We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
58
25
13
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
25
13
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rocky beach needs improvement sea view family vacation newly built hotel nice swimming pool relaxing stay enjoyed our stay special thanks spent two nights hotel is located cake gym blend tangalle garden unsealed
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 107 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

Imagine yourself an afternoon spent in the room with two children aged 3 and 9 who would like to go to the pool but can not!
We arrived for an afternoon and a night in a quiet place with children. Upon arrival, immediately after paying the rooms, we were advised that there would be a bachelor party and that we would have to stay in the room at least until 9pm.
We could not even stand on the balcony of the room because the party was exactly under our windows!
The rowdy party ended at 2:30 am!!
The next morning the staff complained that we were asking for breakfast at 7:00 as they worked all night. Some dishes were from the day before, leftovers from the party, I think
We could have done many things, if they had warned us before arrival ... The sturttura is located on a promontory at least 20 minutes from the nearest town, impossible to move that night as the drivers were busy for the party guests. I did not expect such treatment ...
They could give us notice and give us the opportunity to change hotel ...

Stayed: July 2018
7  Thank Maria Norma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sooriyaresortspa, Director at Sooriya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. ..sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2018

I have to say that this is one of the best places I have stayed at. I have done my fair share of travelling and in my opinion it’s not always about the 5 star rating and the bus loads of amenities that you get but rather it’s about the service and the amount of relaxation you get from your holiday. I really took the time to write a lengthy review, so it will paint an accurate picture of our experience!

The Staff - at Sooriya Resorts were among one of the best I have dealt with. Once we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted at the reception with refreshing cold towels (much needed after the journey), and a very interesting welcome drink, more like a shooter, served in a miniature margarita glass. We were also blessed to have gone to the resort during the off-peak season and once the hotel got to know that we came to celebrate our anniversary, we got a free upgrade to a Deluxe room and it didn’t end there, since we were staying there for 3 nights, we got a complimentary foot massage as well! What a treat and much unexpected, which made it that much more exciting.

The Room - Well, nothing but fantastic. We stayed in room 115 which I think is the best of the deluxe rooms as it has two views, one giant set of windows overlooking a small game reserve / forest and the main windows / sliding door facing the very graceful ocean. The room had all the standard room amenities with an additional cinnamon oil burner which kept our room perfumed with a wonderful fragrance throughout our stay. The balcony is fantastic and spacious with two comfortable chairs and two pool chairs.

The Hotel - The hotel is being maintained quite well, Very clean, neat and designed with soothing colors which blend perfectly with the natural surroundings. All lawns are trimmed as if it was a carpet and flowers lusciously kept. Majority of the rooms faced the ocean, so it was well placed and the hotel feels as it if is located on a cliff (even though its not). There is ample space for activities such as a small game of cricket or soccer, kids will be very happy! The pool had the right amount of chlorine, such that your eyes were not burning afterwards, and skin is not excessively dry, despite the fact that we spent a considerable amount of time in the pool. The house-keeping staff was exceptionally friendly, ensuring that we had a nice clean room at all times. Housekeeping was always done promptly and without a disturbance to the guest.

The Meals - Whilst breakfast was buffet, the remaining meals were a la carte (due to the off-peak season). We were given the choice of in-room dining but due to the pleasant atmosphere, we decided to have our meals in the restaurant. We were generally served by a gentleman (Ranatunga) who ensured that our food was served and cleared off the table once consumed in a very timely manner. Best of all we were kept well entertained by the stories he told us, who needs a TV! The chef personally met us and asked us if we had any special preferences. We didn’t take him up on the tempting offer as we felt that we were already spoilt enough, but nonetheless he surprised us with some amazing dishes and the presentation was immaculate. Rich and delicious food with impeccable presentation proved that dining was perfect and up to standard!

The Beach - The Hotel has two paths to the beach. Both are very accessible and easy to travel through. One side involves a small trek, which goes through a miniature forest and in the end you will be greeted by a rocky beach. You cannot swim here and walking is a little difficult due to the rough sand (comprised of broken shells) but it has a good view and worth the experience. The other entrance to the beach was much more welcoming, did have a few rocks but fantastic view points and a decent part of the beach for you to sit and chill. The beach felt privatized, in the sense that it belonged to the hotel since due to the rocks at the end made it difficult for the general public to invade the beach. The water felt and looked remarkably fresh.

The Foot Massage - So we were told to choose a time of our liking. Once we informed them of the time subsequently, we got a courtesy call once everything was setup. The Spa is located on the top most floor. I was escorted to a massage room by the gentleman who was going to attend to me, whilst my wife got escorted to another massage room by a lady. Massage rooms over-looked the terrace which over-looked the ocean. The A/C room was fitted with two massage beds and a cinnamon flavored oil lamp. I had a very experienced masseuse who enlightened me on several facts which I didn’t know and was rather interesting. At the end of the 30 minute massage, I felt as if i was walking on feathers, lubricated thoroughly with oil, I could actually feel the blood in my feet! My wife felt the same.

The Anniversary Dinner - Many surprises here. Initially, the hotel gave us the option of having an exclusive table set up on the terrace on the rooftop, overlooking the ocean but due to a slight drizzle, we couldn’t push through with this. However, the hotel setup a romantic candle lit dinner table right on the pool-side deck without our knowledge. Oil lamps were also set up right around the pool creating a very ambient atmosphere. They then switched off all the lights in the hotel, i mean every single light that faced the front of the hotel (luckily we were the only guests on our last night) and we had a three-man band playing some calming and wonderful Sinhala songs whilst we were served a scrumptious and well-presented 3 course meal! The experience was amazing! They even made us a small anniversary cake! Whilst we were greedily hammering our delicious meal, they secretly went in to our room and did a quick clean up and decorated the room with balloons and made towel swans and a heart. Difficult to describe but it was serious eye candy!

We are truly grateful to the staff and management of Sooriya resorts, they made our anniversary very special and memorable and I look forward to seeing them soon. I do highly recommend couples and families to try this place out and I would recommend that you do so during the off-peak season where they will pay even more attention to you.

A Special word of thanks to the following;

• Thanuja Perera - General Manager

• Shanaka - Front Office Manager

• Sampath - Front office executive

• Ajith - Guest Welfare

• Dinesh - Chef

• All those who served us at the restaurant

• House Keeping Staff

Room Tip: Really recommend the Deluxe Room, 115 (its the best of the deluxe rooms)
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DIL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sooriyaresortspa, Director at Sooriya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks.. this is almost like a report from a happy 'secret guest' which you were not.... so we really.. really appreciate you taking the time to write up this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2018

By the shades of greenery and the sound of sea, this hotel is located in an amazing spot. The view is so worth to be there and the staff is friendly. We loved the untouched and unpolluted beach right around the hotel. The full moon gave an amazing view during the night. Food is so yum and since we are vegetarians, they gave an extra care about our meals. The pool is also big and not so deep. So you can have a good swim there, without a worry. They have cozy seats facing to the sea and don't miss the chance to have a star gazing at night. We were staying at a suit room and it had plenty of space for us. I would recommend this place to anyone who would love nature, sea and beaches. Hope the hotel staff will keep those beautiful beaches unpolluted in future as well. Plus you will definitely need to watch the sunrise in the morning.

Room Tip: Corner suits are more quite and have privacy with a good view of the Indian ocean
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ruwanthika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sooriyaresortspa, Director at Sooriya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks.. I think you have very well understood the raison d'être of our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2018

The service from the staff was exceptional and room conditions in immaculate condition. Would highly recommend this resort to couples, family and friends. Met the General Manager, Mr. Thanuja Perera and he was very hospitable and down to earth.

The restaurant serves good food and their grill corner is something to look forward to.

Mahandra
Singapore - 9 June 2018

Room Tip: travelled during off peak season and they have good rates
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahan3665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sooriyaresortspa, Director at Sooriya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your feedback.. really appreciate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2018 via mobile

Sooriya is a well set up, clean hotel in a beautiful location. Our room was lovely with great views.

Unfortunately being the off season we were the only 2 guests in the hotel which could have left the stay feeling a bit empty. However the staff went absolutely above and beyond to make our stay as special as possible; they were all fantastic - really polite and helpful.

Also had a fantastic morning yoga session - would thoroughly recommend

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank zoe1435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sooriyaresortspa, Director at Sooriya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your vote of confidence.. pleased you enjoyed your stay.. sometimes having a whole hotel to yourselves and all the attention is sheer bliss.. but on the other hand, if you wanted to have a place buzzing, we can understand that it would not be the case..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews