We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
161
43
6
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
43
6
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tour tasting room rosé port wine wine making port production vintage house nice view of the river room price douro region b and b informative tour overlooking the valley bed and breakfast rooms are large swimming pool small winery
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 217 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2017

Quinta do Tedo was part of my wine tour with one of local companies. Really enjoyed the tour, the wine tasting, the lady working there (the tour guide) was very knowledgeable and passionate about her job. The views of the landscape with all the wine trees and olive trees are just breath taking. Definitely would come back.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pavla2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinta do Tedo W, Owner at Quinta do Tedo, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Thank you for your lovely write up for Quinta do Tedo - we are tickled! Our tour guides are our trusted voices with their passion and excellent product knowledge - we are so lucky! Douro Valley is a beautiful region, and we consider ourselves very lucky to be an estate here! Cheers and best, Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2017

This was our first stop on a day long tour and we were very impressed. We had visited a Quinta the day before and it was rather primitive. This was first class all the way. Their attention to detail, especially cleanliness is second to none.

Our guide was knowledgeable and entertaining, and gave us a good overview of port production.

The setting is beautiful, with views of the river and the surrounding hills.

We highly recommend this for a tasting and tour.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank phat_dawg_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinta do Tedo W, Owner at Quinta do Tedo, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017

Thank you, thank you!
An honor to know that you had a good visit, the inspires us at the end of the day.
Quality products, personable/professiona/educative tours and visits - that is what we strive for. Obrigada!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

We spontaneously stopped by this winery on a sunny afternoon as it was recommended by the front desk at Vintage House when we asked for a Quinta with table wines. We first walked in and my heart sank when we saw everyone just tasting Ports. The man working the tasting room with the tattoos immediately offered some assistance with giving us some tastes of Ports. I explained we were looking for table wines and he gave us a taste of a delicious red table wine without question. Afterwards we eventually tried the flight of Port wines and loved them! The rosé port was especially tasty. The grounds of the Quinta are gorgeous as well overlooking the river. Thank you for your kind service and passion for the wine you produce it really shows!!

Date of stay: November 2017
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinta do Tedo W, Owner at Quinta do Tedo, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other readers. We try our best, our tour guides are our voices for our Porto, Douro DOC red wines and Olive Oil - and we put a lot of emphasis on quality, sustainable practices and love the Douro Valley! So happy that you had an enjoyable visit, and yes, tour guide Tiago and our other tour guides, know how to make our visitors comfortable. Best and cheers,
Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

We were wondering through the Quintas searching for wine and they were really nice hosting us and offering even more than we requested at the same price, explaining and being really nice. We recommend it!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AvitalProkopef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinta do Tedo W, Owner at Quinta do Tedo, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Obrigadissima! Thank you for referring others to Quinta do Tedo
Best and cheers, Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

At Quinta do Tedo you visit a small winery that produces a very high quality product The tour begins up the hill in the room that has dual use as bar and shop. The buildings that are the whole winery are rustic of stone construction and ‘‘this room is authentic with lots of wood carvings to admire while you wait for your tour to start. The Tour is available in various European languages and for this reason you may be asked to come at a specific time.

The cost of the tour including a tasting is about 8 Euros. The tour commences outside in the enter an east yard with a view of the vinyards on the opposite hill side and the new Storage tunnel the owners are digging. So the owners can consolidate their production. After this you enter the area where the grapes trod by foot (not machine) before the product is left to improve and naturally ferment to become one of the desired types of port or wine. The if it is to be port liquid is filtered then travels by gravity downstairs to a The stone room below where the are maturing vats or the liquid ( if it is to be wine) and the grape residue it is sent to the wine press. And thence for further fermentation. The tour continues past the wine press and then down via the lower terrace to the room with port maturing vats and barrels. “The angels share” - the smell of 5he port and wine is wonderful. The guide through out the tour will explain the process and the history of the company. The character of the various port. Also about vintage port, late bottled port and blended and reserve port. Also the stages in producing rose, tawny, ruby and white port and what makes them different.

The tour continues through the maturing room/ cellar taking time to see the bottles being labled and stencillled by hand.
Finally the tour goes to the tasting room for you to enjoy samples of various port typical of the current products.

The time taken fothe tour and tasting was about an hour which is followed by the opportunity to purchase port and wine at winery prices There is restaurant adjoining the port and winery. Also over night accommodation both of which are separately described on trip advisor Parking is limited for the wine tour to approximately 8 cars There is adequate toilets for visitors to use and they are clean! The tour is limited to approximately 10 persons at a time. I really enjoyed the port and purchased the Tawny I hope you enjoy this tour as much as me!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SK1R1D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinta do Tedo W, Owner at Quinta do Tedo, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Thank you for sharing with other readers such a full report, we are so appreciative! We send you our best and the Tedo bird sings out to you!
Best, Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews