We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff were friendly, cute, happy you. So good”
Review of At Home Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
At Home Resort
Ranked #9 of 11 Phanom B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I have come in contact with air this morning. Will captivate everyone Good morning air Fog Iike the north of it. I was impressed And like it very much. I would recommend and encourage your friends and come together And many other activities A very interesting

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 354raindear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

By the time we got to Khao Sok my husband and I were extremely tired and frustrated. It was by far the worst day of our trip in Thailand. We had been ripped off a couple times and were not experiencing the friendly Thais people write about. We didnt have a reservation and after looking at a few places in town settled on this one. We are so happy we did. The rooms are rustic but clean and very comfortable. They even had a/c for my husband :) I personally preferred the bungalows but the other "villas" were also very nice and spacious. The view of the mountains was amazing and the morning mist is worth checking out. The restaurant food was very, very good. We ate the included breakfast and supper twice and were never disappointed. We had booked one night originally but after spending a little time with King, the manager?, you really feel like family. We were on our honeymoon and it was also my husbands birthday so we opted to stay somewhere "nice" for one night. We were backpacking so take this into consideration. We mentioned this to King in passing and a little later we got a knock on our door. King and another staff member brought a bday fruit plate with a candle and sang him happy birthday. Other guests cheered and it won us over. The next morning we extended our stay. He had great suggestions on things to eat and cool places to see. He insisted on driving us to the national park entrance which was only a short walk down the road. The power in the town went out several times one night and King and staff made sure everyone had candles. It was Valentines Day so it was very fitting. He was apologetic even though it was not even close to his fault. His wife and daughter were also there and we fell in love with the whole family. One night turned in two and then three. We finally booked a transfer out early one morning at 6 am and although they dont start until 8, King made sure to get up and see us off. He also offered to make us breakfast but we declined as my husband has motion sickness and we were going to be on a boat shortly. We cant say enough about how amazing King was. He truly loves all his guests and treats them like family. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this place to anyone... you really are staying "At Home".

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Beatifully situated with view on limestone cliffs. The staff were very helpful insisting on carrying our bags. The accommodation is well priced and very clean. An english breakfast was included in the room rate

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank gvloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We cannot say enough about At Home Resort. This is a very peaceful and relaxing location with a stunning mountain backdrop. Although it is situated just a few minutes walk from the main highway, you don’t hear any traffic from the highway, and it separated from the more crowded and noisy portion of the small town here. It has very comfortable accommodations, extremely friendly and courteous staff, and wonderful food. We are a couple and stayed in one of the traditional-style, wooden cabins with a king bed. The staff, under Mr. Visarood, is very honest and helpful. They helped us arrange activities, such as the nearby elephant ride, at a lower price than any of the travel agents down the road were charging. The food was absolutely delicious, and included the best thai curry I’ve had. Their crispy garlic fish was absolutely superb. Breakfast is included, and there is a good menu to choose from, w/ fresh squeezed juice. If we ever return to Khao Sok we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The Thai-style cabins are very cozy, with AC and hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim5715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

My family enjoy the view and resort location, in the morning is the most beautiful time to wake up and see the cloud ;at this period that most Thai people will head up to north of Thailand to get the cold weather.We don't need to turn on the air con here during the night.
A bit disappointed about service, the staffs start to work not so early so breakfast never ready before 8 am.
And in my bedroom the housekeeper gave us shampoo and soap only on the first day, the room beside us got it only the first 2 days.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matsaya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We booked direct with the resort and arranged a transfer from Surat Thani airport, paid 50% of room price plus 2000THB for the transfer via Paypal. No pick up arrived at the airport, we made expensive cellphone calls to the number emailed to us, these were answered by children, airport staff & taxi drivers could get no response either, eventually we engaged a taxi driver and drove to At Home Resort. Nobody knew of our boking and no one could speak enough english to sort it out, cheekily they asked us if we wanted to buy breakfast, book tours etc. (yes we were given the menu book of tours as well) Eventually a lady arrived who spoke a little english and sat at a computer for a long time before agreeing that they had my money and everything was OK, however when I asked for the 2000THB transfer money to be taken off the price of 3 days stay she said she would have to ask someone else. Finally at dinner that evening the matter was resolved. If I had not paid them in advance I would have left, I wish I had. The rooms were OK and the view is good but the restaurant area is depressing and the food is apalling, our first night we ate whilst waiting for our money to be sorted and it was OK except that they will not supply the large beer which is on the menu at 80THB, "so sorry only have small beers at 60THB" - every other place in town have large beers, stop ripping off your customers. Against our better judgement we ordered dinner the next evening as we had a night safari arranged with them, the yellow curry was curdled rubbish we ate nothing but the rice. First day breakfast was OK, second day the eggs were not cooked and all was cold, third day we waited one hour for an omelete without tomato only to get one with tomato, when complaining again no one understood us.One cheerful staff member tried hard, the others need to be dismissed or managed properly. We had 2 jungle tours, we have nothing to judge them against but the guide was good fun, second day we walked the jungle alone and saw more animals, but that is the luck of the draw. Our advice is not to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian_and_Chris-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in november, wanted to stay 3 but left after 2.
Positive: the room was clean, surroundings nice

Negative: During arrival, first thing one of the young, bad English speaking boys said that we had to pay and a map with the available tours were handed. Not a good start.
Reception and 'restaurant' area very dark, not inviting at all, nobody ever ate here, only the staff walked/sleeped there. Early in the morning and late in the evening everything was closed, nobody there.
After the first night our room was not cleaned, and no new towels were supplied. Again very uninterested staff, some didn't say anything and looked at you as they were thinking 'what do you want?'. At the bar more not that friendly Thai people just looking at us.

Of the many places we have stayed in Asia, this was the one with the most incapable, unfriendly, unwilling staff. If you want a friendly place with normal service to stay, don't stay here. Options enough in Khao Sok.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SpongeRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phanom hotels
193.9 km away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#6 of 11 in Phanom
273 reviews
183.9 km away
Anurak Community Lodge
Anurak Community Lodge
#1 of 7 in Khlong Sok
39 reviews
194.0 km away
Baan Khao Sok
Baan Khao Sok
#1 of 11 in Phanom
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
193.5 km away
Khao Sok Green Mountain View Resort in Paradise
0.0 km away
Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow
194.0 km away
Khao Sok Nature Resort
Khao Sok Nature Resort
#3 of 11 in Phanom
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home Resort

Address: 68 Moo 6 | Klong Sok, Phanom 84250, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Phanom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Phanom
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our natural surroundings Thai contemporary design vacation home provides you with all comforts of home and hospitality service. The resort is quietly nestled in the breathtaking region of an untouched evergreen Thailand rain forest with a spectacular view of limestone mountains and wide range of local attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing