We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't stay anywhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mehlville
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Won't stay anywhere else”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I can't say enough good things about this place. I proposed to my girlfriend in St Louis while staying here and the staff was as excited about the news as if they were family. And that's really how they treated us the entire time we were there - like family. Even the guy working on the elevator greeted us with sincerity when we got on the elevator and wished us a good day when we departed. We even let the front desk decide our dining restaurants each evening (or at least they were very helpful with their advice) and only once did the restaurant they recommended not turn out with 100% satisfaction (and I'm certainly not going to hold the hotel staff responsible for a local restaurant's waitress's humdrum attitude towards her job). The cleaniless of the hotel was superb and the daily breakfasts went above and beyond our expectations (even though I would agree that the gravy wasn't the best I've ever eaten). We had no desire to go anywhere else for breakfast each morning, and that is always a good sign. We always seemed to miss the evening cookies, but it sure did smell good when we came back in (nothing smells quite like home as cookies baking!), and we did manage to swipe some of the leftovers afterwards. To summarize, the service is what sets this hotel far above its competition. We didn't stay in a $1500/night room, but they made us feel like we did. I can't say that you'd be stupid to stay somewhere else (as I'm sure there are other nice hotels in St Louis), but I certainly know where I'll stay the next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kodigabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonI55, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
It was a pleasure to have the two of you at our hotel for such a special occasion. We are delighted to know we were able to play such a big part in your engagement. We look forward to having you as our guests for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,136
    95
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
601
230
50
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
pella
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

great place to stay.... but i am also writing this review to say this Anyone that will be in. St louis should stop by MaCarthur Bakery. not only do they have the greatest pastries.... but they have a son that serve in our military. and i can not thank him enough for that....we all have our freedom because of these brave men.... he is now a disable vet. go and enjoy your favorite pastry as a thank you to him and our military, there are 3 bakeries 3055 Lemay Ferry Rd. 113 N Kirkwood Rd 13700 Olive Blvd.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kittyPella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonI55, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to experience one of our family owned businesses while in St. Louis. I will be sure to forward your kind thoughts onto the McArthur family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is by far, the friendliest, the cleanest, and most well-appointed Hampton's that I've stayed at in the country. The staff ALWAYS welcomes you through the front door and wishes you a good day on the way out. They always offer their complimentary cookies in the evening. The rooms are always excellent with very good internet service and a nice flat screen with plenty of channel selection. The rooms are set up very nicely on the 4th floor with seating area, spacious work area, nice bath and shower and wet bar at entry.

Room Tip: I always stay on the 4th floor but I believe that is reserved for frequent travelers of the Hilton R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgpostle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonI55, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Your review is exceptionally thoughtful and is exactly what we strive to provide for each one of our guests while they are away from home. We are delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we appreciated having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This Hampton Inn was absolutely sparking clean and our room was above average in cleanliness and roominess. I would definitely recommend ths Hampton Inn to anyone. I only have one complaint and that was that the gravy for the biscuits and gravy was terrible. haha. But the rest of the food was great. The staff was wonderful and the breakfast room was large and inviting. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdanielson2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonI55, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
We would like to thank you for staying at our hotel. We understand you have an abundance of options when traveling and appreciate your thoughtful comments about our facility and our staff. We welcome your criticism on some of our breakfast items. Unfortunately we have very limited control of what items we are allowed to provide but will certainly pass your feedback onto Hilton for improvement. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you as our guests another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

New Hampton Inn. Everything, including the staff, is top notch.
We stayed one night while traveling. Rooms clean and well appointed. Internet fine. Staff friendly.
Very good exercise room.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cupajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonI55, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
We are delighted you were able to stay with us while passing through. Your comments on our staff and facility are greatly appreciated! If you are in the area again, we would hope to have you as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I recently stayed a week at the very best Hampton Inn & Suites with the most remarkable experience ever! There are many hotels who provide customer service, but the difference between this Hampton and some other brand properties, are all the employees believe in customer service and to ensure your stay is the most comfortable, relaxing, enjoyable, and the feeling you are at home. Under the direction of Tommy Dempsey, General Manager, he instills customer service with every employee. I felt like Norm from Cheers! A truly place I belong! Emily and Jacob (Asst Manager) are the first two encounters during check in and two hours later, Emily remembered my name! The housekeeping staff really want to make your stay enjoyable, always asking how are you doing and is there anything requiring attention. The show Undercover Boss should use this Hampton as a model for others lacking the professionalism. Racheal is the housekeeper I met on break and she was very sincere and asked how was my stay? Traci provided one of the best breakfast bars I have ever encountered...cleanliness, professionalism, greeted all the guests, and ensured everyone received breakfast mints before heading to work. Linda provided the best cookies and milk I ever had at a Hampton...fresh and very delicious! We encountered many professional employees....too many to name. There was not a speck of dust anywhere; fans, lights, floor, absolutely none in the whole hotel! My recommendation to Hilton (Hampton) is plan to make your next Hampton commercial utilizing the professional staff at the Hampton located on Midamerica Lane! Thanks again for everything!

Room Tip: Higher floors based on request are better in my opinion and away from noise. My traveling companion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonI55, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Mr. T,
For someone who is on the road as much as you, this review is an accolade for our hotel. We truly have an amazing staff from top to bottom and are incredibly grateful that you noticed and felt the need to share with others your thoughts. From the entire staff at The Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis South, thank you for such a wonderful gesture and we hope we are blessed to have you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I only stayed one night for business. They were very nice and the room was very well turned out. Everything was clean. The bed though, had amazingly soft sheets, perfect down pillows, mattress was firm but plush. I hate big poofy fiberfill pillows. These down pillows were perfect, not too flat, but also very soft.
The apples downstairs were really good. I enjoyed the breakfast, seemed to have most things I would want. I smallish western omlette, which had good flavor, yoplait yogurts, cereals. I will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misodiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonI55, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We know being on the road is not easy and are pleased to hear you were very comfortable in your room. We look forward to seeing you when you return to the St. Louis area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mehlville
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
Address: 4200 Mid America Ln, Mehlville, Saint Louis, MO 63129-1202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Mehlville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mehlville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 is located just outside of St. Louis with easy access to downtown. The hotel is located near Anheuser Busch Brewery, which offers tours and tastings daily. Guests can enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Louis/South i-55
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South i-55 Hotel Mehlville
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing