We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, relaxing stay in the countryside.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Farmer's Cottage

The Farmer's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Farmer's Cottage
Lounge King Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The Farmer's Cottage
Lounge
King Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Terrace
Pool Area
Kitchen
Pool
Manoir Approach
Manoir from courtyard
The vines at Les Roches
Chateau at Saumur
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bouille-Loretz, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The_Brigh...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful, relaxing stay in the countryside.”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a great week staying in the farmers cottage. Phil and Janet were there to welcome us warmly even though we arrived earlier than expected. The facilities were great, the cottage has everything you need for a comfortable stay and the pool area was great for a lounge in the sunshine. We've already recommended the cottage to friends and would certainly be happy to return :o)

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suepartz
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Gite with very helpful owners”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The Gite had everything we could have needed along with the private pool and the piece of quiet for a nice relaxing holiday. The beds were comfortable and having the patio to eat outside of an evening was ideal. We visited Samaur Chateau where a performance was included in the visit and this added to the great day we had looking around. We also went to La Fleche Zoo which was fantastic as it had bears, polar bears and we saw some baby white lions, the enclosures were very large and the animals seemed at ease even though it was over 30 degrees.

The owners of the Gite were extremely helpful when unfortunately my husband required the hospital, Phil & Janet helped us with making us feel at ease, phoning to see if they could help and translating with the local nurses. They even helped us pack the car as my husband could not lift when he came out of hospital.

The area surrounding the Gite is wonderful countryside and so relaxing, we would recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C
2 reviews
“Great gite in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a lovely week in Farmers Cottage. Janet and Phillip were extremely welcoming and helpful. The gite had everything we needed and more. We made very good use of the lovely private pool and our son (8) enjoyed playing on the Table Football in the games room. The gite is in a really good location for so many attractions- Puy du Fou, Futuroscope, Doue la Fontaine Zoo, many chateaus and of course the local wineries. We found the locals to be super friendly and would love to return again to do all the things we hadn't time to do..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nbaker201...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very well located for sightseeing”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife , adult son and I enjoyed a warm and sunny stay. The accommodation was exactly as described, very well equipped with English TV and a private pool which we really appreciated. We were very well located for many of the places we had earmarked to visit, particularly the chateau at Angers, as well as Saumur and Chinon, but the Bioparc at Doue la Fontaine was a wonderful surprise and well worth a visit. Phil and Janet were very welcoming.and helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of facilities/ equipment
Liked least: Limited village facilities
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashir...
Parbold, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday home!”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The cottage was clean and comfortable and as described on the website; in fact we found the cottage to be more spacious than we expected. The cottage was extremely well equipped and the welcome gifts were a lovely touch. The grounds were large with plenty of space to play and there was a raised terrace on which to relax and enjoy the peaceful setting. The cottage is on the edge of a small, quiet village( with a bakery and grocery shop) and there are plenty of things to do within 30 minutes; chateaux, zoos, canoeing, tree top trails and within 60 minutes the amazing Puy du Fou "theme park". - we really recommend this! The hosts, Phil and Janet, were very helpful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble- and our children enjoyed making friends with their dogs. We would definitely recommend Farmer's Cottage as an ideal base to explore the beautiful Loire Valley!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mourneman...
Co Down
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A perfect getaway”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a fabulous week in Farmer's Cottage in early July, and were extremely impressed with Phil & Janet's attention to detail. The cottage is fabulous and full of character - even better than it looks in the photographs! This is the perfect place for peace and tranquility, and there's no better way to relax than spending some time in the private pool - which our boys got so much fun out of! Some nice places to visit in the area as well, and Phil & Janet were very helpful hosts. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet!
Liked least: The insects!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEGA4
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday cottage”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Farmers Cottage in August 2014 and had an absolutely fantastic holiday.

The setting of Farmers Cottage is peaceful and relaxing. The only sound to be heard (apart from our kids & us!) was the odd tractor.

The cottage is well equipped with everything you could need during your stay. The double bed is one of the comfiest we’ve ever slept in.

Janet & Phil are warm and welcoming hosts, discrete but always on hand to chat and answer any questions. You couldn’t ask for better hosts.

We enjoyed spending days relaxing around the totally private pool and our two girls (7 & 3) were in their element playing in the water and on the vast lawn.

The location is ideal for visiting local towns and further afield. We would recommend a visit to Puy du Fou.

We left France feeling recharged and with many happy memories.

We will certainly return to Farmers Cottage in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Privacy and sole use of pool
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$799
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing