We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dorint Strandresort & Spa Sylt-Westerland
Nearby Hotels
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Dunenburg(Westerland)
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Gutenberg(Westerland)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Wiking Sylt(Westerland)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$247
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Miramar Hotel(Westerland)
US$417
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa 54deg Nord(Westerland)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
53
49
15
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
49
15
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ground floorcafesbalconybeachisland
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 129 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2016 via mobile

We stayed there just for a night and the room was very nice, over 2 floors with balcony. Walking distance to the centre and the spa facilities were very nice. However, we had pre ordered a fruit basket they forgot to bring, the cards to have access to the beach were only given to us the day we checked out and the internet wasn't working in our room. Finallt, they had overcharged us by 30% by mistake while booking which we have been told upon check out without even having an apology for the confusion. Overall good facilities but ver poor management for a 4 star hotel.

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank Eirini V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2016

We stayed for a night in August as a side trip from Hamburg. Because this is Sylt I suppose, this hotel was enormously expensive for what was provided but it was comfortable enough and well positioned for the beach and the town of Westerland. It is also walking distance from the station if you are arriving by train.

Staff were welcoming and we were allocated a two bedroom apartment with a sitting room and small kitchen. The accommodation was spacious, well presented and clean but we found large quantities of other people's belongings left in the drawers and cupboards which was strange. There was a small terrace with a table and chairs and a couple of sunbeds too. Breakfast was not included in our rate and we did not eat dinner in the hotel. WiFi was out of service thoughout our stay which was very inconvenient.

We were interested to see Sylt and the Dorint was a convenient place to stay but, beyond its location, we experienced nothing particularly stand-out or special at this property which would cause us to recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tint7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2016

We stayed for the 2nd year in the Dorint at Westerland. It's perfect if you're not the average family (2+2) because of the nice Rooms they have, with more then 4 "beds". Breakfast is fine but optional, Swimming pool if it rains (and it does....) Steam bath, Children's club etc.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sachs_Gunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2016

Selected at short notice due to family staying in the same hotel. Stayed for 5 nights with family; Internet was unavailable (3 hotspots provided-unreliable, so slow as to be useless), almost missed flight while they messed about trying to run credit card for room charges on departure. Ultimately had to pay in cash (with associated extra ATM transaction fees which they refused to reimburse). We were charged extra for sauna facilities we did not use. Absolutely no interest in customer service. Manger was consistently "unavailable" to deal with concern afterward.
Nice location, but many other hotels and places to stay nearby with same amenity.
Breakfast was good, and there is a "Kinder Club" for kids.
Overall massively overpriced, terrible customer service.
Motto is "you will return"; not this traveler and family. Stay away.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fearghas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2016

We'd never visited Sylt before, so we weren't even sure which town to stay in, let alone which hotel to choose. We opted for this one based on the advertised amenities and proximity to the beach. It turned out to be the perfect spot for seeing everything we wanted to see on Sylt, with a fantastic beach and boardwalk area just over the dune, a short walk into a fun downtown area with lots of restaurants, cafes and pubs, and no more than a 25-minute drive to virtually every point of interest on the island. We found the hotel very comfortable, clean and easily able to meet or exceed all our expectations – thanks, in particular, to the friendly and helpful staff. Other reviewers have noted some drawbacks (not the most exciting views from the rooms etc.), but for us, the pleasant atmosphere in the rooms more than made up for this. As others have noted, the spa and pool area was great – also for our 5-year-old daughter. The breakfast was delicious, and the bar was fine, although not used much. What really made our stay at this place was the friendly staff, who quickly met all our requests and really went out of their way to help us get the most out of our short visit to Sylt. It was unfortunate that the WiFi was not working while we were there, and the hotel seemed a little expensive (although we're not sure how it compares to other similar hotels on the island). But we'd be happy to stay there again, and to recommend it to others – especially first-timers like us.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews