We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel for Disneyland Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Marne la vallee Bussy St Georges
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The Tulip Inn Marne La Vallee is a very good hotel with very few issues that detract from a stay there. We found that everything was up to an excellent standard although we personally felt that the beds and pillows could have been a little softer and plumper respectively. For those who are using it as a base to visit Disneyland Paris, you will find it a fantastic hotel that is better value than the affiliate hotels that Disneyland offers. We paid 110 Euros per night (Bed and Breakfast) for our stay at the hotel during mid October.

The hotel is in a fantastic location for Disneyland Paris. It is less than 10 minutes (and two stops) from the Disneyland Paris site, with the Bussy St Georges station just across the town square from the hotel. If you come out of the station and see bus stops straight ahead and a Carrefour supermarket on your left then you have come out of the wrong side of the station. Just turn back and walk back through the station building.
We had travelled in from Charles de Gaulle Airport and we found the transfer time to be around 80 minutes using the RER. We used a one week Navigo Decouverte card at 33.80 (plus a 5 euro deposit) to cover all of our travel costs (which it amply did at better value than the Tourist pass (which was 51 euros at the time of writing)). Do note that the Navigo Decouverte card only runs from Monday to Sunday.
For those of you who are travelling from Charles de Gaulle Airport to the hotel, I am pleased to inform you that the transfer at Chatelet Les Halles is a cross platform connection. You get off a train on one side of the platform, cross over the platform to the other side and get your connecting train to Bussy St Georges from there (the same applies in the reverse direction as well). Just keep an eye on the departure boards to ensure you get the correct train.
The run to Paris was approximately 40 minutes (depending on the journey and time of day) and we found it reasonably comfortable. If you are not used to crowded train conditions, I would advise you that the trains are very busy (to crammed) during peak times. If you would like a seat, you may find it easier to travel after 9:30 in the morning. You may also find it easier to change at Torcy on the way back because we found those trains quieter, particularly when they were double deck carriages.

The actual place the hotel is in is reasonable. There was a concerning amount of begging and asking for cigs on the train and at the station but a clear no or non ensured that they stopped asking. We were staying in a room on the second floor over the main entrance to the hotel and we found the area quiet. Traffic Noise did not affect us.

We found the receptionist staff to be helpful and friendly when we were booking in and out. They spoke clear and very good English.

The bedroom that we stayed in contained a double with a single. The main room was 12’ by 9’ approx with drawers and a long desk in the main part of the room. This was separated from a small hallway that led to the toilet and bathroom by a door. The hallway contained a useful hanging rail and space to dump suitcases. We found the double door approach to be really helpful when we were sleeping because we not disturbed by any noise from the corridor.
The beds were hard and we had some back ache when we got up but it was not excruciating and a good shower quickly removed any pain we had suffered. We also found the pillows lacked a certain level of plumpness that would have made sleeping a bit more comfortable. We found a blanket under the pillows helped raise them to an easier level.

The room was very clean and I struggled to find any dirt or dust around the room.

The Air Conditioning was easy to use and was not too noisy. You could sleep with it on and it did not have any frustrating reset functions, which many seem to have.

The Bathroom was a reasonable size, containing a sink and shower over bath. They provided us with liquid soap for bathing and handwashing. The shower was a standard mixer tap leading up to a shower. The pressure of water from the shower was very good and it quickly reached temperature. With no grip on the floor of the bath, it was concerning to see that there were no rails to grip on to access or leave the bath. There was only one rail to hang towels on which we found peculiar for a three person room. However, our towels dried quickly over the back of the chairs in the main room. The toilet was small and I would advise you to lock the door to prevent you from being kneecapped by whoever is staying with you.

For those of you who believe it is an essential, I am sorry to say that the hotel does not have tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

Unfortunately, the TV only has CNN as the English Channel. We found it was on channel 800 in our room and if the TV remote does not work when the TV is switched on, pull out the batteries and put them back in. It seemed to reset the remote and get it working.

The breakfast was basic and lacked a certain level of variety but it had all of the basics that I believe everyone looks for. The croissants were particularly nice with jam. Breakfast is served from 06:30 to 09:30.

Dinner was formed of 5 starters, 4 mains and 5 desserts. Whilst it lacked a certain level of variety, we found the food to be of good quality and sufficient quantity to satisfy our appetites.

The hotel is supposed to be a three star hotel and it achieves these ratings easily. If you like staying in Premier Inn in the UK, you will find the Tulip Inn Marne Le Vallee to be the same or a little better than the Premier Inn standard. We would love to give it 4.5 stars but we are only able to give it 4 (because of Trip Advisors system). Sort out those beds (which are not crippling, just a little uncomfortable) and we have a hotel that surpasses all expectations. This is the hotel to stay at for a good value stay at Disneyland Paris.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms near the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bluecircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

The Tulip Inn is a good comfortable hotel, family rooms (sleeping up to 4 people) are available at a good price - way way cheaper than a Disney hotel.

The hotel has secure underground parking (yes it has to be paid for but it is secure). We arrived at 2300 on a Friday night and there was space available.

Hotel rooms are comfortable, bed was particularly comfortable, air conditioned, and perfectly large enough for our family of 4. It's a hotel room - it's not somewhere you are going to spend a lot of time - after a day at Disney or spent in Paris it provides a decent night's rest.

As others have commented yes there are no tea and coffee facilities in the room - well this is not a luxury hotel, most French, German, Belgian, Dutch hotels of a similar quality do not offer these items.

TV Channels - well again, this is a French hotel!

Breakfast, we found to be perfectly adequate, it was a continental breakfast. It is the standard fare in most non luxury hotels throughout Europe. Variety - well which hotel changes their breakfast menu every day? Food on offer was baguette, pain au chocolate, croissants, sliced bread with toaster, delicious jams, cold hard boiled eggs, cold meat, cheese, yoghurts of various types, cereals.

Staff were very friendly indeed and could not have been more helpful.

As others comment ideal location 2 minute walk from RER station (RER Line A) which is 2 stops (10 mins at most to Disney) and about 40 mins into the heart of Paris. Good place to stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesdinovaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed four nights in order to visit both Disneyland and Paris. We parked our car in the secure underground carpark and used the RER train to get into Paris (30 mins) and Disney (10 mins). The station was just a three minute walk away and opposite a bakery where they sell delicious filled baguettes (great for taking into Disney). The rooms were very clean ,comfortable and very quiet, the beds were ok and they managed to fit our family of four in very well (children aged 9 & 11). My only complaint is the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The staff were very helpful and polite. The breakfast was more than adequate with plenty of choice eg cereal, different breads, croissants, fruit, ham etc so no complaints. Didn't try out the restaurant as we were always back too late. All in all this hotel is great value and brilliantly located for visiting both Paris and Disneyland, a great alternative to the expensive hotels on the Disney site!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MazzaSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We planned to take the kids to Disneyland Paris during the summer holiday.

Having looked at the Disney hotels, and the partner hotels, we realised that this was going to be a very expensive trip, unless we could find an alternative, so I expanded our search to the RER line running into Disneyland, and came across this hotel.

The hotel seemed fine, and the price was more than competative, so we booked, and thought no more of it.

We stayed in the hotel for a week, and I would break our stay down as follows:

CONS
TV - most of the channels, surprisingly(!), are in French. There is only CNN in English. If this presents a problem for you, don't book. It didn't bother us, or the kids (who were quiet happy to watch cartoons in French).

Breakfast - not a great choice. It is the same every day, but it is filling, and it does it's job.

Lift - There is only one lift, and at times, you can be waiting a while.

No kettle in the room - take a travel kettle

My only real gripe was the standard of cleaning in our room on some occassions.

PROS
Rooms - The rooms are spacious (we had 2 adults and 2 kids in the room with no problems. They also have a safe in each room

L'Olivier restaurant - The evening meal in here is great (the restaurant is part of the hotel). It's 19 Euros a head for 2 courses, and this was easily one of the best meals we had in the week we were in Paris (there is also a Menu Enfant).

Good choice of restaurants nearby - There is a choice of Chinese, Italian, Japanese, Thai (and even a McDonalds) - you won't go hungry.

Near to RER station for Paris (about 40 minutes to L'Opera) and Disneyland (about 10 minutes).

Reception staff - very friendly and incredibly helpful

Quiet location

Soundproofed room

I've read some reviews which complain the Bussy Saint-Georges has nothing to do, and to be fair, it doesn't. It's a suburb of Paris, and doesn't offer and exciting night life, but that isn't the fault of the hotel. The hotel does what it says on the tin. It provides a cheaper alternative to staying on-site at Disneyland, or a good staging post to Paris.

I would offer the following bits of wisdom -
1) If you are going to Disneyland, there is a Carrefour supermarket next to the RER station. You can take in some snacks and water for a fraction of the price of eating in the park (avoid the other supermarket opposite as it's really a glorified local shop). The supermarket also sells alcohol at a much cheaper rate than the bar at the hotel (great if you have kids and want to have a quiet drink once they're asleep!).

2) Although the hotel offers secure parking, unless you have a very expensive car, there was plenty of on-street parking whilst we were there. The area is a residential area, and we parked on the street everyday, with no problems.

All-in-all, I'm pleased to have found this hotel, and when we go back to Disneyland in the first part of next year, we'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank yorkie1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed at the Tulip Inn as a lower cost alternative to go to Disneyland Paris - far cheaper than the hotels on offer within Eurodisney itself. Hotel is basic and family room cramped - but didn't spend much time in the room or hotel as we made great use of the short train journey to Disneyland. The hotel is clean and the continental breakfast was sufficient, make sure you are there before 9:15 as most items were gone and were not replenished - a no frills choice but perfect as a short stay base for Disneyland.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank SkiingTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

The hotel was clean and reasonably comfortable although the beds were hard. There were four of us in one room and it was a little cramped but we weren't in there much so it was not a problem. Our main concern and warning to anyone staying here is to lock your valuables away!! My daughter foolishly left her purse at the bottom of her suitcase inside another bag and when she opened it all her cash was gone. My mother who was also staying here also had an expensive lipstick taken!
There was only one lift servicing four floors and it seemed incapable of stopping on the third floor at all. We took advantage of the private car parking below the hotel but if you were late back you ran the risk of not getting a parking space even though you paid Euro7 a day. The hotel seemed to sell the spaces without taking account of what spaces they had got available.
The room would really benefit from having tea and coffee making facilities and also a mirror on the wall. Also the hairdryer on the wall kept over heating. Finally we bought new travel plugs for use in Northern Europe but they would not fit the wall sockets as they were old style sockets.The hotel only had one spare so it was impossible to charge phones, cameras and videos.
On a plus note the breakfast was fine and the location was perfect for travelling to Disney.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikkibee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Perfect value for money option alternative to Disney hotels. Easy walk to frequent trains in the morning to Eurodisney. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flymesometime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bussy St Georges
5.1 km away
Hotel l'Elysee Val d'Europe
2.5 km away
Novotel Marne La Vallee Collegien
7.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel at Disneyland Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
#1 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
1,183 reviews
4.8 km away
Residence Du Parc Val d'Europe
4.8 km away
Ibis Paris Marne La Vallee Val d'Europe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Marne la vallee Bussy St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Marne la vallee Bussy St Georges

Address: 44 Boulevard Antoine Giroust | Marne la Vallée, 77600 Bussy St Georges, Marne-la-Vallee, France (Formerly Golden Tulip Marne La Vallee)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Marne-la-Vallee > Bussy St Georges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bussy St Georges
Price Range: $109 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Marne la vallee Bussy St Georges 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is ideally situated, just 5 minutes from Disneyland Resort Paris and 35 minutes from downtown Paris, directly opposite the train station. It is a 5 minute drive to the Val d'Europe shopping centre and La Vallée outlet Shopping Village. It's convenient location near to the A4 allows quick access to Porte de Bercy, Orly and Charles de Gaulle airports. The comfortably furnished and soundproof rooms all come with an en suite bathroom with a hairdryer and separate toilet. Further fittings include a direct dial telephone, satellite TV and a WiFi Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Marne la vallee Bussy St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Marne La Vallee Hotel Bussy St Georges
Tulip Inn Marne La Vallée
Tulip Marne Vallee Inn
Golden Tulip Marne La Vallée
Mercure Marne La Vallee Bussy St Georges Marne-La-Vallee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing