We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, over attentive service”
Review of LE MAHARAJAH

LE MAHARAJAH
Ranked #19 of 115 Restaurants in Evreux
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed December 8, 2017

Trying to be authentic, but missing the mark. The service was slow when ordering, the food was served on plates that were too big to fit on the small table, and as we did not book, we were squashed in the corner, once others had sat down, they had to move for us to able able to get up from the table. The food was very good, hot and tasty, but spoiled by the two waiters, asking if everything was ok, constantly. Very busy with locals, so would book a better table and would go back again.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelTrax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 157 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2016 via mobile

If you tired of Normandy cousins it's a place you want to visit.
Decent Indian food. Not the best one but a very good to give you a kick with Flavors and Hot Spices.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank RGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We ate here on Monday night May 13, 2013. On Mondays. In this part of France, not much is open. Three of us ate here. I had chicken Masala, friend had beef Masala and daughter had a vegetarian dish. All was good. A bit small compared to Indian in an American restaurant, but perfectly acceptable. If you like your Indian food a bit of curry punch, you will have to ask them to make it spicy. On the scale of low, medium and spicy, by default it comes pretty lame ( but still very good). We also had nan. The Indian staff didn't seems to speak much English, which seemed odd since typically Indians do. We wanted to share one order of nan at (2.5 Euros) but they brought 3 orders. Clarify clearly what you want before waiter leaves the table. They have a decent menu. The fixed price meal for 2 courses stared at 15.5 euros. An entire alone started at around 9.00. Had a Demi bottle of Cote de Rhone at 9.00 euros. It wasn't too bad.

It's one of the only restaurants open on a Monday, but there wasn't much of a crowd at 8:00 pm. Don't let that stop you. I'd go back again.

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Very nice little place with good Indian cuisine. It does have a little French interpretation to the menu, but very nice indeed.
make sure to try mango lassi there. Not as much spicy as usual Indian. Salad and naan is very good.

Date of visit: November 2011
Thank al3xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Staying for one Saturday night in Evreux on our way back from southern France we found all the good local restaurants were fully booked, so we decided to try a French Indian. We felt sorry for the many locals who obviously frequented this restaurant as the food was really poor. Our starter platter of samosas, tikka, and bahjis was clearly warmed up in the microwave. We got one poppadum between two people. The main course curries were clearly made by pouring pre-pared sauce over pre-cooked meat. We are used to good Indian food at home, but it certainly hasn't come to Evreux.

Date of visit: September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank nausikaa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LE MAHARAJAH also viewed

 

Been to LE MAHARAJAH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing