We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Vacationer2Maine
Atlanta, Georgia

The Perfect Place

Review of B&B Hillhouse
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 15, 2022
My sister and I stayed here for 3 nights in the room at the very top of the house. It has 2 queen beds and a claw foot tub. I wasn't sure about that - since we are "shower" people, but it turned out to be the best thing ever. A hot bath after a chilly day sightseeing in this beautiful area of the world was the perfect conclusion. And the perfect start to every day was the breakfast prepared by Louise and Gilles! A pain au chocolate, blueberry oatmeal, fruit topped french toast, and local sparkling cider were just some of the breakfast highlights. We also really loved hanging out with Kalie, the best pup ever. We highly recommend this place as your home base when visiting the eastern townships. We'd come back tomorrow!
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louise Cadieux, Owner at B&B Hillhouse, responded to this review
Responded Dec 7, 2022
Thank you for the great review. It was truly our pleasure hosting you.

We hope to see you again someday.

Louise & Gilles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.4 km from B&B Hillhouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.1 km from B&B Hillhouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
5.0 km from B&B Hillhouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Auberge Lakeview Inn
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
4.5 km from B&B Hillhouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
12.4 km from B&B Hillhouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Auberge La Table d'Hote
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
11.0 km from B&B Hillhouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
    6.1 km from B&B Hillhouse
    Free parking
    Espace piscine et terrasse
    eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    • Vio.com
    4.2 km from B&B Hillhouse
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    Bistro Bar Château
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      C$259
    • Booking.com
    9.2 km from B&B Hillhouse
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Studiotel Bromont
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      C$159
    • Booking.com
    9.3 km from B&B Hillhouse
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Lac-Brome
    Reviews (63)
    Filter reviews
    64 results
    Traveller rating
    62
    1
    1
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    62
    1
    1
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews eastern townships other guests louise penny home base breakfast was delicious poached eggs gilles hosts weekend knowlton qc highlights lac lake details countryside village
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    7 - 12 of 64 reviews
    Reviewed September 2, 2022 via mobile

    I had the most wonderful time staying at the Hillhouse B&B.
    The breakfast alone was enough to make me ready to plan my second trip. I traveled through Quebec for a week and a half and to be honest, some of my favorite breakfast’s were at Louise and Gilles table.
    The room I stayed in was so cute and comfortable and the house is gorgeous. I was a solo traveler and it was a perfect getaway in the countryside. Louise and Gilles are pro hosts and I already cannot wait to return, hopefully for a fall foliage getaway next time. Though summer is absolutely stunning in this area!

    Date of stay: August 2022
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank katull3
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Louise Cadieux, Owner at B&B Hillhouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2022

    Thank you Katie for the wonderful review. It was our pleasure hosting you and look forward to seeing you again soon.

    Louise & Gilles

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed July 23, 2022

    Hillhouse B&B met my two most important criteria: wonderful food and congenial hosts who enjoy chatting with their guests and giving tips about what to see in the area. Louise and Gilles seem to have mastered these fine arts. Breakfast Day 1 was a beautiful puffy (and delicious) frittata straight from the oven, but Gilles really outdid himself on Day 2: eggs "Benedict" but with smoked salmon in lieu of Canadian bacon. We had been in Quebec for 12 days at that point, including a week in QC, and I think this was the tastiest and most beautifully presented meal we had during the whole vacation. (We are poached egg aficionados, and Gilles showed us his trick for achieving perfection...it works!) Each breakfast included gorgeous fresh fruit and juice, too. I should also mention that breakfast is a sociable affair, around the dining room table with other guests, which we very much enjoyed. While never intrusive, Louise was on hand as needed for check-in and to answer our questions about the TV (Google Chrome very nice) and the environs as well. High marks for comfortable bed and shower, nice linens and towels, as those things are important, too. The location is very quiet, about 15 minutes away from the village of Knowlton where we had a good dinner at the Auberge thanks to Louise's having made us a reservation. We enjoyed the Musee Lac-Brôme immensely -- what a gem for those of us who enjoy history. The exhibit about "the Home Children" (who were sent to North America from England around the turn of the 20th C.) was very moving. Other highlights for us were the Abbeye de Saint-Benoit (impressive site, magnificent view) and in general the scenery around the lake and in the surrounding hills. If you're interested in hearing Gregorian chant at the abbey, investigate the details. The 11:00am service is in fact a sung Mass, so the chant is liturgy and perhaps less melodic and interesting than some music-lovers might be hoping. That said, we were happy to attend the Mass, and had we been able to stay longer, we would have returned for evening Vespers.

    Room tip: RE: Our room, Beatrice, fine for our short stay...some might need more elbow room to operate if they have copious luggage/toiletries.
    Date of stay: July 2022
    Thank Marlindi
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Louise Cadieux, Owner at B&B Hillhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2022

    Thank you for the extraordinary review. We truly enjoyed having you stay at Hillhouse. We hope to see you both again one day.

    Louise & Gilles

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed July 13, 2022

    My friend and I travelled to Lac Brome last week to do a THREE PINES tour based on the novels by Louise Penny. We were so fortunate to have chosen Hillhouse B & B for our 2 night stay in Lac Brome and Knowlton areas.

    Our hosts, Louise and Gilles, along with their newly adopted senior dog, Callie, were so welcoming and so friendly. The breakfasts were out of this world and Louise & Gilles were so accommodating regarding our breakfast item selections.

    Without hesitation, we would highly recommend staying at this beautifully maintained B & B whenever you are in the area.

    Room tip: If you have difficulty getting out of a deep tub, I would recommend asking for a room that accesses a standup shower as its washroom.
    Date of stay: July 2022
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank ShortandSuite
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Louise Cadieux, Owner at B&B Hillhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2022

    Thank you for the great review. It was a treat to have you as guests. I hope to see you again some day.

    Louise & Gilles

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed June 17, 2022 via mobile

    We had a wonderful visit to the area highlighted by our stay at Hillhouse. The charming home, comfortable beds, amazing breakfasts, and lovely hosts should not be missed when visiting Lac Brome. I would highly recommend it to anyone. I only hope I can return again some day! Just fabulous!

    Date of stay: June 2022
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Ann I
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Louise Cadieux, Owner at B&B Hillhouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2022

    Thanks Ann! It was a great pleasure hosting you both. Really hope to see you again someday.

    Louise & Gilles

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed September 6, 2021 via mobile

    Louise & Gilles we’re superb hosts throughout our weekend stay. Easy going and very hospitable. The breakfast each day was beyond basic. Each was wonderful and a great way to start each day. The rooms are tastefully decorated, the beds super comfortable. The property is centrally located to the area so an easy central location to venture from. Highly recommend staying here if in the area.

    Date of stay: September 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank DayTrip08065289982
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews