We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
33
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 35 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2014

October 2014: My wife and I stayed for two nights,an excellent arrangement.A rural location but not remote.Great bay window with view in dining area (persuaded me that don't need a conservatory at home!)Martin and Kate's hospitality was warm,welcoming,attentive to detail but not intrusive.Breakfast choices were excellent - mine of fresh fruit followed by veggie fry-up was great,Janice's more moderate appetite also well catered for!Had two evening meals - arranged prior to the visit and note taken of Janice's allergies etc. Both meals were excellent in terms of quality and quantity - total value for money. Accommodation was comfortable,impeccably clean and provided a good rest. Would also recommend Green Way cafe in Matlock, Hardwick Hall and the walk up to High Tor. Overall a great place to stay.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank m_knight625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2014

In Sept 2011 my wife, my mother and I stayed for 4 nights at Rockfield. We all returned 3 years later with my mother now in her 89th year. Once again everything has been perfect. Evidence of Martin & Kate's stay in Rwanda is tastefully included with examples of Martin's artistic pieces such as the carved pencils and hanging mobile blending in nicely to the decor. Food and accommodation was excellent as expected. Highly recommended once again. We look forward to another visit in the future. Thank you Martin and Kate.

Room Tip: Access for my 89yr old Mum was fine in the lower room. She also managed the few stairs up to the lounge/dining area.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Rockfield House is an amazing find. From the moment we got there Martin was extremely helpful. Our room was far bigger than expected and the food was delicious. We could not recommend this place enough. Unfortunately Martin and Kate are leaving for Rwanda for 2 years. Hopefully theye will return to continue with Rockfield House.
All the best to Kate and Martin for Rwanda. Hope to see you on your return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hsibbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had an overnight stay at Rockfield House, a lovely guest house in Derbyshire. The room was spotless with a sitting area complete with comfortable easy chairs,and a bathroom with a bathtub - all very welcoming after local sightseeing on an extremely warm day. After an excellent vegetarian meal it was relaxing to sit in the garden and enjoy the view across the valley in this pretty part of Derbyshire.
After finding this lovely place it was sad to find that we can't book again as Rockfield is closing up for possibly two years - but maybe we will be there again in 2015!
Thank you for welcoming us for our short visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jshcah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Everything about this place is wonderful. On arrival, we were greeted by one of the hosts Martin, who helped us carry our bags to the house. He then gave us a thorough tour of the property and garden, accompanied with very friendly and witty banter!
The location is perfect for a weekend break. There are pubs within walking distance and the general area has several activities to keep busy with, many of which can be provided by Martin himself.
In addition to Martin's impeccable skills as a host, his partner Kate provides outstanding vegetarian and vegan food. There are choices of both dairy and soy milk in the bedroom fridge as well as in the dining room. There were also some complimentary vegan cakes left in the room on our arrival. A really nice and thoughtful touch.
We had dinner on both nights of our stay, and were highly impressed with the quality and presentation of the food. Kate knows how to provide fantastic food for both vegans and vegetarians alike and her ability to balance flavours within a dish are excellent. In conjunction to this, Martin's 'front of house' skills were all too evident, in constantly making us feel at home. (ie- asking us if we wanted breaks in between courses, providing whatever music we wanted and generally trying to be as helpful as possible) All in all, they really can't do enough to make your stay as pleasant as they possibly can and have found the perfect balance of allowing you your own space, yet being there to provide assistance and good local advice whenever required. Providing that highly tuned level of service really is a sweet science that walks fine lines and this is one of very few places I've experienced that have the formula spot on. In conclusion, they are a friendly, warm, couple, providing an outstanding level of service and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate Y, Owner at Rockfield House, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Wow Nick, praise indeed, thank you so much. I have to say you have beautifully summarised what Rockfield House is all about. Martin and I work hard to make sure the experience of staying here is everything you want it to be - in your case I am delighted that we succeeded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews