We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday party”
Review of African Queen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
African Queen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Enjoyed a very memoriable 39th birthday party aboard The African Queen. The food was excellent. Bonny and Andy are excellent hosts. Truly an amazing experience on The African Queen. Very different party venue and well worth it!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moffett2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

We were greeted and treated wonderfully for the whole of our different weekend. The staff could not have been more accommodating the South African based food, prepared by the captains wife Bonni was absolutely excellent and we would recommend this as an enjoyable experience with a difference. Our host, captain Andy was jolly and extremely friendly without being over familiar. He was knowledgeable and put all of us new shipmates at our ease. The time wizzed. The bedroom/en-suite was adequate, well equipped if on the cosy side.The crew Bobby and Cherry could not have done more to help us enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Windsor14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The owners Bonny & Andy along with their crew of Cherry & Bobby provide an excellent riverboat cruise, along with very good cabin accomodation, full english breakfast and three course evening meals. All to a high standard, and at the price offered a bargain in our view.
It helps that you can get on with the other people on the cruise as you are all together on the boat during the cruise and at dinner times. On our stay we went with another couple of friends but the other 3 couples were not known to us. However we all got on very well which was great. Not sure the fact that all the dinner tables were together would be to everyone's liking if you were going as part of a romantic break.
This was a completely new experience for my wife and I but we had a great time and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saltyb_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I booked this as a 60th birthday suprise for my husband taking along 6 of our best friends. The weekend was a great success which will be talked about for years to come. The boat was exactly as i expected, rooms small but very comfortable. The bar,lounge area was cosy and warm.We met up with two other couples who had to put up with a lot of banter but luckily seemed to enjoy our company. Food was excellent and service outstanding with Bobby and his wife Cherry doing anything they could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. I choose this break because i felt Andy would respond well to our party's sense of humour and he certainly did. We had a great party Saturday night dancing and laughing till the early hours. The trips down river were relaxing and some of the houses were amazing. The dvd of the trip was a lovely suprise and well worth the £5.Overall an enjoyable weekend well worth the risk after seeing it on The Hotel Inspector. Thank you to Andy,Bonnie ,Cherry and Bobby for everything.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Had seen the African Queen on The Hotel Inspector and wanted something different for my husband's birthday. What a lovely time we had! The en-suite room was small but well equipped and comfortable. We sat on the deck having drinks and met the other guests, a mixed group who we found very pleasant including a group of four from the east end of London who were great fun.
We were lucky with glorious weather as we sailed up the Thames, waving to all and sundry, sipping drinks or the tea/coffee that was always forthcoming. Our host was chatty without being overpowering, full of great stories and anecdotes, always willing to help.
Dinner was exceptional, great food, well cooked. Breakfast, perfect.
We spent the second night in Henley-on-Thames, spending the afternoon enjoying the Regatta, returning to sit with drinks on the deck, watching boats sail by and all the colour of the Regatta.
Overall one of the best weekend trips we have done.

Room Tip: you can ask for the 'honeymoon' room which I believe is bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Val186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

I surprised my mother with this weekend, for her birthday. It was slightly pre-season so there were 8 passengers instead of 12. We liked this group size, and are still in touch with new friends we made that weekend - other passengers. Everyone got along well - lucky for four pairs of complete strangers. We always found lots to talk about.
Bonny is a very talented cook and we loved all the meals. We didn't realize until the end why Cherry was taking so many photos. We still watch the photo DVD that she and Karen made from those photos.
It cannot be overstated how relaxing it is to be on the river, seeing the houses on shore, people and pets on the tow path, rowing teams, all sorts of birds, the alpaca farm, even hot air balloons. And of course the gorgeous landscape, and passing through the locks. Luckily our Saturday was glorious and sunny, for mid-March.
The en-suite cabins had all we needed. Comfortable bed and fluffy duvet, and we slept very well.
I hope we can cruise again on the African Queen someday. Thank you Bonny, Andy, Cherry and Karen for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WayOuterBorough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Second time around aboard Andy & Bonny's floating hotel, and it was every bit as good as the first time, 1 year ago.
Brought the family this time, we were celebrating birthdays, wedding anniversary and retirement. Such a friendly and relaxing place to be,beautiful spot on the Thames,gorgeous scenery. Bonny & Andy are excellent hosts, Bonny's meals are so yummy (& thankyou for the surprise celebration cake complete with sparklers!). Andy's quiz was chaotic fun (don't think John Humphries has too much to worry about though), and the crew, Cherry and Bobby really friendly and cheerful, nothing too much trouble for them. Cherry's dvd of our cruise makes a lovely memento.
Cabins and beds really comfortable, even for my 6ft sons, we all really enjoyed our weekend, and would definately recommend to anyone looking for a get-away-from-it-all break. Would love to return and spend longer aboard the African Queen.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to African Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Queen

Address: Mapledurham Estate, Mapledurham RG4 7TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Mapledurham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mapledurham
Price Range: C$89 - C$168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — African Queen 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a rich and colourful past which includes Holland and Ireland, The African Queen has battled the Irish Sea to come to rest upon the Thames just outside Reading in an area of outstanding natural beauty and historical interest. With comfortable ensuite cabins and bar and restaurant, this is a unique opportunity to stay near Reading in special surroundings whether your visiting for business or pleasure! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
African Queen Hotel Mapledurham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing