We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
38
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
4
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 42 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2016

Have been coming to Montrose for many years and the cliffs and beach of St Cyrus has been a favourite spot to visit. This B&B is right in the middle with great views of the sea/dunes etc. Although building is old it he interior is modern and bedrooms are fully appointed with comfortable beds etc. Also excellent breakfast with friendly host. Thoroughly recommend. If weather good - say clear sunny day can think of nothing better than a stay here and a stroll or even 2 or 3 strolls along the beach.

Room Tip: Best views from upstairs room
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inchyra16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2015

We stayed here on our honeymoon with my husband for one night. We were able to book just a few days before, and were very pleased with our stay. The room on the ground floor was clean, well presented with a modern bathroom. We were greeted with a warm welcome, Our host was very informative about the local area, and the cooked breakfast was very good. There is a nice up hill walk from the B&B to St Cyrus, where you can get food and beer at the local pub, passing lots of beautiful scenery of the North Sea coastline.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sb123427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2015

Friendly reception, comfortable accommodation and excellent breakfast. Close location to the North and South Esks made it an ideal location for angling purposes. Had I been staying longer I would have enjoyed exploring the nature reserve and beach. I would definitely use this again.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I were riding the excellent Sustrans 'Coast and Castles North' route, between Edinburgh and Aberdeen and needed somewhere to stay after the second days cycling. St Cyrus looked perfect.

We rolled into The Old Fishing Station after a long and tiring day on the bikes and were met with warm smiles and friendly faces - the couple who run this place are fab.

After locking our bikes up and being provided with cloths to wipe them down we retired to our room, which overlooked the sea. The room was perfect, spacious, clean and everything you needed, even binoculars and shortbread - a lovely touch.

The owners then kindly took us up to the village in their car, which is a long way up the hill (we ended up pushing our bikes the following morning) and we ate at the pub, come hotel - very friendly, proper pub grub; the fish and chips were decent and reasonably priced.

You must do the walk from the village to the beach - see photo below. It is a superb walk, with a sturdy path leading you down from the clifftop - we were alone on this vast expanse of sand and it was fantastic, we even saw porpoise, just a little way off the shore. A truly stunning location.

With a belly full, it is a lovely amble along the beach to get back to the B&B. That evening we both slept like logs - yes we were tired, but with comfy beds, utter silence and darkness, this beats any 5* hotel.

The breakfast is plentiful, with local ingredients and prepared us well for the final leg of our journey to Aberdeen.

A brilliant B&B in a beautiful and remote setting - we will return.

Matthew and Nicola Barber

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank d30hjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2015

Re-visiting after two much-enjoyed trips in 2000 & 2001--facilities enhanced. Scottish hosts very welcoming and informative, with background in land management, tennis-coaching!--and rapport with nature. Suggest upstairs room for view over dunes to sea. Outside-stair adds to sense of difference. Binoculars supplied for viewing Nature Reserve just over the fence! Excellent cooking, and home-baking, including gluten-free oatcakes, ditto biscuits, and Chelsea buns. Also butteries (Aberdeen 'rolls') & croissants, and local fresh and smoked fish. Fresh & ripe fruit. Beds comfortable. Dunes reduce sea-noise if window open at night.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews