We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rafael Spinola Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Le Meridien St. Julians(Saint Julian's)
US$250
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Argento Hotel(Saint Julian's)
US$203
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The George Hotel(Saint Julian's)
US$187
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
InterContinental Malta(Saint Julian's)
US$221
US$182
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Malta(Saint Julian's)
US$352
US$316
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$288
US$251
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Valentina(Saint Julian's)
US$167
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
US$201
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Juliani(Saint Julian's)
US$206
US$184
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
2
11
12
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
11
12
8
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2008

What Great Staff
1 have just come back from a great stay at the rafael spinola
rooms were clean,beds comfy,and the hotel is central for all parts of st julians,the bus stop is 2 mins away and for 0.47 euro`s you can get to valletta,and then on to all parts of the island,particular praise must go th the staff who make you feel welcome,sonia on reception allways had a cheery hello,and was able to answer most problems,any she did not know she found out for you next day,well done everybody

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveller1959_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2007

This must have been one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in my entire life. I was in this hotel for six weeks as a part of an educationary programme, but these six weeks must have been the longest I've experienced. The entire hotel is dirty, and the staff actually does their dishes in the reception area cleaning them by hand, completely unacceptable by standards where they would was them sanitarily in a dishwasher. The hotel also receives a lot of noise, and you can pretty much hear anything going on in the hotel wherever you are in the building. At night the doors to the hotel close, and whenever someone rings the bell, the sound of the bell wakes you up at three in the morning, followed by the noise the staff makes with their keys.

The food is also terrible, and there was no variations at all. The hotel is slowly falling apart, and the floor tiles were cracked to, making it a very hazardous environment for people with limited vision, such as me.

Overall this is a terrible hotel, it is dirty, and I even got sick a couple of times because of the unsanitary conditions.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank otsegoim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2006

Thanks so much for a wonderful holiday. You all did so much to make us feel right at home. Hope to see you next year.
Ted and Esther Landymore from Suffolk

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaltaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2005

Where do I start? We wanted a "boutique" style near the nightlife, but not too close. The Rafael Spinola seemed to fit the requirements.

On arrival we found the location ok and, although the hotel and room where small, we were happy.

Unfortunately it was downhill from there. The room was dirty. Dust and dirt filling all sorts of gaps, the floor had old hair and rubbish on it. The bathroom floor and bath had old hair on it. The toilet seat was also dirty. Over the next 7 days...

No soap provided.
Sink not cleaned.
Toilet seat not cleaned.
Dust and dirt remained.

Finally we found a cockroach in bathroom (and captured it ourselves under a cup we had bought). We ask the staff to remove it, but 12 hours later it was still there. Complaining to reception, the receptionist asked if we could kill it ourselves! She eventually removed it.

2 nights later we came back late (around 2 am) to find perhaps 6 or so cockroaches "scatter" when we turned the lights on. Suffice to say we did not sleep that night! The staff/manager the next morning did not care at all and refused to even acknowledge a problem. We listed our (many) complaints then we moved to another room to calm down and shower.

We checked out and moved to another hotel, passing a pest control man on the way out.

This hotel is not suitable for tourist use. The staff are incapable of running it properly.

Avoid.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank jimthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2005

Just back from this place and I concur totally with what is written below. the hotel is tiny and situated in a rather dim street, off the main thoroughfare.

Inside the restaurant was a joke and the bar nonexistent. The breakfast was so bad we choose to eat elsewhere. The lift is tiny also and not for the faint hearted.

Staff were obnoxious at best and downright threatening at worst - our air conditioning was broken, as was the shower, and they simply refused to fix either. Beware of the night receptionist who will curse at you if you wake him!

Finally ive never stayed in anywhere quite like this, here in Northern Ireland this would be a guesthouse at best - not a 3* hotel.

Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Tullynagardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews