We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
54
45
29
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
45
29
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslanding stageitalian lakesonly downsidelovely walkdogs are alloweda lovely holidayboat triplovely hotellake vieweasy accessnice poolevening mealbusy roadorta san guilioisolapartstaxi
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 144 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2017

I'll give you the positives first. L'Approdo has a very good restaurant with a view of the lake that is lovely, inside and out on the terrace. It is also very clean.

Cons: The hotel lacks charm and that is an understatement. It is shabbily decorated. They have no sense of design and don't seem to care much to the upkeep of the building. The entrance to the hotel is ghastly, as you come down the drive, you look over two falling apart tennis courts one of which is used as a parking lot with cheap netting and fencing are everywhere as well as worn out astro turf. It's too bad because it would a wonderful setting without all that plastic.

The room we were given was BASIC and our little balcony looked over a roof with heat and air conditioning units right in front of us. We did have a view of the lake, but not without looking over the top of the roof equipment.

Some of this I blame on Booking.com
The hotel was practically empty, and while we booked the cheapest room, the hotel could have made us very happy if they had announced when we checked in that they had "upgraded" us to a larger lake front room. Instead they squeezed us into their worst room possible. Sometimes when you book through these online agencies, they give you the lowest room they have without thinking about the consequences. It's a state of mind in giving your guests the best you can and the staff was totally uninterested in customer service.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is lake front.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank NYCRitBit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2017

Hotel was excellent and staff very efficient and friendly the only downside it was very quiet Room we had was very nice but would of been better with a fridge as kit was very hot air conditioning worked well. It was nice we could get uk tv very acceptable also wifi in rooms that was a bit hit and miss at times. Breakfast was excellent and a good variety of food. Evening meal left a lot to be desired we were with a group and the food was quite bland and boring compared with the menu other guests had. Overall it was nice shame it's out of the way a car would be nice but as it was an escorted tour we were out most days. Sunday we had a free day and the pool was full of Italians and also the dinning room and the outside area were during the week we ate our lunch was crowded.

Room Tip: Room overlooking lake
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 400cookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2017

I found the hotel very friendly, clean, comfortable and good food. Although there was no single supplement I chose to pay for a lake view. My room 113 had been updated and was lovely overlooking the lake, landing stage and on the first floor. The balcony had two chairs and a table. There was also a fridge in the room necessary as the week I was there was very hot. I was on a coach holiday, there is no local transport so a car would be essential for travelling around. The hotel is very family friendly with swimming pool, beach, boat docking, restaurant with terrace on the lake. There is a lovely walk by the lake to a small well stocked supermarket for water and items forgotten. The little village has a small church and walks by the lake. From the hotel there are two islands to visit by boat do check timing as all boats don't stop at the hotel. Remember to take plenty of insect repellent as they come out at night. A lovely relaxing place to stay with a friendly staff and plenty to do.

Room Tip: Try to chose a lake view room which should be quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2017

Just stayed in this hotel for 1 week as part as a group holiday . Hotel needs to be updated our room was at the side over the restaurant not a great view and right next to a busy main road. Room very clean but very dark and not one set of drawers in sight in put any thing in .Hotel very very quite apart from the Sunday when we were there when all the locals arrived by boat and coach and took over the entire poolside and garden with their picnics and dogs so beware if you are staying staying there on a Sunday as I think this is a regular occurrence not very good for paying guests.

Room Tip: You'll have to pay extra for a quieter not next to the busy main road
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 779christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2017

We know full well that we are part of a coach party but we felt right from day one that we were treated as second class! This despite paying a very considerable sum and booking with a very high end tour company!

We were given very average food with little or no choice that led many in our party to complain via our tour manager to the hotel! Not only this the standard and speed of service leaves much to be desired!

The location is good from our lake view but thoroughly spoilt by letting all who want to who are not residents come in and use the facilities. No doubt making more money for the hotel but basicallytreating all residents as so they do not matter for either having priority to the facilities or just enjoying the beauty with peace and quiet!

And one more thing dogs are allowed in the restaurant - this should never be!

So be warned! Great location shame about respect for those who stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnM8366AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelapprodo, Direttore at Hotel L'Approdo, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2017

I received your note and it make me very sad, we love our job and we make all our best to reach our guest satisfaction. This is why in the last years, following Titan guests suggestions, we studied special menues in compliance with the needs presented by the agency, and certainly it is not our intention to treat this type of clientele differently from private ones; I'm sorry that you have misunderstood our purpose. We allow small dogs in hotel, in special rooms on request, they are accepted in the restaurant area in secluded corners or outside and only if we are sure they are very quiet and do not disturb, just to respect the tranquility of all the diners.
Michela Chiesa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews