We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
70
42
21
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
42
21
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblueberry piecakesaladmountainssaunamapsroutemilesviewswaitressfrenchwalks
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 141 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights to do some walking in the mountains. The weather wasn’t as good as we hoped but we managed to get in two good walks in the area. The owners were friendly and helpful with maps and routes.

The room was basic and comfortable. It would be good to have some tea and coffee making facilities in the room particularly as the Auberge itself was closed on the Monday when we were staying. Breakfast was continental style and sufficient with fresh coffee on request. Would have liked more fruit available but that’s just a personal thing.

We are here two nights and the food was very good - the chefs ravioli was to die for! My husband ate their blueberry pie with coffee in the afternoons and loved it.

Used the sauna and pool - was a bit surprised to be charged for this given the run down nature of the building though.

All in all a great place to stay if you like being out in nature. The views are great and its comfortable and welcoming.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TibbsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2017

My wife and I stayed 2 nights here and had a great time and will definitely return. Great hotel in a great setting. Food and staff were excellent.The room was spacious and had a brilliant view. Pool onsite and access from the door to miles of great hikes.

Recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2017 via mobile

We stopped off here for an impromptu lunch whilst driving through the area. The food was really good. I had a cassoulet the which was so tasty. Beautifully presented and lovely fresh ingredients. Reasonably priced. Great desserts, freshly made. Our waitress spoke a little English and we managed a little French. The food came promptly. We sat indoors as it was not warm enough to dine outside. The views across the valley are stunning. I would definitely eat here again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2016

This hotel is set in a lovely location, and we can't fault them for the poor weather we had while we were there, making hiking/cycling (the reason we chose the location) impossible. Had the weather been nice, the hotel grounds would have been delightful, with great views.

Both dinners that we had at the restaurant were simply amazing.

The staff was lovely-- even offered to warm up our baby's food before the restaurant opened for breakfast.

WiFi is only available in the restaurant. (As advertised)

The small cabin (we chose the small one-- there was no false advertising) was quite humid and musty. While I was expecting it to be rustic, I would have liked it if they had screens on the windows, as there is no a/c and it was quite hot at night. Our room was filled with mosquitos, spiders, crickets and flies. There were cobwebs/spiderwebs all over, and smushed bugs on the white walls. I think that they could have cleaned better before our stay, and during would have been nice, too, as you access the room directly from outside and it was a muddy few days.

There is an extreme lack of outlets in the room, making it rather inconvenient to charge devices or boil water for a baby bottle.

The location would be great if you could hike or cycle, but if you want to see nearby towns, it's rather inconvenient.

The hotel doesn't pretend to be something that it isn't, so I can't fault them. It was just a bit tight, musty and rustic for our purposes.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

Excellent site and views (the outside dining area is second to none), good food and very friendly staff. A wonderful place to relax for a couple of days. Unfortunately the rooms, or at least ours, were dank and smelling of mold, the product of wood paneling, made worse by the fact we had to keep windows and doors closed because of flies. A simple fix of screens would allow air in to the rooms and alleviate the problem. But overall a nice place and well worth a visit.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jazz11guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews