We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Thalerhof”
Review of Hotel Thalerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Thalerhof
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Maria Alm
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We all had a good time at the hotel it was extremely welcoming and the management and staff made you feel at home.
The food was excellent, with plenty of choice at both breakfast and dinner time.
A ski bus stopped within 50 yards of the hotel and it was just a 5 minute ride to the main ski area. For the intermediate skier it was possible to take a lift from behind the hotel and then make your way over to the main area without catching a bus.
Excellent holiday and hotel and I would certainly go again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook
1  Thank MollieDukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Thalerhof is a real gem of a hotel, family run with great staff who are all very friendly and helpful, they even helped me arrange a surprise birthday cake for my husband via email before we arrived. The food is lovely, high quality and plenty of it especially after a days skiing! The hotel is modern but still cosy, relaxed and welcoming for couples, groups and families. We loved the welcome and goodbye notes and a great touch was their daily newsletter with breakfast that gave you the weather, local info and what was on that day or evening etc. The Spa is very good with a great sauna and steam room facilities, if you time it right you can avoid the children (who are technically not allowed in but can swarm the place as the high up buzzer to get in, really doesn't fox them!)
We had a basic bedroom which had a lovely, dramatic view of the mountains and was functional but very comfortable and had everything we needed.
Overall we can't wait to go back and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMH0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We had a lovely week at this hotel. It was well positioned for access to the ski slopes. On return a bus was required from the large ski area, but not from the slopes at Maria Alm itself. This was not a problem though. A ski hire shop is close by. The food was lovely. The rooms were ideal and very clean. It is one of the most friendliest hotels I have stayed in. The staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zed1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

This family hotel owned by the family Hörl is very cosy.
The breakfast and the diner is super.
Very clean rooms.
A nice pool.

A personal touch from the family Hörl to the guests

We really felt ourselves welcome.
Normally we do not go back a second time, because the second time is disappointing.
But here we went back a second time and guess what...... We are planning to go back a third time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pa3ddg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2010

Stayed with a large mixed age group at this hotel for a week in Feb 10. Bedrooms had all the necessary amenities with good views and quiet area. Food was exceptional and plentiful with lots of variety. Breakfast hearty... Abit of a trek to the lifts but you could ski back on an evening to nearly the hotel door. Bus was nearby and frequent, all in all a good location and good standard of accommodation for ski holiday. Missed a Bath though! Spa OK pool abit cool..

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshirebreakaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2009

This has to be one of the friendliest hotels I have stayed at. From the moment we arrived, to our departure we were looked after, well-fed and treated brilliantly.
The staff speak good English and took my attempts to speak German very well, including replying back in German when I made the effort.
The room was exactly like the one in the brochure, good-sized, comfortable bed and lounge chairs with a lovely balcony. The only downside was it was two floors up over the bar which played the same 80s tracks and "She'll be coming round the mountain" in German at the same time each day.
The Dengl Arms bar was cosy, with a warm fire and friendly staff - free schnapps when you went in.
We were given our own dining table each night and the waiting staff were so friendly and helpful. The food was pretty good most nights, good selection of salads to start and more than enough courses. You had a different menu each evening and there was always something good to eat.
Breakfast was good - the chef would cook any type of eggs and spoke both German, English and Hungarian!!
The pool below was decent and clean, although a little cold for me. The sauna area was relaxing although we didn't feel comfortable with the thought of being naked so gave this one a miss!
However the massage was very relaxing - this is only available on Tues/Fri so you need to book.
The ski-bus stops just outside and the locker is located in the cellar - the boot rack is heated so you can dry off your boots overnight.
On Tuesday evening, the ski school give a demonstration which is worth seeing.
The only downside for us was the lack of a Nielson rep - we never saw her until the last day!
But the hotel staff helped enormously and we worked out that we could get a bus to either Aberg or Hintermoos which was free and would then give us access to the mountain range.
Maria Alm is quiet and this hotel is perfect if you want a quiet break with good skiing and friendly people.
We're booking this hotel next year - but not with Nielson!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caffeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank annette2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie H, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Thalerhof, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maria Alm
0.3 km away
Hotel Eder
Hotel Eder
#1 of 7 in Maria Alm
258 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Lohningerhof
Hotel Lohningerhof
#4 of 7 in Maria Alm
31 reviews
0.3 km away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Maria Alm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Urslauerhof Berg & Spa
Urslauerhof Berg & Spa
#3 of 7 in Maria Alm
33 reviews
0.1 km away
Alpenland Sporthotel
Alpenland Sporthotel
#2 of 7 in Maria Alm
205 reviews
4.5 km away
Hotel Ritzenhof
Hotel Ritzenhof
#2 of 4 in Saalfelden am Steinernen Meer
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thalerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thalerhof

Address: Hochkoenigstrasse 27, Maria Alm 5761, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Maria Alm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Maria Alm
Price Range: $289 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thalerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star hotel in Maria Alm, the Hotel Thalerhof, bids you welcome to the province of Salzburg in Austria. Enjoy relaxing or sporty holidays at the majestic Hochkönig massif in Austria. Would you love to enjoy summer or winter holidays in Austria? Let the mountain environment of the Hochkönig massif enchant you. Your holiday hotel in Maria Alm sits on a picturesque high plateau of the Hochkönig massif near Salzburg. With its wonderful view of the surrounding alpine peaks the 4-star hotel in Maria Alm, the Hotel Thalerhof, is the ideal holiday residence for your relaxing or active holidays in Austria. Your host family and the enthusiastic team at the Maria Alm hotel are there for you every day to ensure that you spend fantastic holidays at the Hochkönig massif in Austria. The Thalerhof pamper half board will introduce you to the delicious specialities of Austrian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Thalerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing