We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
153
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
153
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pea soup boat ride homemade bread garden cove pan fried cod live entertainment can't wait to go again true newfoundland walking trails nightly entertainment would recommend this to anyone fantastic weekend fire pit wonderful place to visit this past weekend beautiful ocean rooms were perfect
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 165 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Absolutely wonderful staff and service. Clean, simple rooms, comfortable beds with handmade quilts. Cannot say enough good things about the staff. They work so hard and are always smiling.

The first thing we were told was to consider ourselves at home. Go to the kitchen to make ourselves a cup of tea if we so desired. Many of the staff hold down more than one job. Dave, our evening entertainment, was also our wagon driver, he got the camp fire going for the boil up, dished up the food, loaded & unloaded the boat, and we saw him heading to one of the cabins with a mop & pail one morning. Our skipper, in addition to operating the boat, kept us informed of the history of the area, briefed us on what to expect, loaded and unloaded the luggage, food for the kitchen, laundry, etc.
We were four adult family members and we highly recommend this resort as a relaxing, low key getaway; however, it is not the type of place to bring children, infants, or anyone with a physical disability. There is no TV, Internet, nor activities for kids. The resort is run on a generator that is used only around meal times and during the evening entertainment. Everyone gathers in one large room, so tired or disruptive children can make it uncomfortable for everyone. There is a fair amount of walking as well as getting on and off the boat a number of times. The wagon ride was fun, but not for anyone who has a bad back or any pregnant women. Oh, the food...well, one will never go away hungry. The pea soup, fresh homemade bread & molasses--yum yum. Fresh cod, vegetables cooked to perfection, a hearty breakfast, all the second helpings (& even thirds) you could want--we never left the table hungry.

Room tip: I do not know if you can request a specific room, but my preference would be in the main lodge, upstairs, facing the water.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gloria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have been here twice and am planning to have my wedding Jack and Jill party there next year. The place is amazing, the experience of old time Newfoundland, the history, a resettled community, old graveyards and schools, nice walks, boating, kayaking, and enjoying a great scuff at night, a boat tour culminating in a lunch and music in a sheltered cove is all just amazing. Add to that an amazingly friendly crew who would smile and be at your beck and call.... AND the opportunity to make new friends.... I would HIGHLY recommend this trip to anyone. But it wouldn't be fair not to tell you about the Food! Amazing home cooking... hearty portions, served with a smile...and they will offer you more, and as much as you want! To walk in to the smell of freshly baked bread and fish frying... all while some of the guests are outside banging out a few tunes with their guitars and accordions...absolutely surreal.
You will keep coming back for more!

Room tip: All the rooms are clean and awesome, but i really enjoyed the view in the rooms facing the ocean in the main House, though the rooms in the lodge look awesome too!
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Manjuladevaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loyola P, Owner at Woody Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

HI Manjula

Thanks so much for your very kind words.

We look forward to seeing you again next year for your Jack and Jill Party. (We will set aside your favourite room for you!!!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We arrived on Woody Island around 11 am to the smell of freshly baked bread and pea soup! We had already made friends on the dock and on the boat trip over! People came from all over! One of our travellers was from Australia! We were shown to our room, a quaint, clean, airy room with homemade quilts and our own bathroom! We spent the day wandering the island and rowing a dory around the bay! The latter part of the afternoon we took advantage of the shady deck and kitchen bar where we opted for icy cold beers!!! We chatted the time away with our fellow travellers until the aroma from the kitchen drew us inside for a feast of fresh fish, vegetables and cottage pudding for dessert! Seconds were always available and noone left hungry! The dance/kitchen party started at 9:00 and included some fine traditional music!!!

After a good night's sleep and a hearty breakfast ( more homemade bread) the boat picked us up and we travelled to a cove for a boil up!!! Homemade soup, fresh bread, sandwiches and baked goods completed our meal!!! Onward then to Garden Cove where we bid our farewell to our new friends.

This was truly a fabulous trip! The entire experience was amazing, mostly so I think because of the exceptional employees of the place!

Upon arrival, the captain commented, "Make yourself at home" and that says it all! We were welcomed and made to feel at home from start to finish!

I would highly recommend this trip to anyone, young or old!!!

Date of stay: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRobere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loyola P, Owner at Woody Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hi JRobere. Thanks for the fabulous review! I am so glad you enjoyed your trip. Though we mostly host guests from the island of Newfoundland, we are always happy to entertain guests from other parts of the world like Australia (and we often do!) I will pass on your comments to all the staff on the island. We hope to see you again soon!

Loyola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We traveled to Woody Island Resort during their first trip of the year for 2013. We had an excellent time during our full weekend. The weather we had was ideal so that didn't hurt! We stayed in the large building to the left of the main house. Our room was plain but very comfortable and clean. We kept busy during our trip as we walked from our home location both directions from the business. Many other people took advantage of the weather and a few of them joined us on our walk. We found a few of the island's geochaches while we visited as well. The food was amazing. The staff was delightful. Highly recommended! We want to get our friends together for a trip in the summer.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Having been to Woody Island Resort three times now its a great place to get away from the everyday hustle and bustle. If you haven't been there before as you begin your journey you will start off with a boat ride to get to the resort and when you arrive as you approach you will get a wonderful smell of home made bread that has just being baked so you can eat it with along with the homemade pea soup. Then you will familiarize yourself how life was and how the people lived on the Island before it was resettled and the rest you will have to make the journey yourselves to experience a wonderful get away. Enjoy, We are planning to go back this summer with a group of family and friends from home and away.
FFY

Room tip: Rooms on the south side are quitter. We always book the room called The Marhha Stuart Room which was named after she visit the resort.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BFY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews