We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
52
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth of francedaily excursionscanal dutwo weekswithin easy driving distancenear futurespectacular viewslittle piece of heavenmealsvineyardssettingshawveroniquepianohometerracehouse
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 54 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed her for six days and five nights, and we couldn't recommend it highly enough. Sally and Peter were amazing hosts, and we felt very much at home there. Their house is beautiful and the setting even better. Our room was very spacious with views looking out to the vineyards and the surrounding hills. Beautiful. Peter prepared some amazing dishes and desserts to rival any restaurant. They shared meals with us too, which was fantastic. My husband had worked with Sally on a tailor-made itinerary that provided us an opportunity to visit several of the local villages. We had a splendid time, and wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnviroQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2014

We stayed here with Sally and Peter to end a very busy holiday, visiting friends in France. We just wanted a relaxing time reading and swimming somewhere in a quiet setting, but not too far from Beziers. This was the perfect setting and expectations were exceded on every front. We were also able to dine in on each of the nights meaning we could eat great food and drink local wines without worrying about taxis. In particular, due to our very exacting dietary needs (no gluten or dairy), Peter and Sally were able to accommodate us with other guests, which made our life a whole lot easier.
The rooms were very comfortable and ours had a lovely view across the local vineyard. We would definitely recommend them to others and hope to stay there again next time we are visiting.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marcopoloKunming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We had a lovely 2 nights at Domain La Veronique. As we had been quite active for the previous 4 days cycling along the canal du Midi, we thought it would be good to have a couple of restful days. Sally and Peter's place was the perfect choice. Their lovely house is situated amongst the vineyards with a fantastic view, as they are fairly elevated. The food was all prepared by Peter and was fantastic quality as he has many years experience as a chef. Meals were sociable occasions: Sally and Peter ate with us and other guests also if around. If environment, food and aesthetics (and meeting people) are important to you when choosing accommodation this is definitely the place to go.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 595AudreyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed over 5 days mid July as a family and had a wonderful time; excellent house, swimming pool and Peter and Sally made us very welcome in a really easy, laid back way. Peter's cooking is fantastic and he's very happy to cook whatever you fancy - my idea of heaven. Both Peter and Sally really know the local area so point you in the direction of the best wines / markets / views / walks / beaches etc and altogether by far and away the best small hotel we've stayed in by a country mile. And we've stayed in a few.

Peter also sorted a drinks and canape party we held at the house for some friends locally - around 25 people and did it excellently; canapes inventive and delicious and the local fizz plus red and white wines really good quality and chosen by him with care and local knowledge.

Just go........you'll love it.

Room Tip: Only three rooms, two upstairs, one downstairs - all doubles or two singles, all ensuite and smart bathrooms. Rooms upstairs have view, downstairs room tucked away and rather lovely.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2014

My wife and I spent a week there in July 14 and had a great time, wonderful food and fabulous sight seeing each day. This was our second visit and Peter & Sally Shaw make you feel like part of the family and it is relaxing and quiet with the property surrounded by vineyards . My wife is a coeliac and can only eat gluten free food and this was no trouble for Peter the chef. The other guests who were there at the same time never knew that the meals were gluten free. They were prepared like a 5 star restaurant. This is a really fabulous place to stay if you want to get away.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Aalefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews