We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
153
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
153
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pea soup boat ride homemade bread garden cove pan fried cod live entertainment can't wait to go again true newfoundland walking trails nightly entertainment would recommend this to anyone fantastic weekend fire pit wonderful place to visit this past weekend beautiful ocean rooms were perfect
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 165 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is an excellent way to experience authentic Newfoundland!
Boat rides, short hikes/trails, amazing food and service from local people as well as the ability to do other activities was wonderful. A bit of a scoff and scuff in the evening with Newfoundland music and mummers was awesome! A real slice of Newfoundland ways and hospitality.
Clean and comfortable rooms and bathrooms (warning for the bigger folks: the showers are quite small!) and no televisions or telephones in the rooms to bother you - fantastic! Newfie boilup on the way home back to Garden Cove was a great way to cap off a lovely two days.

The most stand out thing of this resort is the sense of home. You are invited to treat the homestead just as you would your own home and I really enjoyed that.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kat1301aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2012

what a place - we were a group of more than 20, adults, teenagers & kids. we had our own building which was great-the centre of the building was our play cards,games, chat and have a beverage meeting place. the bedrooms were all off this area and some on the second floor. the food, well let's first start with the homemade bread-outstanding-the soups the,fish-and if you didn't like fish they had chicken and for kids who don't like that they'll cook you kraft dinner, hot dogs, chicken fingers or whatever they have-dessert was delicious, as was breakfast.you can go into the kitchen any time to have a cup of tea or coffee or have a cookie. the entertainment at night at the main house was fabulous,one man band who told jokes and could sing-everyone was up dancing and singing(not just our group) along with him. the next day around 11 you board the boat to take you back to your vehicle - but along the way you have a great tour of the area and then they stop where you get off the boat and have delicious soup, sandwiches, and tea. the entire 2 days is so enjoyable, you can walk, paddle boat, canoe, swim or just sit and enjoy the scenery and peace and quiet. keep in mind it's not a 5 star hotel but you'll have had an experience that you won't forget easily.

Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5  Thank gr0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We went with friends and enjoyed stepping back in time. Starting with the boat ride to the island, playing horseshoes, hiking,enjoying the fresh bread, loving the kitchen party it was just the best. The other guest and the wonderful staff made this a high light of our time in Newfoundland. Would definitely recommend this experience to all.

Laura p
Oriillia int

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2012

If you are looking for a relaxing, enjoyable and inexpensive couple of days away from the hustle and bustle....away from telephones etc., Woody Island is the place to go! This is a getaway where you get a taste of real Newfoundland food and experience hospitality that Newfoundlanders are famous for...kitchen parties where you may dance to the music of local musicians, boat rides and old fashioned Newfie boilups etc. See the Woody Island Resort advertisement for more information. It's a place to meet new people and make new friends!

Woody Island is approximately a 2-hour drive from St. John's to Garden Cove where you will board a boat owned and operated by Loyola Pomroy. The approximately 45 minute boat ride will take you to a tourist lodge on Woody Island - one of the islands that was resettled in the 1950s and 60s.

Over the years, I've spent 5 Labor Day weekends at this resort and looking forward to more visits!!

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Violet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were there on July 18,2012. We loved the authenticity of the experience. We met some wonderful people, both the staff and the customers. It was our first Kitchen party and were thoroughly impressed, it was so much fun!
Mark and Terri,
Orillia, Ontario

Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank markd981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews