We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
86
14
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
14
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsflood plainmagpie geeseair boatwet seasontop endsafari styleagile wallabieslunch and dinnersea eaglesbird watchingknowledgeable guidesnorthern territoryhis teamswitch offquad bikesunique experience
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 107 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile

We had 2 nights at this incredible lodge. It is stunning. The staff and guides were brilliant and sasha in particular was so lovely, knowledgeable and the perfect host. Honestly you cannot imagine the beauty and serenity here. Our suite was huge, very very cool. Like a ranch but with luxury around. Pool was beautiful. We did quad biking and fan boating, both which were excellent and well worth the money. Our 13 and 15 yr olds had a magnificent time. Great wildlife, loads of wallabys and Wildernesse and birds. Great other guest and so good to do communal eating. Lovely to have all you can eat and drink but done in such a stylish way.
We will highly recommend this to others. The tents were really beautiful... all so stylish. But still the staff are the piece that top everything. Could have done with another night...
Thank you

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildBush, Owner at Bamurru Plains, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Thank you for your review - it is always wonderful to hear feedback from guests who have enjoyed themselves so much. Bamurru's magical moments and feeling/atmosphere are quite hard to describe from a marketing perspective so it is always great to have such wonderfully descriptive 'first hand' experience reviews. And I am glad your children had a great time - there is something eye opening and sometimes life changing with wildlife experiences when there are so many animals and birds as there are in a location like Bamurru - it was a trip to Africa that first sparked my real interest in wildlife and nature in general and has been the influence behind what we do at Bamurru. However, as you said, it is the guides and staff who look after you and open up the secrets of the bush that make it a really immersive bush experience.
Thank you for coming to stay and hope to see you back one day.

Yours sincerely

Charles Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2017

We spent 4 wonderful nights at Bamurru concentrating on fishing the run off. Landing on the dusty outback air strip to see a safari style transport vehicle ready to start your adventure really got us all excited for the days ahead.
Arriving at the accomodation the excitement continued as we surveyed our surrounds. It is stimulation overload as you take in the beautiful Mary River Floodplains, the Buffalo, the wallabies and the stunning pool deck that frames it all beautifully. I have to admit i had no idea what to expect from our "luxury tents" but they were just that! Luxury tents. I am usually someone who likes a VERY dark room so when i realised the sides were "see through" i was a little concerned about how i would sleep. I shouldn't of worried. I slept better there than i have anywhere. There is something magical about it. Knowing the wildlife & bush are around you & waking up to stunning sunrises and a view that is quite spectacular. My favourite night was one that had a huge lightening storm. I sat on our bed for what felt like hours just watching the plains light up. John & his staff are very thorough with there introduction's and how the whole experience works. The Air boat rides are an absolute thrill, the fishing was insane and the fact our location was already 1/2 way up the Mary River system (from the ramp) we were first to the fishing spots every morning! A huge bonus. I loved the "open bar" system and the food was very nice also. As we were gone all day we took "lunch packs" which were quite substantial. As other reviewers have said, if you need tech in your life (i.e. phones, wifi, tv etc) then you may struggle, saying that, you may also surprise yourself and let go in a little place off the grid where you will make everlasting memories. We saw Crocodiles, much birdlife, lizards, snakes, gorgeous frogs, and so much more. If you want to switch off and get a taste of what Australia's outback is REALLY like without compromising on luxury, then i highly recommend a trip to Bamurru.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Crystal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildBush, Owner at Bamurru Plains, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

My apologies for the slow response but thank you for taking the time in writing such a wonderful and comprehensive review from when you came to fish with us earlier in the year. The Top End of the NT is a special place in the wet season months and although in March and April we offer only guided fishing experiences, the rest of the wildlife, the greenery of the country at that time of year and the spectacular weather systems make it a great time of year to visit and experience the landscape for more than purely fishing.

It is always hard to communicate the sheer density and variety of wildlife at Bamurru so thank you for doing so so beautifully.

I hope you will come back and stay again, either for fishing in the early part of the year again or maybe later in the season when the country has dried out a bit and presents a very different image to the wetter earlier part of the year.

Thank you and best regards

Charles Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2017

Just back from 4 nights at Bamurru. The rooms have screens on 3 sides & face the flood plains. This meant waking up & falling asleep to the sights & sounds of the bush, water, animals & multitude of birds. Unexpectedly, everyone reported sleeping better than usual with the relaxing night time chorus. Being internet/wifi, TV, device free was heaven & beds comfy. I had been concerned about having no A/C but a ceiling fan & room open to the night air were totally sufficient. The sunset air boat outings were magnificent & memorable. Spotting crocodiles was exciting. Quad bikes through the countryside were fun. I even became fond of - from a safe distance - the wallowing, wandering buffalos. Every member of staff was friendly, obliging & competent. It was worth the extra day for the Kakadu Experience. This falls between a fancy vacation & a camping trip with the important elements well taken care of. Fabulous & definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lorraine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2017 via mobile

We had a fabulous 3 night stay here during the dry season. It was the perfect balance of enough to do (twice daily wildlife activities) plus some down time. We all loved it. The food and staff are amazing. If you need constant activity or WiFi I would not recommend this. It is great for everyone else, including by boys ages 14 and 17.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank JulieG3076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildBush, Owner at Bamurru Plains, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you had a great time at Bamurru. While we are obviously about wildlife and wilderness, we intend that the key luxuries of great food, great wine and a really comfortable bed are there to underpin the wilderness experience and, the food tends to be an unexpected surprise for many in our remote location. I hope that you boys took away something new from their experience as it is very much our intention that the experiences that our guides deliver on the floodplain and in the surrounding savanna open eyes and minds to the bush and the environment.

Thank you and kind regards

Charlie Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2017 via mobile

A return visit to Bamurru in the wet integrated with a brilliantly organised photography course. Last time was end of the dry. Two book ends of nature - what was parched with teeming nature congregated into a few billabongs was now a sea of living green - reeds, lilies, lotus and a marvellous array of birdlife. John and the team as brilliant as ever. The concept is simply the best of Africa In Australia.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank SYZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildBush, Owner at Bamurru Plains, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Thank you for your review following your recent trip - it is much appreciated. Richard I'Anson's photo safari is such a great way to get our leisure season underway and all the more so this year when we have so much water throughout the country and the Magpie Geese are back in such large numbers. Aside from the wildlife spectacle it is of course John and the team on site and Richard himself that make these few days so special.

We are planning another for early May next year and hope to see you again!?

Many thanks and best regards

Charlie Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews