We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Destinia.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (757)
Filter reviews
757 results
Traveller rating
315
240
109
53
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
315
240
109
53
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cricket field large car park evening meal lovely location beer garden main road full english bar area one night stay superior room the pub both nights brook cirencester dawn village dog
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
410 - 415 of 757 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2016

We booked two rooms for friends and ourselves as we were celebrating two birthdays. Although our own room, with a lovely river view, was very clean, unfortunately the toilet in our friends' room had not been cleaned, which was very unpleasant. Our evening meal had been very good, but at breakfast time I had problem with the breakfast chef who refused to provide a bacon and egg muffin in spite of there being egg muffins available, and bacon in the Full English. Twice our waitress came back saying he had refused as it wasn't specified on the menu. We got round this by ordering the egg muffins and a slice of bacon separately!! It's very surprising that this was such an issue (he clearly had upset the waitress) and all five poached eggs were hard, so he also clearly needs to brush up on his technical skills too! It's the little things that make the difference, and rather put us off what had been a lovely stay where the staff had given good service.

Room tip: best views from riverside rooms: worth paying more. Don't ask for slight variation: breakfast chef can't cope with extra slice of bacon!
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownof C, Manager at The Crown of Crucis, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2016

Dear Jill B

Thank you for your review, I have taken on board all comments raised and I have spoken to the kitchen with reference to this.

Kind Regards
Jon Calvert
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2016

This is the third time that my husband and I have stayed here - it's a lovely little find - near a relaxing stream - nice country views - clean bedrooms (no iron) we have stayed in rooms that over look the car park which are not as nice - but if you avoid those the room are pleasant.......
The evening meals are good value but be warned if you are a resident - your meal delivery can get delayed if other guest order food too....
This morning we went for breakfast at 7am - (early for us). The breakfast area is a good size and there were only 2 other single diners. We sat at a medium sized table with settings for 4. At this stage we were approach by a waiter who enquired " how many?" On replying 2 we were pointed to a "postage stamp" sized table squashed in a corner in the empty breakfast area. Not Surprisingly we said no we will eat here. The waiter became quite animated and said - you 2 people - sit over there! At this point being somewhat embarrassed we got up to walk out - the waiter changed his tone and said its ok you can sit here ??? - an odd and completely in appropriate incident given the breakfast area. Breakfast itself was adequate although it took 20 mins to cook a full English. The poached eggs on toast, were hard boiled, came minus the toast, and tasted of vinegar.
A couple of other minor niggles. No flannel in the bathroom, no real soap (only squirty liquid stuff) and an oddly positioned toilet,the angle making it virtually impossible to sit on.
Overall a good hotel in a lovely location, shame about the minor niggles, most of which we could live with, but the attitude of the waiter ? That could put us off coming back!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownof C, Manager at The Crown of Crucis, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2016

Dear SusanR

Thank you for your comments, we have taken these all on board and will try and improve on the constructive points raised in the above review.

Kind Regards

Jon Calvert
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2016

Our son treated us to Sunday lunch for our anniversary. we both went for the roast beef , could not fault it apart from not being asked if we required mustard or horseradish. Pleasant friendly staff, beautiful setting, well worth a visit.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Madnana22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2016

The hotel is in a lovely setting with some great footpath around the property. The groundfloor room was clean and spacious with a well equipped bathroom.
However the wifi did not work in the room and I could only connect in the reception area. Also had difficulties in communication during breakfast and we were given coissants first instead of the full cotswald breakfast we had ordered. We did get a breakfast eventually, on nearly cold plates which is always a let down. No yoghurt on the cereal and juice table either. All in all ok for the money but a little bit more attention to detail would have helped.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2016

It's a lovely hotel , lovely surroundings, food excellent at wedding. Couldn't fault anything to do with wedding!! I would recommend it apart from the foreign staff that do not understand very much English or speak it very well and are very abrupt & not at all helpful just walked away from us as obviously didn't understand what we wanted!! We stayed overnight, rooms were good but again at breakfast we were served by foreign staff with limited knowledge of English but I must say also the breakfast was not that good, as in bacon undercooked, scrambled egg not that nice & not very hot!! What a let down!! Don't think we'll be back by choice!!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsaywolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownof C, Manager at The Crown of Crucis, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2016

Dear Lindsaywolves

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. With reference to the staff I will have to disagree with you all our staff have an excellent level of english but sometimes as with any staff from what ever country we may need to repeat things again, I think people need to remember that we are very diverse country and whilst we train our staff sometimes cultural difference will come in to it, as if we were in their country and its not being rude by any means, but again we will talk to them with reference to this.

Also I am sorry about breakfast I have spoken to the chef and we have taken the scrambled egg off the menu as it can be cooked and seasoned in many ways and was not cooked to the way you preferred it.

We do hope your will stay again.

Kind regards

Jon Calvert
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews