We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:15 a.m. - 4:15 p.m.
Review Highlights
Great experience!

Our tour guide was Carys and she was exceptional. Her passion and wealth of knowledge was second to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Roathresident
,
Cardiff, United Kingdom
A great and educational Royal Mint Experience

Had a amazing time at the Royal Mint Experience. Our guide Cerys was so knowledgeable and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
sharon f
Read all 1,975 reviews
  
Reviews (1,975)
Filter reviews
1,975 results
Traveller rating
1,400
388
129
34
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1,400
388
129
34
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal mint gift shop our tour guide well worth a visit coin making take home all ages interesting facts coin collector couple of hours other countries factory floor car park whole experience great visit exhibition area half term
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,066 - 1,071 of 1,975 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2017

We went as part of a group to the Royal Mint Experience and were very impressed. We went through the usual security checks then onto the Experience, guided by Matt who was excellent and very knowledgeable, making the trip very interesting. The tour lasted for around 1 hour 10 minutes and afterwards we were able to purchase items from the shop and also the cafe. We also enjoyed stamping out our very own personalised one pound coin which was then placed into a presentation pack (£5 for one coin or £7.50 for two).

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anthony W, General Manager at The Royal Mint Experience, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Hi Barbara R. I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed your trip to The Royal Mint Experience. We appreciate your kind words and hope that you share them with friends and family, to help spread the word about our new attraction. I'll ensure your feedback about Matt is passed on for you too! We hope to welcome you again soon. In the meantime, keep in contact with us on Facebook (/theroyalmintexperience) and Twitter (@RoyalMintExp). Many thanks, Anthony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

Parking was a bit of a nightmare, we ended up in two 'wrong' car parks before finding the one we were meant to park in. The tour itself is really interesting, kudos to Matthew, our guide, who was knowledgeable and friendly. The tour of the factory is very interesting but as a working environment with high security much of it is spent observing people behind thick glass. However, the exhibition is excellent and very informative.
The pressing your own coin thing is little more than an overpriced gimmick, you pay £5 to push a button to make a £1 coin in a card display case. If we'd known this we wouldn't have bothered, to be honest.
The gift shop is also ridiculously overpriced...comment was passed that the mint makes its money in the gift shop not the factory. That said it was really interesting and we did thoroughly enjoy it.

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anthony W, General Manager at The Royal Mint Experience, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Hi Nicola B. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm sorry to hear that you weren't happy with the coin-press or the prices charged in the gift shop. We want all our visitors to have the best possible experience so I'll make sure your comments are fed back. It's great to see that your tour guide Matthew was knowledgeable and friendly - I'll ensure this is passed on for you too. Many thanks, Anthony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2017

We have just visited this experiance, we were greeted by a friendly group of people from the ticket office, security, and introduced to a lovely tour guide. She explained the different processes in simple but informative way, she answered questions and made the whole morning go smoothly, My wife used a disability scooter, which was great as all the exibition is on one level, and at one stage another guide came over and spent time with her explaining a process. We had such a great visit we will probably come back.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anthony W, General Manager at The Royal Mint Experience, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Hi MichaelW032. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We're so pleased that you and your wife enjoyed the trip. It's great to see that we were able to meet your needs and that our colleagues were friendly and informative throughout. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Many thanks, Anthony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2017

This was more interesting than I thought it was going to be. Lots of historical facts about the Mint and its origins as well as up to date information about how our coinage is made.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Ivorbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anthony W, General Manager at The Royal Mint Experience, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Hi Ivorbell. Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We're glad you found it interesting and that you're happy with the facts and information you received. We want all our customers to have the best possible experience and your comments and feedback are very much appreciated. Many thanks, Anthony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2017

I visited with a party of 12. We had booked so our time was allocated. As we were early arriving we stopped in the cafe for coffee and cake. The drinks were good as were some of the cakes. A couple of us had toasted tea cakes which looked lovely in the display. Sadly, after being squashed in the toasting machine, they ended up flattened and crisp. One of our party asked for an extra pat of butter and was charged 15p!!! Why? Because of the flattening of the teacake, two pats of butter were not enough as they hardly covered the surfaces. That aside, the tour was a good experience. The displays were good and well labelled. Our Guide, Alison, spoke clearly and was informative. She was confident and more than happy to answer questions. Alison didn't hurry us and made sure all those in the Group could see and hear so they got the most out of the visit. She gave us lots of surprising facts. I will look more closely at the coins in my purse in future. I was amazed to find we had spent over three hours in the Royal Mint, time which passed quickly because it was so interesting. The Gift Shop was well laid out with a variety of items to suit all tastes.

Date of experience: September 2017
3  Thank RedJen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anthony W, General Manager at The Royal Mint Experience, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Hi RedJen2014. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. I'm sorry to see that the teacakes ended up flattened and crispy by the toasting machine and I apologise for any disappointment this caused to you. I'm also sorry you're unhappy with the extra charge for the butter that didn't quite cover the teacakes. We want all our visitors to have the best possible experience, and your comments will be addressed with a view to improve this moving forward. I'm glad The Royal Mint Experience itself was enjoyable, informative and went at a pace that suited the group. These comments have been passed on to Alison and the team. Many thanks, Anthony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews