We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Croc and bird lovers paradise, plus wallaby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wildman Wilderness Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Highlight was the complimentary early morning billabong boat trip; just peace and tranquility with the crocs lazing about or gently sliding back into the water and the cacophony of birds everywhere. Oh the lodge was amazing too, just add some doors to the bathrooms please! Staying here is a magical experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Atck4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2017

My husband and I spent several delightful days at the Wildman Wilderness Lodge during our recent trip to Australia. Our spacious, well-appointed room contained a beautiful en suite shower and a deck outside our sliding door provided an awesome place to watch Australian sunsets. A walk to the lodge for dinner included sightings of many birds and walibies. The main lodge has several options for entertainment-a beautiful infinity pool, a lounge for cocktails, an outdoor fire pit and deck where we gathered with friends to enjoy a glass of wine, and a restaurant complete with gourmet chef. During our time at Wildman, we also took advantage of the opportunity to take an afternoon excursion on the Mary River where we saw both "freshies" and saltwater crocodiles. Wildman is also located near another billabong and guests can go on nature hikes from the lodge with guides. The hosts of the lodge were warm and personable, visiting with us and attending to every detail to ensure we had everything we needed for a fabulous stay. I highly recommend Wildman Wilderness Lodge to anyone who wants to have a stellar outback experience!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cabins and loved the luxury. For those who want the tent experience, this is also a...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

It's so unique experience to stay in Wildman, just like living in the zoo with Wallabies, birds and even crocodies. Tents are African style glamping, so spacious with good view.

The first day was all about relax. We saw fire with sunset and enjoyed the indigenous foods, such as buffalo and kangaroo. Then we did some tours, billabong cruise and sundown and Airboat. The airboat is expensive but worthy to see the whole mary river wetland.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank XYZXYZAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

This is a nature lovers destination. We went on the home billabong cruise and counted 16 crocs! At the front of our habitat each afternoon there would have been about 10 wallabies and plenty of bird life. The hotel also has free bikes you can use whenever you want. Staff were really friendly. Good wine selection and meals were great. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the air conditioned habitats
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eileeniwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

I don't know where to start here, there is just too much to complain about. From feeling like not your not invited but I will change you some serious change. Staff are all backpackers which are there. just to extent there time in Aus. Pm meal was fine, although they couldn't wait to get rid of us. I did expect a swist on the cuisine we served, we are in the wilderness. And breakfast was pretty dull, to say the least.
The glamp tent fan didn't work as well as I would have liked it, luckily ther was a free standing fan so we could put that next to the bed. Did I mention the frogs in the room, I'm not a frog lover and don't appreciate sharing my environment with them. Partner moved them outside but being territorial, they come back!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 01jms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

This is an expensive premium based property, but did not deliver to our expectations. Whilst the rooms are pleasant, the grout on the floor tiles was falling out, the shower had mould growing up the tiles and there is no service telephone to contact the office. If you need a private toilet the design did not put doors in the bathroom, so open the wardrobe doors! Room air conditioning is pretty average if you want to lie down during the day. he WiFi is only available in the main building which is fine but it does not work well at all.
As for the food, it was very poor, the staff whilst friendly, are not well trained in hospitality. our dinner was very disappointing, my barramundi was dried out, over cooked and the version of grilled was fried! Breakfast buffet was almost totally depleted at 9am, my egg white omelette was the worst I have had. My son ordered scramble eggs with tomato and capsicum and a slab of two halves of a capsicum and half a tomato came with it!
Everything had a price....certainly not a premium experience and very disappointing. Cicada Lodge sets the international standard in this area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BruceR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Awesome sunrise and sunset views. 3 course dinner was good. Breakfast was ok only. The tours are highly recommended, especially the airboat (only during certain periods). The guides were interactive and humorous.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jennifer Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wildman Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildman Wilderness Lodge

Address: 2393 Point Stuart Road | Point Stuart, Mary River National Park, Northern Territory 0822, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Mary River National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mary River National Park
Price Range: $288 - $702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wildman Wilderness Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildman Wilderness Lodge invites you to voyage into Australia’s Top End for an immersive adventure. Just two hours east of Darwin, on the fringe of Kakadu National Park, the lodge offers the ultimate in bush luxury, nestled in the lush Mary River wetlands area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wildman Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing