We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
US$151
View deal
Expedia.comUS$151
Booking.comUS$151
TravelocityUS$151
CheapTicketsUS$151
Orbitz.comUS$151
Trip.comUS$151
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
7
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cabot trail cape breton hosts bay property
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 12 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2019

We have travelled quite extensively globally and I would put The Luckenbooth B&B right up their with the best of everywhere! It is a very well appointed, classy home with very large guest rooms. Donna-Lynne and Gary are exceptional hosts and cook wonderful breakfasts. They have a lot of local knowledge, which they are very happy to share and support local artisans for sure. They have anticipated your every need, and most definitely go that extra step for you. We will most definitely stay there again when we come back to Cape Breton. They have even been befriended by a few local foxes - yes the four legged kind! This is definitely deserves an 11 out of 10.

Room tip: The Inverary Room was delightful, but I am sure they all are.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bedazzledPortVila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exploration802541, Owner at The Luckenbooth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind words Bill & Brenda, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Luckenbooth. We enjoyed listening to your travel experiences and we hope to meet again at the Luckenbooth or in the South Pacific when we visit our daughter. We wish you safe journeys on all your travels and thanks again for choosing The Luckenbooth during your visit to the Cabot Trail! On Cape Breton Island.
Warm regards,
Donna-Lynn & Gary
The Luckenbooth Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

Recently re-opened under new ownership. Gary and Donna Lynn were more than accommodating. Went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Updated decor and clean, fresh feel in the rooms and in the common areas. Breakfast was big with several options.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exploration802541, Owner at The Luckenbooth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2018

Thank you Ben,
It was a pleasure hosting you & Chloe at the Luckenbooth, we hope we made your trip to the Cabot Trail a little more special.
With gratitude & thanks we bestow our Luckenbooth pin to keep you safe on all your travels.
Best regards,
Donna-Lynn & Gary
Luckenbooth Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We enjoyed our overnight visit with the owners making us feel like welcomed guests in their home. Wonderful breakfast, very tasty and well presented. Wayne and Frances were helpful with information about the area, what to do, how to get there, etc. The household is very well organized.
The slipper request was not a big deal, however, if a guest must wear shoes due to a foot problem such as plantar fasciitis it would be good to have shoe booties.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FVboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Luckenbooth B & B was a perfect place to recharge before touring the Cabot Trail. Our bedroom was very large and comfortable. Moreover, we could use the upper living room to sit and relax. Wayne and Frances are entertaining hosts and provide much information. The house is spectacular! Breakfast was delicious! My husband and I much preferred this B & B then most hotel/motels on the route.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pagfmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Run by the lovely Wayne and Frances, this B&B is situated on the water less than a half hour away from Baddeck and provided a great position to start our counter-clockwise tour of the Cabot Trail. As a seasoned B&B visitor, I understand the other reviews which have alluded to a certain rigidity (shoes must be removed at the door and slippers must be placed on a specific rack), as well as a sense of invading someone else's private residence (those in Rooms 1 & 2 have their own backyard entrance/exit, however you can't take the key). The helpful owners do make a concerted effort to enhance your visit to Cape Breton, as they try to get to know their guests and tell stories over breakfast. I'd recommend the B&B if you're looking to sit back, relax and get to know a lovely couple.

Room tip: Rooms 1 & 2 are in the walk-out basement with a shared sitting room and veranda. These likely offer the greatest sense of privacy.
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shannonlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews