot tubs!! Awesome all around!

We also took advantage of the games room which had something for everyone. Air hockey, ping pong, shuffle board, checkers...just a few of the activities you can find in there. On site there is a playground for kids and a nice large common area with a fire pit, picnic tables & lots of games available for your pleasure. We enjoyed a nice fire with Len & his wife Melina and ended up playing a little tournament of ladder golf! So fun!

All in all, this experince was one filled with life's little pleasures. Len & Melina are two of the most social, friendly & accomodating people with have ever met. If paying attention to detail is high on your list then this resort is for you! Thank you Len & Melina for all the memories. We are already working on our dates to return!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lola_ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

After much research, we were trying to find a location close to family in Beaverdell. We travelled to kelowna in August 2005. Although that was several years ago we all often talk about our stay at Idabel Lake.
The rooms where very spacious, loved the 2 bathroom feature. it came in handy for the 6 of us that stayed there. My boyfriend and I stayed for 3 weeks while the other 4 family members stayed with us for one week.
The bbq and hottub on the balcony was fantastic and very much enjoyed!
I would return to Idabel Lake and highly recommend. A big thanks from Ontario!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frogy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

Awesome Resort-Len the manager was a huge help. Rooms were very nice, great view of the lake, Hot tub on balcony, dog friendly, excellent snowmobiling. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMK600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

What a wonderful getaway for the weekend!! The skating rink was great, sledding hill was a blast and gathering around the fire for some socializing was fun. Ice fishing on the lake also yields great results. The resort has a great playroom indoors with no charge airhockey and pingpong tables. The suites and cabins are immaculate and obviously well maintained. The carekeepers are an extremely friendly couple and I would return anytime. In the summer they have complimentary rowboats and canoes available. We will be back in the summer for some hiking and fishing, should be a blast.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WolfieKelowna_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

Idabel Lake Resort was a fantastic escape from the city for a long weekend. We just happened to find the resort online and chose it because of its location, pictures (none of which do the real thing enough justice), and the pet friendly cottages. Great walking trails, peaceful canoe rides (as long as you can decide on who steers :P) and picturesque sunset/sunrise views make this a great place for romance or family retreats. The games room is a great place to declare your ping-pong dominance or hustle your way through pool on a rainy day (or jigsaw puzzles if you have the patience - hint: corners first)
The only things you need are food, beverages and a positive attitude and you're good to go.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momentoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idabel Lake
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Hotel Eldorado
#2 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Big White
#2 of 3 in Big White
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Central City
Delta Hotels Grand Okanagan Resort
Chateau Big White
#1 of 2 in Big White
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idabel Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idabel Lake Resort

Property: Idabel Lake Resort
Address: 800 Idabel Lake Road, Idabel Lake, British Columbia V0H 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Idabel Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Idabel Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Idabel Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A year-round lakeside resort offering self-contained cottages and suites, some with private hot tubs. Every unit is on the lakefront with a breathtaking lakeview from a private deck. Lake activities enjoyed include fishing, swimming, canoeing, ice fishing and boating. Complimentary canoes and rowboats are available. Local trails are great for hiking, biking and cross-country skiing. Many trails accessible by quad, ATV and snowmobile. We are on the Kettle Valley Rail Trail. Games room with pool table, ping-pong, foosball and air hockey is open for guests. Small playground, community bonfire evenings until 10:00 pm. WiFi available for an extra charge. Coin operated laundry on-site. Resident managers: Cliff and Fara. Note: There is no cell service at the resort. Free local calls available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Idabel Lake Hotel Idabel Lake
Idabel Lake Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing