We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 14
Grenivik, Northeast Region

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Daniel A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beatifull view and beatifull fraud”
Reviewed April 25, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed 1 night in Ytri Vik, and the location is beatifull, very near from Akureyri, and with a relaxing pool.
The problem is the price. When I have do the reservation, the price was 183€ , for 3 persons is a good price, and we have noticed that is the possibility of rent bed clothes and a extra cleanning but with a very expensive price. So we have bought our owns bed clothes, and we have cleaned all the bungalow to avoid this extra charge. SURPRISE! We have a charge in the credit card about 183€ , the price of the booking, 50€ for the cleaning and 15,5 x 3 for the dirty bed clothes, so the total = 279 € ....
We can't do any reclamation because this small letter appears in the booking page, so take a look and think that the price is 100€ more expensive than the first reservation page.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Dear Daniel,

What you are saying is simply not true, I am also pretty sure you have never stayed at this property. There are no extra charges. I am really disappointed that someone think it is a good idea to write something like this, maybe you were having a bad day .... who knows.

Cheers,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polarpeop...
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On a driving tour of north, highland, and south of Iceland we wanted an out of way stay half way through in hopes of seeing the northern lights...we were not disappointed! We came expecting to cook our own meal, enjoy the hot tub, and see the night sky and our expectations were exceeded.

Cabin is very nice. Bedroom is standard with two twins pushed together to make a double, very Icelandic, and it had a small loft over bed if needed. Couch was large and had a pull out bed as well. Had a radio and tv with good selection of channels ( we used for radio stations). Kitchen was basic for meal and we used the grill, which needed some cleaning and care as top was broken and struggled to stay open but was usable. We stayed in Gil cottage which is next to last on road. Beautiful meadow and unobstructed view of bay just across from Grenivik town.

No one to greet you so you have to walk up to cabin doors to find your name on key. Hot tub was amazing and we had a great view of sky. Northern lights started up at about 10 pm and were right above us. So beautiful! Clean up was extensive, more than most places we have stayed but we are tidy people anyway. Bathroom was great with good water pressure.

Highly recommend for a break from it all. We would suggest shopping in Akureyri as opposed to Dalvik, pick up some fish and veg and make a nice night of it. Will stay again and recommend!

Rented through Farm Holidays.is. Was easy and worked out but read emails carefully as instructions for next step to confirm rental are hard to decifer. Nerve racking to put 50 euro deposit before confirmation but another renter was able to reach main office in Reykjavik with no issue and were able to guide us to key search for our cabin. Asked a question that was never answered but no issue in the end. Also curious why we can't get this accommodation to pull up on Tripadvisor...

Regardless, was an amazing stay that is a short drive off route 1 ring road!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet views and cabin
Liked least: Lack of detail on which cabin and how to figure it out. Thankful to other renters for guidance.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergp_de
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had the cottage named "Gil". The location couldn't be any better. It is right at the shores of Eyjafjördur. There is only a little meadow between you and the water. When the water is calm you can watch birds on the sea. We even saw Harbour Pourpoises and Humpback Whales sitting on our front deck.

The cottage is equipped in a rather basic and functional way. Nothing spectacular but everything was clean and in order. The bedroom is rather small.

At the front of the house there is a wooden deck. There is a gas driven barbecue (which we didn't try) and your own private "hot tub". Very nice to relax there after a day of exploring the area!

Akureyri is at a short drives distance and offers everything you need, like shops, restaurants, gas station etc. Don't miss to go to the village of Hauganes which is close and do a Whale Watching trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
South Berwick, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amazing View”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in cottage #3 at Ytri-vik during our trip around Iceland in July, 2015. This is a bit of a mixed review.

First the positive: Ytri vik is in the most beautiful location overlooking the fjord. There is only a meadow between the cottage and the water (although the waters' edge is a cliff, so you can't actually get to the beach without climbing down). It is also very convenient to Akureyri, which has groceries, restaurants and great walking/sightseeing, and also to small towns to the north from which you can take ferries to Hrisey and Grimsey.

The cottage has a large hot tub on the front porch, which is heavenly after a day spent trekking through the cold (even in July the temp never got out of the 40s). The hot tub was clean, although it had no jets.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom cottage. The bedroom had 2 twins, and the beds were reasonably comfortable.

The kitchen had adequate materials for cooking.

Some concerns:
~When we arrived there was no one here to meet us. We hadn't been given any check-in instructions and had to knock on the door of another cottage to ask for assistance. They said to look for the cottage with the key in the door and that was most probably ours. We did, and it was.
~Renters are expected to clean the cottage before leaving, and over time it seems like a few things have been let go.
~The shower is a stand-alone stall and the back panel is broken. When I tried to adjust the height of the water spigot it fell apart.
~In summer it is light here all the time, yet there are no shades on the bedroom windows, only a light curtain. We had to assemble our own black out curtain. (A dark garbage bag and beach towel did the trick.)

Our rating for the cottage = 3. Our rating for the location = 5.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadicBu...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing view !!!”
Reviewed May 1, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The view from the cottage is awesome as they are located by the fjords and the place is very calm and serene. It's a few minutes drive from Akureyri. A stay at Ytri Vik for a day or two deserves a mention on any itinerary of Iceland !

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing